Skip to main content

About the Library: Library Collections

Library Collections

Library materials are organized into several different collections. When you search the online library catalog, you will see which collection each of your results is in. To find your item in the Library, you will need to know both its collection name (or location) and its call number. Books and audiovisuals are typically organized using the Library of Congress Classification System, unless otherwise noted.

Anatomy Models

3-D anatomy models are available for check out at the service desk on the first floor of the Library. You must present your picture ID and have a current library account to check out models. Models checked out from the Library are not allowed outside of the building.

animal cell
arm muscles
blood cell
blood circulation
brain
cardiopulmonary system, heart, and respiratory organs
digestive system
ear
eye
female pelvis bone
female pelvis organs
head (half)
heart
kidney
kidney section, nephrons, blood vessels, and renal corpuscle
leg muscles
lung
male pelvis organs
musculature model
nervous system
neuron cell body
pig
skeleton (whole and half; disarticulated; 35" skeleton)
skin / burn pathologies
skull
spinal cord
torso (large and small)

Updated 11/10/2015
 

Archives

Location: 1st floor, Room 215

The campus archive contains historical information related to Pitt Community College. Holdings include college yearbooks, school publications, scrapbooks, and audiovisual materials. The collection is available for viewing by appointment.

The archive also includes a collection of digitized photographs: http://www.flickr.com/photos/pccarchives/collections. 

Basic Reading

Location: 2nd floor, northwest corner

Easy books are those written at a reading comprehension level suitable for adult new readers and adults for whom English is a second language. Both Fiction and Nonfiction easy books are shelved near the periodicals on the last row of shelves in the leisure reading area. Fiction is on the top two shelves and nonfiction titles are shelved underneath. Both Fiction and Nonfiction easy books are identified with a yellow label near the bottom of the spine of the book. The label for this section is "Basic Reading."

Bestsellers

Location: 2nd Floor, northwest corner

This is a rotating collection of popular titles from recent bestseller lists. Books in this collection include both fiction (shelved alphabetically by author's last name) and nonfiction titles (shelved by Dewey Decimal Call Number).

Children's Resources

Location: 1st floor

This collection supports the curriculum for the Early Childhood program. The collection includes books (fiction and nonfiction) in English and other languages suitable for preschoolers. The PCC Library does not acquire items specifically for children other than preschoolers.

Circulation Desk

Location: 1st floor behind the Circulation Desk

This collection includes media items housed in the staff area behind the circulation desk. This collection supports the various academic programs on campus, so circulation of these items is limited to in-house use by students and community members. Faculty may check out the items for use in class.

Equipment for Checkout

Location: 1st floor, Circulation Desk

There is a varied collection of computers and electronic equipment available for checkout. This equipment ranges from phone chargers to laptops. Our Equipment Guide is a detailed list of the equipment that is available.

Fiction

Location: 2nd floor, northwest corner

The fiction collection consists of relatively recent popular fiction from all genres, shelved in alphabetical order by author's last name. Title considered to be literary fiction are shelved in the General Collection.

General Collection

Location: 2nd floor; shelves 1-20

This is our main book collection. These books focus on a variety subjects or contain works of literature. The books are shelved using the Library of Congress Classification System.

Legal Reference

Location: 2nd floor

The Legal Reference collection contains the North Carolina statutes and other legal references most often used by the students in the Paralegal program. Items in this collection may not be checked out or removed from the second floor of the Library.

PCC Authors

Location: 2nd floor, northwest corner

PCC Authors consists of works written by current and former members of the PCC community, including faculty members, staff members, students, and alumni.

Periodicals

Location: 1st foor, Periodicals Room 

Includes the print version of popular magazines as well as trade and academic journals. In the trade and academic journals section, current issues are grouped by subject and are shelved alphabetically by title within each group. A limited number of past issues are kept in storage and may be accessed by asking a library staff member at any service desk.

Public-AV

Location: 1st floor

This is a browsing collection of DVDs and CDs. In contrast to the Circulation Desk media collection, these materials may be checked out for one week.

Reference

Location: 2nd floor, Room 209

The Reference Collection consists of research materials such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and multivolume items. Reference materials provide quick access to factual information and must be used in the Library.

Reserve Desk

Location: 1st floor, Circulation Desk

Reserve materials are placed in the Library by instructors for use by students in their classes. These materials have varying levels of circulation as determined by the instructor. Most often reserve materials are textbooks and are meant to be used in the Library.

Young Adult Resources

Location: 2nd floor, northwest corner

The Young Adult collection consists of books written for audiences between 13 and 19 years of age.  These books were acquired to support the leisure reading needs of the Early College High School. The books are located on the back wall of the northwest corner behind fiction and nearest to the Basic Reading and PCC Authors Collection.  The collection is marked by a bright pink "YA" sticker.