This guide provides you with a complete A to Z list of all of the Library's online databases. The databases are also divided by subject and resource type.
Last Updated: Nov 13, 2013
The Library's collection of online databases gives you access to thousands of articles from magazines, journals and newspapers, full-text books, audio books, videos, images, and reference materials such as subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
A B C D E F G H I L M N O P R S T W
- A.D.A.M. Interactive Anatomy
A.D.A.M. Interactive allows you to dissect anatomy layer-by-layer, identify and review pinned atlas anatomy structures, and interact with 3D models. Includes a multimedia encyclopedia, 3D images, and over 3,000 illustrations.
- ABC-CLIO eBOOK Collection
History and literature ebooks.
- Academic Search Complete
Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers on many subjects. Includes peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
- African-American Poetry
African-American poetry 1750-1900.
- ALLDATA's Automotive Repair Information
Current, comprehensive automotive information. [On-campus Access Only]
- American Poetry
American poetry 1600-1900.
- Art & Architecture Complete
Magazines, journals, trade publications and books covering a variety of art and architecture subjects including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and more.
- Auto Repair Reference Center
Provides repair information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles.
- Biography Reference Center
More than 450,000 biographies, including actors, authors, explorers, historical figures, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, scientists and many others.
- Business Source Complete
Journals, peer-reviewed publications, magazines on a wide range of topics including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
- CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)
Collection of art images covering cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times.
- CINAHL with Full Text
Index of journals for nursing and allied health research, including full-text articles from selected journals.
- Consumer Health Complete
Provides articles and other content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
- CQ Researcher
Comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
- CQ Weekly
Coverage of the U.S. Congress: bills, votes, amendments, committees, etc.
- Credo Reference
Collection of over 600 full-text reference books that cover thousands of topics including art, business, medicine, sociology, technology, and much more.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Online full-text versions of selected books; includes fiction and nonfiction.
- English Poetry
English poetry from 600 to 1900.
- Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Covers topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business, including key periodicals, reference books, case studies, company profiles and 600+ videos with transcripts from the Harvard Faculty Series and Vator.TV.
- Environment Complete
Journals on topics including agriculture, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, urban planning, and more.
- ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
Citations and selected full-text for education-related journals and reports.
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and more on various controversial topics.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of electronic reference books and subject encyclopedias.
Grantsinfo.us provides information leading to financial help in the form of subsidies, grants, loans, joint ventures, or any funding program offered by the United States government or private corporations.
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles that include content on global warming, green building, pollution and more.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides articles and other content related to health, nutrition, and a variety of medical topics.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Contains scholarly and peer-reviewed journals for nursing and allied health.
- HeritageQuest Online
Collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture.
Business research platform allows you to search U.S. and international company listings by industry, size, & geography to create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, and raise funds.
Practice tests, tutorials and ebooks designed to help you succeed on academic or licensing tests. Includes TOEFL, GED, ASVAB, ACT, EMS, basic skills, and much more.
- Legal Information Reference Center
Contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. The full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. Includes state-specific resources.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text (LISTA)
Journals and trade publications on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
- Literary Reference Center Plus
Articles and criticisms, including peer-reviewed, bios and interviews, novels, short stories, poems, and literary magazines.
- Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
Comprehensive coverage of critical essays from the Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Poetry Criticism series.
- MAS Complete
For high school and junior college students. Includes magazines, original historical documents, including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.. Charts, tables, and graphs.
- MasterFILE Complete
General magazines, journals, and newspapers covering many subjects. Includes peer-reviewed.
- Mergent Intellect
Business information database that allows users to research companies, develop mailing lists and perform market research.
- Middle Search Plus
General reference for middle school students.
- Military & Government Collection
Military-related periodicals, journals, and other publications.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center
Research and independent opinions on thousands of stocks and mutual funds.
- MyiLibrary eBooks
Collection of full-text ebooks on topics such as medicine, law, foreign languages, social science, history and more.
- NC LIVE
Homepage for the collection of databases provided to North Carolina citizens through local libraries.
- NC LIVE eBooks Portal
The eBooks Portal makes it easier for users of the NC LIVE website to browse and search all of NC LIVE's eBook content. The portal includes access to eBook Collection, MyiLibrary, ABC-CLIO, Learning Express Library, and Open Library.
- NC LIVE Video Collection
View PBS documentaries and educational programs online.
- New York Times (via ProQuest)
Provides full text access to the New York Times (1980-current), New York Times Magazine (1997-current), and New York Times Book Review (1997-current).
- Newspaper Source Plus
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 149 national & international newspapers and selective full text for 410 U.S newspapers.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950.
- NoveList K-8 Plus
Reader's advisory service for fiction and nonfiction titles, designed to support the curriculum and kids’ pleasure reading. Searchable by author, title, series name, plot, and lexile level. Includes author read-alikes and lists of award-winners.
- NoveList Plus
Comprehensive readers' advisory tool that allows you to search popular fiction.
Downloadable audio books on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with most iPods and WMA compatible MP3 players.
- Sanborn Maps North Carolina
Historical maps of North Carolina towns and cities.
- Science Reference Center
Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources.
Colorful interface for searching a variety of elementary- and middle school-level school resources.
- Serials Directory
Bibliographic information and pricing for popular magazines and other serials. Includes publisher data.
Web-based mapping application where you can create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data.
- Small Business Reference Center
Offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding. Includes business lectures and ‘how to’ videos, as well as state-specific resources.
- Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Detailed, user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines.
- SMART Imagebase (Scientific & Medical Art)
Contains a growing collection of over 20,000 high quality medical illustrations, animations, and interactive multimedia for 24 body systems/regions and 20 medical specialties.
- STAT!Ref: Medical Books
Collection of full-text nursing, dentistry, and other general medical books.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (via ProQuest)
The online edition of the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
- Student Research Center
Search interface for students that searches the following databases simultaneously: Middle Search Plus, MAS Ultra - School Edition, and Health Source Consumer Edition.
Requires myPittCC login