Skip to main content

Faculty Library Tools: Database Permalinks / Proxy

Permalinks for PCC Library Database Materials

What are permalinks?

Permalinks are static or permanent web addresses (URLs) which point to a specific item such as an article or e-book.

Why use permalinks?

If you copy a URL from the browser it usually contains more information than the direct link to the specific item. Some databases also use URLs that change for each new search session even if you are looking up the same information. 

Will the permalinks work off campus?

Subscription database links will not work off campus without authentication from a proxy server. If the permalinks do not include the campus proxy URL, students will not be able to access the material from off campus. Some databases will add the proxy URL automatically, and some will not.

What is the library's proxy server address?   https://libpro.pittcc.edu/login?url=

The proxy server address should be placed in front of the permalink address for library resources that require authentication. Some databases will already include the proxy server address, but some will not. Here is an example of a permalink from eBook Collection:
https://libpro.pittcc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=451870&site=ehost-live

Where do I find permalinks?

Most databases will have a permalink somewhere in the record. Each database will post them in different ways and places. Click on the tabs above for instructions on where to find the permalinks for different library resources (EBSCO, Gale, ProQuest, etc.).

Link to a Library Database

You can add links to databases in your Moodle course.

From the Online Databases page, click the Share icon to the right of the database link.

Copy and paste the URL that appears in the pop-up box.

The link provided is a friendly URL that is configured to access the proxy server. There is no need to add the proxy URL to these links.

Click the Share icon.

Copy and paste the URL provided. There is no need to add the proxy URL.

Embed Films on Demand in Moodle

PPT - Database Linking Tutorial