MLA 8th

Author(s) of Article (if listed). “Complete Title of Article.” Complete Name of Journal, Volume Number, Issue Number, Complete Date of Publication, Page(s) Where Article Appears. Name of Database, DOI or URL of Article.

Currently, for ProQuest databases, you can click the "Cite" button next to your article and choose "MLA 8th Edition" to get the database-supplied citation:

Wahab, Norwaliza A., Ramlee B. Mustapha, and Abdul R. Ahmad. "The Roles of Administrators in Aboriginal Schools: A Case Study in a Malaysian State." International Journal of Social Science and Humanity, vol. 6, no. 5, 2016., pp. 370-374 ProQuest Central, http://libpro.pittcc.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1655130015?accountid=13209.doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.7763/IJSSH.2016.V6.674.

There are a number of errors in this database citation (highlighted in yellow) and some missing information. Here is how it should look:

Wahab, Norwaliza A., et al. “The Roles of Administrators in Aboriginal Schools: A Case Study in a Malaysian State.” International Journal of Social Science and Humanity, vol. 6, no. 5, May 2016, pp. 370-74. ProQuest Central, doi: 10.7763/IJSSH.2016.V6.674.

If you use the "Cite" feature, compare your citation carefully to the example shown and change as necessary. Look at the information provided with the article itself to find anything that is missing, such as complete date information.

You will also need to:

Check spacing and font. Citations may not paste with the correct font. Spacing between words and/or line spacing may not be correct.

Delete and retype quote marks to match font. Even if you change your font, quote marks may not change automatically. In Times New Roman, they should not be straight.

Make sure page numbers are complete. In some databases, only the first page is included in citation information. If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify complete page range.

Author(s):

• If one author: Sanford, Jason. (Last Name, First Name.)

• If two authors: Sanford, Jason, and Rita T. Maxwell. (Only first author is Last Name, First Name.)

• If three or more authors: Sanford, Jason, et al. (List first author only; et al. means "and others.")

Source Title:

• Use the complete name of your journal, magazine, or newspaper, including initial articles (e.g., The Wall Street Journal; The Journal of Finance).

Publication Date:

• Use the complete date of publication for your journal article, including the month(s) or season if given (e.g., Mar.-Apr. 2015; Fall 2010).

Page Numbering:

• If the page information for your journal, magazine, or newspaper article indicates that the article continues onto a page or pages not immediately following the first page, list only the first page and a plus sign, for example 36+ or B1+.

• If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify correct page-number range.

• See the "How Do I" tab for more information on how to write your page-number range.

Database Name:

• If you found your article using a multiple-database search and are unsure of the exact database from which you got your article, you may use only the database company name (e.g., EBSCOhost; ProQuest).

DOI or URL:

• If a DOI is listed for your journal article, use that instead of the URL. Use only the actual DOI number; do not include any database-supplied prefixes.

• Put a period after your DOI.

• If no DOI is available, look for the "permalink" when copying the URL for your journal article. This is often found under a "link" symbol to the side of the article, or on the "Abstract/Details" page that comes with the article.

• Omit the initial "http://" when inserting your URL.

• Put a period at the end of your URL.

• Although MLA recommends that you include either a DOI or URL at the end of your citation for all electronic sources, some instructors may prefer that you do not include these. Make sure to check with your instructor if you are unsure.

Author(s) of Article (if listed). “Complete Title of Article.” Complete Name of Journal, Volume Number, Issue Number, Complete Date of Publication, Page(s) Where Article Appears. Name of Database, DOI or URL of Article.

Currently, for EBSCO databases, you can click the "Cite" button and look for "MLA" to get the database-supplied citation:

Whittier, Gayle. "'The Lottery' as Misogynist Parable." Women's Studies, vol. 18, no. 4, Jan. 1991, p. 353. EBSCOhost, libpro.pittcc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=lkh&AN=5808719&site=ehost-live.

The main error in this database citation (highlighted in yellow) is the missing page range. Listing the database provider EBSCOhost instead of the actual database name (Literary Reference Plus) is permitted in MLA 8th, but it is preferable to list the database name if known. Here is how the citation should look in your Works Cited list:

Whittier, Gayle. “ ‘The Lottery’ as Misogynist Parable.” Women’s Studies, vol.18, no. 4, Jan. 1991, pp. 353-66. Literary Reference Plus, libpro.pittcc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=lkh&AN=5808719&site=ehost-live.

If you use the "Cite" feature, compare your citation carefully to the MLA 8th example shown and change as necessary. Look at the information provided with the article itself to find anything that is missing, such as complete page information.

You will also need to:

Check spacing and font. Citations may not paste with the correct font. Spacing between words and/or line spacing may not be correct.

Delete and retype quote marks to match font. Even if you change your font, quote marks may not change automatically. In Times New Roman, they should not be straight.

Make sure page numbers are complete. In some databases, only the first page is included in citation information. If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify complete page range.

Author(s):

• If one author: Sanford, Jason. (Last Name, First Name.)

• If two authors: Sanford, Jason, and Rita T. Maxwell. (Only first author is Last Name, First Name.)

• If three or more authors: Sanford, Jason, et al. (List first author only; et al. means "and others.")

Source Title:

• Use the complete name of your journal, magazine, or newspaper, including initial articles (e.g., The Wall Street Journal; The Journal of Finance).

Publication Date:

• Use the complete date of publication for your journal article, including the month(s) or season if given (e.g., Mar.-Apr. 2015; Fall 2010).

Page Numbering:

• If the page information for your journal, magazine, or newspaper article indicates that the article continues onto a page or pages not immediately following the first page, list only the first page and a plus sign, for example 36+ or B1+.

• If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify correct page-number range.

• See the "How Do I" tab for more information on how to write your page-number range.

Database Name:

• If you found your article using a multiple-database search and are unsure of the exact database from which you got your article, you may use only the database company name (e.g., EBSCOhost; ProQuest).

DOI or URL:

• If a DOI is listed for your journal article, use that instead of the URL. Use only the actual DOI number; do not include any database-supplied prefixes.

• Put a period after your DOI.

• If no DOI is available, look for the "permalink" when copying the URL for your journal article. This is often found under a "link" symbol to the side of the article, or on the "Abstract/Details" page that comes with the article.

• Omit the initial "http://" when inserting your URL.

• Put a period at the end of your URL.

• Although MLA recommends that you include either a DOI or URL at the end of your citation for all electronic sources, some instructors may prefer that you do not include these. Make sure to check with your instructor if you are unsure.

Author(s) of Article (if listed). “Complete Title of Article.” Complete Name of Magazine, Volume Number (if listed), Issue Number (if listed), Date of Publication, Page(s) Where Article Appears. Name of Database, URL of Article.

Currently, for ProQuest databases, you can click the "Cite" button next to your article and choose "MLA 8th Edition" to get the database-supplied citation:

Airey, Tommy. "Thirsty in Detroit." The Christian Century, vol. 133, no. 11, May 25 2016, pp. 22-23,25-27. Research Library, http://libpro.pittcc.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1791023481?accountid=13209.

There are a several errors in this database citation (highlighted in yellow). Here is how it should look:

Airey, Tommy. “Thirsty in Detroit.” The Christian Century, vol. 133, no. 11, 25 May 2016, pp. 22+. Research Library, libpro.pittcc.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com.libpro.pittcc.edu/docview/1791023481?accountid=13209.

If you use the "Cite" feature, you will need to compare your citation carefully to the example shown and change as necessary. Look at the information provided with the article itself to find anything that is missing, such as date information and article DOI or URL.

You will also need to:

Check spacing and font. Citations may not paste with the correct font. Spacing between words and/or line spacing may not be correct.

Delete and retype quote marks to match font. Even if you change your font, quote marks may not change automatically. In Times New Roman, they should not be straight.

Make sure page numbers are correct. All non-consecutive pages should not be listed; only the first page and a plus sign (+) should be included if pages do not directly follow each other. If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify page numbers.

Author(s):

• If one author: Sanford, Jason. (Last Name, First Name.)

• If two authors: Sanford, Jason, and Rita T. Maxwell. (Only first author is Last Name, First Name.)

• If three or more authors: Sanford, Jason, et al. (List first author only; et al. means "and others.")

No Author:

• If no author is listed for your article, start your citation with the article title.

Source Title:

• Use the complete name of your journal, magazine, or newspaper, including initial articles (e.g. The Wall Street Journal; The Journal of Finance).

Volume and Issue Number:

• If you see a volume and issue number included with your source information you may add these; if you do not see a volume and issue number listed just move on to the publication date.

Page Numbering:

• If the page information for your journal, magazine, or newspaper article indicates that the article continues onto a page or pages not immediately following the first page, list only the first page and a plus sign, for example 36+ or B1+.

• If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify correct page-number range.

• See the "How Do I" tab for more information on how to write your page-number range.

Database Name:

• If you found your article using a multiple-database search and are unsure of the exact database from which you got your article, you may use only the database company name (e.g., EBSCOhost; ProQuest).

URL:

• Look for the "permalink" when copying the URL for your magazine or newspaper article. This is often found under a "link" symbol to the side of the article, or on the "Abstract/Details" page that comes with the article.

• Omit the initial "http://" when inserting your URL.

• Put a period at the end of your URL.

• Although MLA recommends that you include either a DOI or URL at the end of your citation for all electronic sources, some instructors may prefer that you do not include these. Make sure to check with your instructor if you are unsure.

Author(s) of Article (if listed). “Complete Title of Article.” Complete Name of Newspaper, Volume Number (if listed), Issue Number (if listed), Date of Publication, Page(s) Where Article Appears. Name of Database, URL of Article.

Currently, for EBSCO databases, you can click the "Cite" button and look for "MLA" to get the database-supplied citation:

Stuart, Reginald. "President Emeritus of Famed Tennessee State University. (Cover Story)." Tennessee Tribune, vol. 26, no. 36, 03 Sept. 2015, pp. 1A-10A. EBSCOhost, libpro.pittcc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=n5h&AN=109381237&site=ehost-live.

There are a number of errors in this database citation (highlighted in yellow), along with some missing title information. Listing the database provider EBSCOhost instead of the actual database name (Newspaper Source Plus) is permitted in MLA 8th, but it is preferable to list the database name if known. Here is how the citation should look in your Works Cited list:

Stuart, Reginald. “The Legacy of Dr. James A. Hefner: President Emeritus of Famed Tennessee State University.” The Tennessee Tribune, 3 Sept. 2015, pp. 1A+. Newspaper Source Plus, libpro.pittcc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=n5h&AN=109381237&site=ehost-live.

If you use the "Cite" feature, compare your citation carefully to the MLA 8th example shown and change as necessary. Look at the information provided with the article itself to find anything that is missing, such as complete date information and article DOI or URL.

You will also need to:

Check spacing and font. Citations may not paste with the correct font. Spacing between words and/or line spacing may not be correct.

Delete and retype quote marks to match font. Even if you change your font, quote marks may not change automatically. In Times New Roman, they should not be straight.

Make sure page numbers are correct. All non-consecutive pages should not be listed; only the first page and a plus sign (+) should be included if pages do not directly follow each other. If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify page numbers.

Author(s):

• If one author: Sanford, Jason. (Last Name, First Name.)

• If two authors: Sanford, Jason, and Rita T. Maxwell. (Only first author is Last Name, First Name.)

• If three or more authors: Sanford, Jason, et al. (List first author only; et al. means "and others.")

No Author:

• If no author is listed for your article, start your citation with the article title.

Source Title:

• Use the complete name of your journal, magazine, or newspaper, including initial articles (e.g. The Wall Street Journal; The Journal of Finance).

Volume and Issue Number:

• If you see a volume and issue number included with your source information you may add these; if you do not see a volume and issue number listed just move on to the publication date.

Page Numbering:

• If the page information for your journal, magazine, or newspaper article indicates that the article continues onto a page or pages not immediately following the first page, list only the first page and a plus sign, for example 36+ or B1+.

• If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify correct page-number range.

• See the "How Do I" tab for more information on how to write your page-number range.

Database Name:

• If you found your article using a multiple-database search and are unsure of the exact database from which you got your article, you may use only the database company name (e.g., EBSCOhost; ProQuest).

URL:

• Look for the "permalink" when copying the URL for your magazine or newspaper article. This is often found under a "link" symbol to the side of the article, or on the "Abstract/Details" page that comes with the article.

• Omit the initial "http://" when inserting your URL.

• Put a period at the end of your URL.

• Although MLA recommends that you include either a DOI or URL at the end of your citation for all electronic sources, some instructors may prefer that you do not include these. Make sure to check with your instructor if you are unsure.

Author(s) of Article (if listed). “Complete Title of Article.” Name of Website, Publisher(s) of Website (unless same as website name), Date of Publication (if listed), URL of Article.

Author(s):

• If one author: Sanford, Jason. (Last Name, First Name.)

• If two authors: Sanford, Jason, and Rita T. Maxwell. (Only first author is Last Name, First Name.)

• If three or more authors: Sanford, Jason, et al. (List first author only; et al. means "and others.")

No Author:

• If no author is listed for your article, start your citation with the article title.

Publisher:

• Look for the publisher(s) at the bottom of the webpage (often beside a copyright symbol), or on the “About Us” page on the site.

• If the publisher of your website is essentially the same as the name of the website, you do not need to include it (e.g., the Fox News site is published by Fox News Network, so no need to include this publisher).

• If you cannot find a publisher listed on the site, it is likely the same as the website name, so skip it and move on to the date of publication.

• If more than one publisher appears to share equal responsibility for the site, include all publisher names separated by a forward slash: U of Nebraska / AGBIOS.

No Publication Date:

• If you cannot find a publication date for your article, skip it and move on to the URL (do not use the site copyright date that is often found at the bottom of the page).

Optional Access Date:

• As web publications can change or disappear, you may add your date of access after the URL if you feel it might be important, and especially if no publication date is listed for your article:

Chatzky, Jean. “Top 10 Money Tips for Parents." BabyCenter, www.babycenter.com/0_top-10-money-tips-for-parents_10354827.bc. Accessed 28 July 2016.

URL:

• Look for a "permalink" when copying the URL for your web article. This might be found by clicking on "Share" or sometimes "Cite" if you see any of these options. If you cannot find a permalink, copy the URL from your web browser at the top of your screen.

• Omit the initial "http://" when inserting your URL.

• Put a period at the end of your URL.

• Although MLA recommends that you include either a DOI or URL at the end of your citation for all electronic sources, some instructors may prefer that you do not include these. Make sure to check with your instructor if you are unsure.

Author(s) of Article (if listed). “Complete Title of Article.” Complete Name of Journal, Volume Number, Issue Number, Complete Date of Publication, Page(s) Where Article Appears.

Author(s):

• If one author: Sanford, Jason. (Last Name, First Name.)

• If two authors: Sanford, Jason, and Rita T. Maxwell. (Only first author is Last Name, First Name.)

• If three or more authors: Sanford, Jason, et al. (List first author only; et al. means "and others.")

Source Title:

• Use the complete name of your journal, magazine, or newspaper, including initial articles (e.g., The Wall Street Journal; The Journal of Finance).

Publication Date:

• Use the complete date of publication for your journal article, including the month(s) or season if given (e.g., Mar.-Apr. 2015; Fall 2010).

Page Numbering:

• If your journal, magazine, or newspaper article continues onto a page or pages not immediately following the first page, list only the first page and a plus sign, for example 36+ or B1+.

• See the "How Do I" tab for more information on how to write your page-number range.

Author(s) of Article (if listed). “Complete Title of Article.” Complete Name of Magazine, Volume Number (if listed), Issue Number (if listed), Date of Publication, Page(s) Where Article Appears.

Author(s):

• If one author: Sanford, Jason. (Last Name, First Name.)

• If two authors: Sanford, Jason, and Rita T. Maxwell. (Only first author is Last Name, First Name.)

• If three or more authors: Sanford, Jason, et al. (List first author only; et al. means "and others.")

No Author:

• If no author is listed for your article, start your citation with the article title.

Source Title:

• Use the complete name of your journal, magazine, or newspaper, including initial articles (e.g., The Wall Street Journal; The Journal of Finance).

Volume and Issue Number:

• If you see a volume and issue number included with your source information you may add these; if you do not see a volume and issue number listed just move on to the publication date.

Page Numbering:

• If your journal, magazine, or newspaper article continues onto a page or pages not immediately following the first page, list only the first page and a plus sign, for example 36+ or B1+.

• See the "How Do I" tab for more information on how to write your page-number range.

Author(s) of Article (if listed). “Complete Title of Article.” Complete Name of Newspaper, Volume Number (if listed), Issue Number (if listed), Date of  Publication, Page(s) Where Article Appears.

Author(s):

• If one author: Sanford, Jason. (Last Name, First Name.)

• If two authors: Sanford, Jason, and Rita T. Maxwell. (Only first author is Last Name, First Name.)

• If three or more authors: Sanford, Jason, et al. (List first author only; et al. means "and others.")

No Author:

• If no author is listed for your article, start your citation with the article title.

Source Title:

• Use the complete name of your journal, magazine, or newspaper, including initial articles (e.g. The Wall Street Journal; The Journal of Finance).

Volume and Issue Number:

• If you see a volume and issue number included with your source information you may add these; if you do not see a volume and issue number listed just move on to the publication date.

Page Numbering:

• If your journal, magazine, or newspaper article continues onto a page or pages not immediately following the first page, list only the first page and a plus sign, for example 36+ or B1+.

• See the "How Do I" tab for more information on how to write your page-number range.