PCC Library Blog

Accessing The Chronicle of Higher Education

Option 1: Print

PCC Library has a print subscription to The Chronicle of Higher Education. The most recent copy is routed to various administrators and faculty. Back issues are available.

Option 2: Online via Library Database

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) and Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) include access to full-text articles from the Chronicle of Higher Education between 1999, and the present. However, there is a publisher imposed 30-day embargo on adding full text to these databases, so you will not be able to access the most recent issues this way.

Use Academic Search Complete

Quick Link: Go directly to the Academic Search Complete Chronicle of Higher Ed. Publication page (view by year, volume, issue, etc.).

Step-by-step instructions for getting to the publication page:

• Go to the PCC Library homepage (opens in a new window).
• Click Databases.
• Click the letter "A" then choose Academic Search Complete. You will be prompted to login with your myPittCC username and password.
• Once the database is open, click Publications in the top navigation bar.

• Skip the top search box on the next page. Look for the text box in the Publications section.
• Type Chronicle of Higher Education in the search box.
• If not already selected, click the radial button next to Alphabetical. 
• Click Browse.

• Click the link for Chronicle of Higher Education. 

• From this next page, you can choose to view articles by year, issue, etc. 
• There is also a Search within this Publication link that will allow you to search by keyword.
• The Full Text section lets you know what dates are available as full text and whether or not there are any publisher embargoes.

Use Opposing Viewpoints

Quick Link: Go directly to the Opposing Viewpoints Chronicle of Higher Education Publication Page (view by year, volume, issue, etc.).

Step-by-step instructions for getting to the publication page:

• Go to the PCC Library homepage (opens in a new window).
• Click Databases.
• Click the letter "O" then choose Opposing Viewpoints. You will be prompted to enter your myPittCC username and password.
• Click Advanced Search.
• Click Publication Search.
• In the search box, start typing: The Chronicle of Higher Education. Click the title when you see it appear in the drop-down menu, or continue typing the complete title in the Publication Search box.
• Click Search.

• Click the link for The Chronicle of Higher Education.
• Click the drop-down menu to view issues from a particular year.
• Use the Search Within Publication box to search for articles on a topic.

If you can't find the article that you need, or you are having trouble navigating the database, please do not hesitate to ask a librarian.