Skip to Main Content
PCC Library Logo

What's New at the Library

cover image

Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

New Books to Check Out!

The 1619 Project

1619 Project: A New Origin Story

The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story builds on The New York Times Magazine’s award-winning “1619 Project,” which reframed our understanding of American history by placing slavery and its continuing legacy at the center of our national narrative. 

All In

All In

An autobiography by Billie Jean King, this is an inspiring and intimate self-portrait of a champion of equality that encompasses her brilliant tennis career, unwavering activism, and an ongoing commitment to fairness and social justice.

American Baby by Gabrielle Glaser

American Baby: A Mother, a Child, and the Shadow History of Adoption

The truth about postwar adoption in America, told through the bittersweet story of one teenager, the son she was forced to relinquish, and their twin searches to find each other. Gabrielle Glaser dramatically demonstrates the expectations and institutions that this teen was up against. 

Appleseed

Appleseed

In the vein of Neal Stephenson and Jeff VanderMeer, an epic speculative novel from Young Lions Fiction Award–finalist Matt Bell, a breakout book that explores climate change, manifest destiny, humanity's unchecked exploitation of natural resources, and the small but powerful magic contained within every single apple. 

The Book of Form and Emptiness

The Book of Form and Emptiness

With its blend of sympathetic characters, riveting plot, and vibrant engagement with everything from jazz, to climate change, to our attachment to material possessions, The Book of Form and Emptiness is classic Ruth Ozeki--bold, wise, poignant, playful, humane and heartbreaking.

Code Breaker

The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race

Driven by a passion to understand how nature works and to turn discoveries into inventions, Jennifer Doudna would help to make what the book’s author, James Watson, told her was the most important biological advance since his co-discovery of the structure of DNA. Doudna and her collaborators turned a curiosity ​of nature into an invention that will transform the human race: an easy-to-use tool that can edit DNA. Known as CRISPR, it opened a brave new world of medical miracles and moral questions.

How Beautiful We Were

How Beautiful We Were

"We should have known the end was near."
So begins Imbolo Mbue’s powerful second novel, How Beautiful We Were. Set in the fictional African village of Kosawa, it tells the story of a people living in fear amidst environmental degradation wrought by an American oil company.
 

The Lincoln Highway

The Lincoln Highway

Spanning just ten days and told from multiple points of view, Amor Towles’s third novel set in 1950s America will satisfy fans of his multi-layered literary styling while providing them an array of new and richly imagined settings, characters, and themes.

The Man Who Lived Underground

The Man Who Lived Underground

A major literary event: an explosive, previously unpublished novel from the 1940s by Richard Wright. Now, for the first time, this incendiary novel about race and violence in America, the work that meant more to Wright than any other ("I have never written anything in my life that stemmed more from sheer inspiration"), is published in full, in the form that he intended.

On Juneteenth

On Juneteenth

Weaving together American history, dramatic family chronicle, and searing episodes of memoir, Annette Gordon-Reed’s On Juneteenth provides a historian’s view of the country’s long road to Juneteenth, recounting both its origins in Texas and the enormous hardships that African-Americans have endured in the century since, from Reconstruction through Jim Crow and beyond.

The Plot

The Plot

Hailed as breathtakingly suspenseful, Jean Hanff Korelitz's The Plot is a propulsive read about a story too good not to steal, and the writer who steals it.

The Prophets

The Prophets

A novel by Robert Jones Jr. about the forbidden union between two enslaved young men on a Deep South plantation, the refuge they find in each other, and a betrayal that threatens their existence.

Razorblade Tears

Razorblade Tears

Ike and Buddy Lee, two ex-cons with little else in common other than a criminal past and a love for their dead sons, band together in their desperate desire for revenge. Provocative and fast-paced, S. A. Cosby's Razorblade Tears is a story of bloody retribution, heartfelt change - and maybe even redemption.

The Removed

The Removed

Steeped in Cherokee myths and history, a novel about a fractured family reckoning with the tragic death of their son long ago—from National Book Award finalist Brandon Hobson.

The Sentence

The Sentence

In this stunning and timely novel, Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning author Louise Erdrich creates a wickedly funny ghost story, a tale of passion, of a complex marriage, and of a woman's relentless errors.

The Storyteller

The Storyteller: Tales of Life and Music

An autobiography by Dave Grohl, this is a "collection of memories of a life lived loud. From my early days growing up in the suburbs of Washington, DC, to hitting the road at the age of 18, and all the music that followed, I can now share these adventures with the world, as seen and heard from behind the microphone. Turn it up!"

What Storm What Thunder

What Storm What Thunder

At the end of a long, sweltering day, as markets and businesses begin to close for the evening, an earthquake of 7.0 magnitude shakes the capital of Haiti, Port-au-Prince. Award-winning author Myriam J. A. Chancy masterfully charts the inner lives of the characters affected by the disaster...

The Witch's Heart

The Witch's Heart

When a banished witch falls in love with the legendary trickster Loki, she risks the wrath of the gods in this moving, subversive debut novel by Genevieve Gornichec, that reimagines Norse mythology.

Library Yarn Group

Let's create something nice. Share project details, tips, and patterns with others. Inspire others to learn something new. library yarn group

Unwind at an informal gathering with fellow PCC yarn crafters to work on your crochet or knitting projects, ask questions, get inspired, and just enjoy crafting in a group. Drop in at any time and bring your own supplies. All skill levels are welcome! Join us for our get togethers on the first floor. Registration is not required.

Visit our Yarn Group webpage for meet-updates, instructional videos, and pattern books for crochet and knitting.

Real Chat Conversations

Real Chat Conversations is back!

Literature includes graphic novels and comics.

Join us for this month's reading, Black Sands- the Seven Kingdoms Ultimate Edition 1, by Manuel Godoy. To learn more about this title, visit Goodreads.


Featured Guest Speaker

Carlos Grooms, North Carolina A&T University
  • Monday, March 28 2022, 10:30 am (Register Now!
  • Registration is required to attend and is open to all.


Attendance this Semester

In an effort to keep everyone safe, we'll host sessions virtually this semester. Once you register, you'll receive a confirmation and a WebEx invite. If you experience any issues, contact Brittany Champion. If you have questions, please feel free to contact Brittany Champion [bnchampion711@my.pittcc.edu], Coach Darrick Mullins [dmullins@email.pittcc.edu] or Steffen McGhee [smcghee@email.pittcc.edu]

Find it at the Library!

Learn more about Real Chat Conversations