This is a collection of websites that can help you find factual information.
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2015
If you have a suggestion regarding a link that you have found particularly useful, please let us know.
Just click on "Submit" to get started.
Includes various types of information from almanacs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc. Good source for fast facts, country information, maps, current events, and more.
- Acronym Finder
Dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
Web portal that searches multiple dictionaries. Includes a thesaurus, foreign language dictionaries, and other tools.
Facts about NC, its culture, people, and much more.
- OneLook Dictionary Search
Search engine for words and phrases: defines and translates words.
- Yahoo! Education: Reference
Allows you to search the online Columbia Encyclopedia, World Factbook, English and Spanish dictionaries, a thesaurus, and more.
- Project Gutenberg
Download over 33,000 free e-books to read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, or other portable device. This collection consists of books that are no longer subject to copyright.
- Online Books Page
The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet.
Provides free audiobooks from the public domain. LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain and release the audio files back onto the net.
- World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
- Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
- Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Collection of classic Christian writings.
- Internet Sacred Texts Archive
Archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet.
- Open Library
Collection of e-books.
North Carolinians gain free access to borrow up to 5 books at a time, for 2 weeks each and are automatically logged-in using IP geolocation technology - no password is needed. To borrow books, you will need to create a personal account.
- Campus Security [U.S. Department of Education]
Provides links to the The Handbook for Campus Safety and Security Reporting, campus crime data, statutes, and other pertinent information related to campus safety.
- North Carolina Community College System
The mission of the North Carolina Community College System is to open the door to high-quality, accessible educational opportunities that minimize barriers to post-secondary education, maximize student success, and improve the lives and well-being of individuals.
- Pitt County Schools
Provides a variety of information about the schools: school closings, policies, job information and much more.
- Public Schools of North Carolina
Includes information on the K-12 curriculum, testing, statistics, No Child Left Behind, employment and more.
- University of North Carolina
UNC is a multi-campus university composed of 16 constituent institutions.
- North Carolina Network for Excellence in Teaching (NC-NET)
NC-NET Mission: To promote quality teaching and learning in North Carolina Community Colleges through a collaborative, statewide professional development system committed to sharing best practices, leveraging resources, and avoiding duplication.
- North Carolina Learning Object Repository (NCLOR)
The mission of the NCLOR is to provide a centralized location for the acquisition, collection, sharing, and management of quality learning resources for all teachers in North Carolina.