Research Guides: American History: Internet Search

Examples, Tips, & Search Engines

To find U.S. government (state and federal) websites:
- site:.gov “World War I” chemical warfare
To find higher education websites (archives, colleges, and universities):
- site:.edu James A. Garfield assassination Guiteau
To find organization based websites minus Wikipedia pages:
- site:.org archives "Korean war" video -wikipedia

DO NOT PAY for articles that you find on the Internet. The Library can usually get them for FREE. Just ask!
Look for primary resources from government, library, museum, or other trusted sources.
If you are not sure if a primary source found on the Internet is authentic, ask a teacher or librarian BEFORE writing the paper.

USA.gov
USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Vast collection of written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.
The National Archives
The National Archives preserves the important legal and historical documents of the United States. Holdings include the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence as well as U.S. military and naturalization records.
History - U.S. Census Bureau
This site provides access to historical census data.
U.S. History and Historical Documents - USA.gov
Discover highlights from American history, including military events and founding documents.