Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)

Approaching disability from the perspective of difference, the authors offer guidance on creating more inclusive learning environments on campus so that all students--whether or not they have a recognized disability--have the opportunity to succeed.

Highlighting the various everyday issues that may arise, this book shares practical advice for supporting students on the autism spectrum and helping them to succeed not only academically, but also socially and emotionally. It considers the impact of teaching expectations in higher learning on general adult life, and how to counsel students with autism on academic issues.

This practical handbook provides lecturers, tutors, disability services, and administrative staff with an overview of the invisible disabilities they may encounter, dispelling common myths and offering practical advice to support the needs of these students.
Ch. 8: Universal Design...Lecture Hall Based Classes
Ch. 9: Universal Design...Smaller Classrooms

Based on the findings of a five year longitudinal study into the experiences of students with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), this book provides tertiary educators and support staff with practical support for addressing the challenges associated with ASD as they manifest in college and university environments.

This book provides students and professionals in higher education with information to better support individuals with Autism. The intended readership for this book includes educators and students in secondary and higher education, high school counselors, and high school transition specialists.

Covers key considerations for all educators teaching writing skills to high school and college students with ASD including how to address difficulties with comprehension, executive functioning, and motor skills, how to structure ideas into a coherent argument, and how to develop creativity and expression in writing, as well as how to successfully adapt these skills to meet university expectations. Each chapter includes teaching tips, insightful student perspectives, and ready-to-use writing exercises.

Employment expert Barbara Bissonnette provides strategies that professionals and parents need to guide individuals with Asperger's Syndrome (Autism Spectrum Disorder) to manageable jobs, and keep them employed.

How do you know which college is right for you? What happens if you don't get on with your roommate? And what on earth is the Greek system all about? As a university student with High-Functioning Autism, Haley Moss offers essential tips and advice in this insider's guide to surviving the Freshman year of college. Chatty, honest and full of really useful information, Haley's first-hand account of the college experience covers everything students with Autism Spectrum Disorders need to know. She talks through getting ready for college, dorm life and living away from parents, what to expect from classes, professors and exams, and how to cope in new social situations and make friends. This book is a must-read for all students on the autism spectrum who are about to begin their first year of college, parents and teachers who are helping them prepare, and college faculty and staff.

Includes divergent perspectives, theories and philosophies in order to demonstrate that scientific evidence, rather than educational orientation, must determine which practices should be selected for use in particular situations.

The text is designed to give college faculty a deep understanding of students with ASD and help faculty to productively engage students with ASD, while also meeting the needs of all students in their classes. The strategies included in the manual are solidly grounded in principles of universal design and will prove indispensible for teaching college students of varying ability levels and diverse learning styles.