AI tools are not library databases. AI tools lack the curated precision of traditional databases but can provide quick answers and facilitate exploratory research. Some AI tools can assist in locating sources, but library databases remain the most reliable repositories of authoritative and scholarly information. A number of AI tools are paired with databases, or there are other forms of overlap, so it is important to understand the underlying mechanisms and content available through a tool or database. To ensure you are using the right tools and resources, ask a librarian.
Databases
Databases, such as library catalogs and scholarly databases provided by EBSCO, ProQuest, and Gale, are structured collections of information designed for precise retrieval and accountability. They are built with indexing, categorization, and metadata to ensure that users can locate specific resources, such as peer-reviewed articles, books, or data sets. Their reliability stems from the curation of content by experts and the use of standardized search mechanisms. Database users benefit from gaining specific knowledge of search techniques, such as Boolean logic and subject headings, which can be supported by consultations with librarians.
AI Tools
AI tools, such as natural language processing models and machine learning algorithms, are dynamic systems designed for a multitude of purposes. For the tools designed to locate sources of information, their methods for locating those materials or ensuring quality may not be readily transparent. Their strength lies in their adaptability and power to interpret natural language, making them accessible to users without specialized search expertise. However, most AI tools cannot guarantee the accuracy or source of their output.
AI Tools Integrated into Databases
Several library databases are now incorporating AI tools, which essentially act as a research companion with AI-powered suggestions and insights. They enhance the user experience by combining the precision of traditional database systems with the dynamic capabilities of artificial intelligence. Their services range and may include:
- simplifying the search process
- helping users craft more effective search queries
- navigating through research materials
- recommending results
- analyzing results
Examples include:
- ProQuest Research Assistant
- Currently available in ProQuest databaes provided by PCC Library and NC LIVE such as ProQuest Central, Ebook Central, etc.
- Note their AI disclaimer: AI-generated content: quality may vary. Check for accuracy.
- EBSCO AI Insights
- Currently available in EBSCOhost databases provided by PCC Library and NC LIVE such as Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, etc.
- Note their AI disclaimer: These insights are generated by AI based on the content of the source document. Information quality may vary and AI Insights should be validated for accuracy. Insights are newly generated with each request and are not reproducible.
Learn more about AI by exploring these research guides: Artificial Intelligence and Student Guide to Generative AI
Attribution: The content used in this post is from Artificial Intelligence: AI Tools vs. Databases and has been used with permission from Mary Rubin, Lily Dubach, and Lauren Kehoe, librarians at UCF Libraries. It has been modified to incorporate information specific to Pitt Community College.