PCC Library Blog - Research Guides at Pitt Community College

You have access to many online practice tests and study guides to help you prepare for allied health and nursing exams.

PrepSTEP*

You can access both LearningExpress Library and PrepSTEP College from the same interface.

There are study guides and practice tests for:

ATI TEAS
Nursing: NCLEX-RN, Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide Certification, NCLEX-PN, etc.
Dental Assisting
Medical Assistant Certification
Occupational Therapy Assistant Certification (COTA)
Radiologic Technologist Certification
Respiratory Therapist Certification (TMC)
Surgical Technologist Certification
EMT Certification
Paramedic Certification (NRP)

If you need to brush up on basic math and reading skills, basic computer skills, workplace skills, and more, PrepSTEP and LearningExpress Library have got you covered!

*Online Access: PCC students and staff should use their myPittCC login credentials. Community library card holders can get a username/password from a librarian.

Recent Posts

What is PubMed?

PubMed is a free web-based interface for searching MEDLINE, which is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains millions of references to journal articles in life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.PubMed searches across several resources: MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), and Bookshelf.You can go directly to PubMed online, find it on our database list, and on some of our research guides. If an article is not available in fulltext from PubMed, PCC Library may have the article in one of our databases, or you can request an article through our interlibrary loan service.Check out these PubMed tutorials…PubMed Online TrainingUser GuideNLM PubMed Tutorials (YouTube Playlist) Did you know…?You can see all of PCC library’s health resources on one page. Need help searching? Ask us!...

Allied Health Exam Prep

You have access to many online practice tests and study guides to help you prepare for allied health and nursing exams.PrepSTEP*You can access both LearningExpress Library and PrepSTEP College from the same interface. There are study guides and practice tests for:ATI TEASNursing: NCLEX-RN, Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide Certification, NCLEX-PN, etc.Dental AssistingMedical Assistant CertificationOccupational Therapy Assistant Certification (COTA)Radiologic Technologist CertificationRespiratory Therapist Certification (TMC)Surgical Technologist CertificationEMT CertificationParamedic Certification (NRP)If you need to brush up on basic math and reading skills, basic computer skills, workplace skills, and more, PrepSTEP and LearningExpress Library have got you covered! *Online Access: PCC students and staff should use their myPittCC login credentials. Community library card holders can get a username/password from a librarian. ...

What's New for Spring?

Below are just a few of the new things that are now available. Check out our What's New guide for more details on what is new for Spring 2025!Print BooksWe Do Not Part by Han KangCall Number: F HanTells the story of a friendship between two women while powerfully reckoning with a hidden chapter in Korean history… The Death of Truth by Steven BrillCall Number: HM 851 .B75 2024How did we become a world where facts - shared truths - have lost their power to hold us together as a community, as a country, globally? How have we allowed the proliferation of alternative facts, hoaxes, even conspiracy theories, to destroy our trust in institutions, leaders, and legitimate experts… Original Sins: The (Mis)Education of Black and Native Children and the Construction of American Racism by Eve L. EwingCall Number: LC 212.2 .E95 2025Why don't our schools work? Ewing tackles this question from a new angle- what if they're actually doing what they were built to do? She argues that instead of being the great equalizer, America's classrooms were designed to do the opposite - to maintain our inequalities… E-Books & Audiobooks in Dogwood Digital Atomic Anna by Rachel BarenbaumDogwood Digital: AudiobookIn 1986, nuclear scientist Anna Berkova is asleep in her bed in the Soviet Union when Chernobyl's reactor melts down. The energy surge accidentally sends her through time… Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town by Bonnie-Sue HitchcockDogwood Digital: eBook & AudiobookIn this book, the impact of wildfire, a wayward priest, or a mysterious disappearance ricochet across communities, threading through stories. Here, ordinary actions such as ice skating or going to church reveal hidden truths… Want more? Titles new and old are constantly being added to Dogwood Digital by community college libraries all over the state. Learn how to access Dogwood Digital....

New Year, New Books, New Study Room

Welcome back from the holiday break! We have a few new things to share . . .There are new print graphic novels, YA fiction, and nonfiction books about A.I., as well as many new additions to Dogwood Digital, ComicsPlus, and Flipster.An additional large study room is now available for booking on the 2nd floor (Room 214).The VR room has been relocated to 219.NC LIVE has provided access to a new database that provides primary sources related to the Indigenous Peoples of North America.Get the details on our What's New for January 2025 page.New Collection Development Librarian! Evan Schmoll is not new to us, but her role in the Library has changed! She is now in charge of acquiring and cataloging new materials for the Library. She will still be your primary contact person for setting up Library instruction (for now). Please congratulate Evan on her new role!...