Research Guides: Cultural Competence in Healthcare: Articles

Search for Articles

Search phrase examples:

cultural differences AND patients
cultural competence AND (China OR Chinese)
cultural awareness AND Muslim AND childbirth
cultural diversity AND communication AND barriers AND healthcare

Look for alternate terms or phrases:

cultural diversity
cultural sensitivity
ethnic groups
vulnerable populations
indigenous peoples
transcultural care

Search Medical Databases

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL), is a large collection of nursing and allied health journals that provides some full text access. Additional materials include evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
Full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications.
Health & Medical Collection
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.

Need more?

More Medical Databases
Get a list of all of the medical databases offered by PCC Library.

Get Articles from Other Libraries

If PCC Library does not have a full-text article that you need, we can see if another library is able to provide it through our interlibrary loan (ILL) service. Just fill out the ILL form as completely as possible. Articles are typically e-mailed directly to you.

Keep in mind...

Cost: FREE in most cases. If there is a charge we will contact you before making the request.
Allow 5-10 business days for processing and delivery.

ILL Form