Research Guides: HEA 110: Health Improvement Status Paper (Coutouzis): Background Info

Reference Sources

Reference sources help you to understand your topic by giving you an overview or background information. All reference sources are helpful in that they give you a place to find more keywords or phrases that you can use to search article databases, the library catalog, etc.

Encyclopedias

The following encyclopedias are excellent places to learn basic facts and information about things related to health, fitness, and nutrition. The encyclopedias and examples below all come from a library database called Credo Reference. Use the databases listed in the Search for More box to find even more reference material.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness
Publication Date: 2017
Click the link to open the book. Scroll through the list of topics, or use the "Search within this title" box to find keywords. Sample topics include:
Body Composition Tests
Blood Pressure and Exercise
Disease Prevention and Exercise
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Food Labels
Publication Date: 2017
Click the link to open the book. Scroll through the list of topics, or use the "Search within this title" box to find keywords. Sample topics include:
Alcoholic Beverages
Food and Nutrient Related Diseases
Mindful Eating
Sleep and Nutrition
Whole Foods vs. Processed Foods
The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets
Publication Date: 2013
Scroll through the list of topics, or use the "Search within this title" box to find keywords.
Search examples:
Ketogenic
Dash
Weight Watchers
Paleo

Examples

Aerobic Training
from Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness
"...a preventive intervention in patients at risk for developing cardiovascular disease due to hypertension, high blood cholesterol, or a family history of cardiovascular disease."
Cardiovascular Disease
from The Gale Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Food Labels
"...a medical condition that affects the cardiovascular system, which includes the heart and the blood vessels through which blood flows."
Heart-Healthy Diets
from The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets
"...an eating plan designed to keep blood cholesterol low and prevent the risk of cardiovascular (heart) disease."

Search for More

Credo Reference
Collection of over 600 full-text reference books that cover thousands of topics including art, business, medicine, sociology, technology, and much more.
STAT!Ref
Collection of selected medical e-books available through the TDS Health platform. Includes a variety of reference sources for nursing, dental assisting, coding, emergency medicine, and more. Access Note: On the TDS Health homepage, click either the “Titles” link at the top, or the STAT!Ref icon further down on the page.
Omnigraphics Health Reference Sourcebooks
Straightforward and authoritative e-books on consumer health topics.
Omnigraphics e-books can be accessed with the BiblioBoard mobile app.
1. Search for "Biblioboard Library" in the App Store or Google Play store.
2. Download onto your mobile device
3. Login with your BiblioBoard account. If you don't have an account, you must create an account first using a desktop computer. Access Biblioboard using a desktop computer, sign-in using your library, and then create a personal account. An account is also required for customization features like saving books as Favorites, notes, comments, bookmarks, etc.