The mission of the Office of Teaching & Learning is to encourage and support instructors as they make decisions about incorporating innovative and engaging teaching methods and pedagogical approaches in their classroom spaces for all styles of delivery methods – Traditional (TR), Hybrid (HY), Blended (BL), and Internet (IN). We encourage and support professional development for faculty and staff as it relates to the improvement of student success on our campus.
Florida State University offers an online curriculum for a Professional Certification in The Fundamentals of Neurodiversity. The curriculum was developed by the Clearinghouse on Trauma & Resilience within the Institute for Family Violence Studies in the College of Social Work. This course provides a rigorous curriculum to inform multidisciplinary professionals and policymakers about individual and systemic factors impacting resilience and well-being through the lens of Neurodiversity.
This course provides a comprehensive foundation of knowledge of neurodiversity and practical approaches to supporting neurodivergent individuals of all ages. It builds participants’ knowledge and skills to be able to understand the needs of neurodivergent people and adapt crucial processes and systems for them to thrive. This online, self-paced curriculum includes ten hours of course content and five chapters of evidence-based readings, case scenarios, multimedia materials, assignments, and quizzes. Register here under "PD At Your Pace."
Safe Zones (also known as "Safe Spaces") originally developed in the 1980s and 1990s on campuses across the country in efforts to create spaces on campus where gay, lesbian, and bisexual students could be open and honest about their lives. Today, PCC's Safe Zone training continues the work of supporting LGBTQ+ students and their families through creating awareness and visibility. Register HERE under "PD At Your Pace."
The Faculty Onboarding training is designed to help you to become acclimated to your new position as PCC faculty or staff. Contact Happy Gingras at x7422 or hdgingras706@my.pittcc.edu to enroll.
This training for faculty and staff is designed to help develop a supportive community for Pitt Community College's military-affiliated students. College campus culture is different from military culture for both service members and their families. We appreciate your interest in learning what you can do to enhance the overall college experience for military-affiliated students and assist them toward completion and onto a successful future. Register HERE under "PD At Your Pace."
The Deaf Awareness Professional Development course was designed just for you, faculty and staff! Upon completion of the training, the learner will be able to comprehend and respond with grammatical accuracy to express American Sign Language and demonstrate cultural awareness. Register HERE under "PD At Your Pace."
Florida State University now offers a Certification on Trauma and Resilience Series that provides a comprehensive foundation of knowledge of the effect of trauma and the elements of resilience. This series of courses will prepare professionals to provide culturally competent, trauma-informed services, and build resilience in themselves and the people they serve.
The courses must be taken in order: Level One must be successfully completed before Level Two can be accessed. Register HERE under "PD At Your Pace."
Florida State University's Professional Certification in Human Trafficking Prevention and Intervention was developed as a joint project of the FSU Clearinghouse on Trauma & Resilience within the Institute for Family Violence Studies, the College of Social Work, the FSU Center for the Advancement of Human Rights and the Center on Academic and Professional Advancement. The curriculum enables professionals to develop the knowledge and skills needed to understand the dynamics of the different types of human trafficking. It also provides professionals with practical skills to increase awareness of and improve services and interventions for victims/survivors of trafficking. Register HERE under "PD At Your Pace."
Florida State University offers an online curriculum for a Professional Certification in College Student Wellbeing, Trauma, and Resilience. The curriculum was developed by the Clearinghouse on Trauma & Resilience within the Institute for Family Violence Studies in the College of Social Work. This course provides a rigorous curriculum to inform college administrators, faculty, staff, and policy-makers about individual and systemic factors that impact student resilience and wellbeing.
This course provides a foundation for transforming colleges and universities into trauma-informed environments in which students, faculty, and staff can thrive. It builds participants’ knowledge and skills to apply trauma-informed principles in practical ways across the educational setting. Participants will learn crucial information and obtain resources to build a campus culture that promotes positive mental health, student retention and student success. This self-paced curriculum includes 20 hours of course content and nine chapters of evidence-based readings, case scenarios, multi-media materials, assignments, and quizzes. Register HERE under "PD At Your Pace."
This self-paced course consists of 7 short videos and 7 quizzes. Each video features Lee Bray and includes the following topics:
Successful completion of all 7 modules are needed to earn this credential.