Research Guides: PHI 240: Ethics of Fetal Development &amp; Abortion (Daniels): Search for More

Articles, E-books, and More

Search Examples

abortion AND personhood
abortion AND “religious aspects”
“human embryo” AND debate
(fetus OR embryo) AND human AND life
premature infants AND survival rate
("preterm birth" OR “premature birth”) AND (“infant mortality” OR “survival rate”)

Article Examples

"The Legal Status of the Fetus"
Database: Academic Search Complete
"Fetal Rights"
Database: Opposing Viewpoints in Context
"After Months of Controversy, Texas will Require Aborted Fetuses to be Cremated or Buried"
Database: ProQuest Central

E-Book Examples

Ethics and Experience: Moral Theory from Just War to Abortion by Lloyd Steffen
Database: Ebook Central
Human Rights and the Unborn Child by Rita Joseph
Database: Ebook Central

Medical E-books

R2 Digital Library
Medical, nursing, and allied health e-book collection from key health science publishers.
STAT!Ref (via TDS Health)
Collection of medical texts, interactive anatomy modules, evidence based medicine resources, board exam practice tests, ICD codes, and more.

Videos

Kanopy
Streaming video service that includes documentaries and films on a variety of topics.
Films on Demand
This collection provides high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Linking/Embedding Issues with MS PPT

Video Examples

Abortion Stories Women Tell
Centering on the Hope Clinic for Women (just across the Missouri state line in Granite City, Illinois), the film profiles women struggling with unplanned pregnancies, providers who show up at the clinic to give medical care, and activists hoping to sway decisions and lives, offering an intimate window into the lives of women involved in the abortion issue, whose experiences are by turns heartbreaking and tender or bleak and frightening.
Understanding Pregnancy: A Comprehensive Guide
With the help of 3D animation, learn how the baby develops inside the womb and how the mother's body changes throughout the three trimesters of pregnancy; expectant mothers reflect on their experiences.

Articles & Books from Other Libraries

If PCC Library does not have a full-text article that you need, we can see if another library is able to provide it through our interlibrary loan (ILL) service. Just fill out the ILL form as completely as possible. Articles are typically e-mailed directly to you.

Keep in mind...

Cost: FREE in most cases. If there is a charge we will contact you before making the request.
Allow 5-10 business days for processing and delivery.

ILL Form