Research Guides: Sonography: Articles &amp; Journals

Summon Search: Articles, E-books, and More

Search Tips and Examples:

Use the following examples as a guide for what to type in the Summon search box:

sonography AND stroke
"abdominal sonography"
cardiovascular AND ultrasound AND diagnostic
"diagnostic imaging" AND echocardiography
"diagnostic techniques" AND ultrasound
"ultrasonic imaging" OR ultrasound OR ultrasonography

Once you have a list of results, use the options in the side bar to refine your results by date, type of resource, subject, etc.

Scholarly Article Databases

You may need to use medical databases to search for scholarly articles on a particular topic if you are not finding what you need via Summon. If you are having trouble or have questions, ask a librarian for help. If a citation does not include access to the full text of an article, you can request it through interlibrary loan.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL), is a large collection of nursing and allied health journals that provides some full text access. Additional materials include evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
Health & Medical Collection
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

More Medical & Health Databases
List of PCC Library's medical databases.

Database Search Tips

Join keywords with AND:

"diagnostic imaging" AND ultrasound
ultrasound AND fetal AND high-risk

Put quotation marks around phrases:

"fetal imaging"
"diagnostic techniques"
"vascular imaging"

Try different words or phrases:

ultrasound OR ultrasonography OR ultrasonic
(ultrasound OR ultrasonography OR ultrasonic) AND heart defects

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to search for journal articles. If an article is not full-text, ask a librarian to help you determine if the article is available through a PCC Library database or through interlibrary loan.
How to Connect Google Scholar to PCC Library with Library Links
By setting up Library Links, you can access research articles licensed by PCC Library while using Google Scholar.

Get Articles from Other Libraries

If PCC Library does not have a full-text article that you need, we can see if another library is able to provide it through our interlibrary loan (ILL) service. Just fill out the ILL form as completely as possible. Articles are typically e-mailed directly to you.

Keep in mind...

Cost: FREE in most cases. If there is a charge we will contact you before making the request.
Allow 5-10 business days for processing and delivery.

ILL Form