Research Guides: Health Information Technology: Articles

Article Databases

Use the following medical databases to search for trade, scholarly, or peer reviewed journal articles.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL), is a large collection of nursing and allied health journals that provides some full text access. Additional materials include evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
Full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Includes full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.

Need more?

A-Z List of Library Databases
View the complete list of PCC Library's databases.

Search Examples

The terms listed below are meant to give you a starting point for searching the Library's medical databases. Depending on your research topic, you may need to create your own search. Ask a librarian if you need help.

LAW & ETHICS

Keywords:

patient confidentiality
release of information
record retention
informed consent
authentication
computer security
liability
medical laws
medical legislation

Database search examples:

"medical records" AND subpoena
"health information" AND security
"information technology" AND security
"medical records" AND liability
"managed care plans" AND legislation
(Medicare OR Medicaid) AND legislation
"medical care" AND legislation
hospitals AND legislation
"health insurance" AND legislation

CODING & CLASSIFICATTION

Keywords:

nosology
codes
code numbers
medical coding
classification
ICD

Search examples:

disease AND classification
codes AND billings
coding AND reimbursement

REIMBURSEMENT

Keywords:

reimbursement methodology
prospective payment
prospective payment systems
medical coding

Search examples:

coding AND reimbursement
reimbursement AND codes
"prospective payment" AND coding

Get Articles from Other Libraries

If PCC Library does not have a full-text article that you need, we can see if another library is able to provide it through our interlibrary loan (ILL) service. Just fill out the ILL form as completely as possible. Articles are typically e-mailed directly to you.

Keep in mind...

Cost: FREE in most cases. If there is a charge we will contact you before making the request.
Allow 5-10 business days for processing and delivery.

ILL Form