Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PCC Library Logo

APA 7th

This Research Guide lists examples of how to cite sources according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA), 7th edition.

Journal Article With DOI

DeNicco, J., & Laincz, C. A. (2018). Jobless recovery: A time series look at the United States. Atlantic Economic Journal, 46(1), 3-25. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11293-018-9569-7

Author(s) of Article. (year of publication). Complete title of article. Name of Journal, volume(issue), page range of article if available. https//doi.org/10.xxxxxxxx

If you find your article in a library database, you can click on the "Cite" button next to your article and choose "APA" (your database may list "APA 6th"; some databases do not yet have citation information for the new APA 7th style). For this example, you would get the following citation:

DeNicco, J., & Laincz, C. A. (2018). Jobless recovery: A time series look at the united states. Atlantic Economic Journal, 46(1), 3-25. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s11293-018-9569-7

There are a number of errors in this database-supplied citation (highlighted in yellow). Here is how it should look:

DeNicco, J., & Laincz, C. A. (2018). Jobless recovery: A time series look at the United States. Atlantic Economic Journal, 46(1), 3-25. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11293-018-9569-7

Note that in APA 7th, you are to include all authors up to 20.

If you use the "Cite" feature, compare your citation carefully to the example shown and change as necessary. Look at the information provided with the article itself to verify anything that looks incorrect.

You will also need to:

Check the author names. In APA style, database-supplied citations will often confuse first names with last names, will  include the wrong part of compound names, or will add unneeded components (such as PhD). Look at the author information that appears with the article itself to help determine the correct way to cite an author's name.

Check title capitalization. Database-supplied citations will often give article titles in all capital letters, or will have other capitalization errors. In APA style, article titles should have only the first word, the first word after a colon or long dash, proper nouns, and acronyms capitalized.

Make sure page numbers are complete. In some databases, only the first page number (or no page number) appears in citation information. If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify page range.

Check DOI format. There is only one acceptable way to write DOI numbers in APA 7th style; standardize your DOI number to match the format shown here (see the "Helpful Tips" tab). Database-supplied citations will often include extra unneeded parts at the beginning of the DOI number.

Check font, spacing, and punctuation. Citations may not paste with the font that matches the rest of your paper (APA accepts any standard easily readable font as long as you are consistent). Spacing between words and/or line spacing may not be correct. Punctuation (commas, periods) may be missing or may not be correct.

Author(s):

  • Standard form (use initials instead of first and middle names):
    • Rita Maxwell is Maxwell, R.
    • Graham B. Souder is Souder, G. B.
    • John Keith Sanford is Sanford, J. K.
    • Dara Haier-Thomas is Haier-Thomas, D.
    • Jo-Beth McNeil is McNeil, J.-B.
    • Seymour Bevins III is Bevins, S., III
    • Travis W. Tamblin Jr. is Tamblin, T. W., Jr.
    • Susanna Erstmiller, Ph.D. is Erstmiller, S.
    • Dr. Bakari is Bakari
    • Sophocles is Sophocles
    • Malcolm X is Malcolm X
  • Two authors (use "&" instead of writing out the word "and"):
    • Maxwell, R., & Souder, G. B.
  • Three to twenty authors (list all authors; use "&" before the last):
    • Maxwell, R., Souder, G. B., Sanford, J. K., Haier-Thomas, D., McNeil, J.-B., & Tamblin, T. W., Jr. 
  • More than twenty authors (list the first nineteen and last author using an ellipsis [. . .] before the last with no "&"):
    • Maxwell, R., Souder, G. B., Sanford, J. K., Haier-Thomas, D., McNeil, J.-B., Bevins, S., III, Tamblin, T. W., Jr., Peters, A. S., Widmark, E., Ross, G., Wu, J.-P., Albright, R. T., Garcia Ramirez, S. L., Ganyana, B. D., Heins, F., Rosach, K., Alborelli, L. H., Kohlkut, D. D., James, X., . . . Inabi, H. G.

Publication Date for Journal Articles:

  • For articles that appear in a journal, use only the year of publication, even if more specific date information is available.
  • If you are not sure if your article comes from a journal, magazine, or newspaper, look at the database information supplied with the article, or do a web search using the publication title in quotes to look for clues on the publication's homepage.

Article Title:

  • Do not put in quotes. Capitalize only the first word, the first word after a colon or long dash, proper nouns, and acronyms. If you are not sure which words in your title should be capitalized, look at the text of your article for clues:
    • Facts, attitudes, and health reasoning about HIV and AIDS: Explaining the education effect on condom use among adults in sub-Saharan Africa.
    • Foot health education for people with rheumatoid arthritis—Some patient perspectives. 

Journal Name:

  • Italicize the name of your journal: African Journal of Business Ethics.
  • Use the complete name of your journal, including initial articles: The Journal of Finance.
  • Capitalize first words, major words, and all words of at least four letters: Social Work With Groups.
  • If the official name of your journal includes an ampersand [&], use the ampersand: Gender & History.

Volume/Issue Information:

  • Include the volume number for all journal articles, written in Arabic numerals: 27; 459.
  • If your journal also has an issue number, include it, in Arabic numerals inside parentheses: (4).
  • Note that the volume number is italicized, but the parenthetical issue number is not: 27(4).

Page Numbers for Journal Articles:

  • Do not use p. or pp. in front of page numbers for journal articles.
  • Use full digits for the entire page-number range (2-10; 86-89; 208-247; 1009-1033).
  • If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify correct page-number range.

Database Information:

  • If you found your article through a library database, do not include any database information (such as the name of the database or the URL assigned to the article in the database) unless your instructor directs you otherwise.

DOI Number:

  • In APA style, the DOI number should always be included if it is available. There is only one acceptable format for the DOI number: https://doi.org/10.xxxxxxxx
  • If the format for the DOI listed with your article is different, standardize it to match the acceptable format.
  • Make sure you are not including anything extra at the beginning of your DOI, especially if you are copying and pasting a citation from a database.
  • Do not put a period at the end of your DOI.
  • It is acceptable in your References list for your DOIs to look either like hyperlinks (blue and underlined) or like regular text. Check with your instructor if you are unsure of which style to use.

Journal Article Without DOI (Print or Library Database)

Carver, S. D., Van Sickle, J., Holcomb, J. P., Quinn, C. M., Jackson, D. K., Resnick, A., Duffy, S. F., Sridhar, N., & Marquard, A. (2017). Operation STEM: Increasing success and improving retention among mathematically underprepared students in STEM. Journal of STEM Education, 18(3), 20-29.

Author(s) of Article. (year of publication). Complete title of article. Name of Journal, volume(issue), page range of article if available.

If you find your article in a library database, you can click on the "Cite" button next to your article and choose "APA" (your database may list "APA 6th"; some databases do not yet have citation information for the new APA 7th style). For this example, you would get the following citation:

Carver, S. D., Van Sickle, J., Holcomb, J. P., Jackson, D. K., Resnick, A., Duffy, S. F., . . . Quinn, C. M. (2017). Operation STEM: Increasing success and improving retention among mathematically underprepared students in STEM. Journal of STEM Education : Innovations and Research, 18(3), 20-29. Retrieved from https://libpro.pittcc.edu/login?url=https://search-proquest-com.libpro.pittcc.edu/docview/1949081608?accountid=13209

There are a number of errors in this database-supplied citation (highlighted in yellow). Here is how it should look:

Carver, S. D., Van Sickle, J., Holcomb, J. P., Quinn, C. M., Jackson, D. K., Resnick, A., Duffy, S. F., Sridhar, N., & Marquard, A. (2017). Operation STEM: Increasing success and improving retention among mathematically underprepared students in STEM. Journal of STEM Education, 18(3), 20-29.

Note that in APA 7th, you are to include all authors up to 20, and should not supply any database-related information unless your instructor requires it.

If you use the "Cite" feature, compare your citation carefully to the example shown and change as necessary. Look at the information provided with the article itself to verify anything that looks incorrect.

You will also need to:

Check the author names. In APA style, database-supplied citations will often confuse first names with last names, will  include the wrong part of compound names, or will add unneeded components (such as PhD). Look at the author information that appears with the article itself to help determine the correct way to cite an author's name.

Check title capitalization. Database-supplied citations will often give article titles in all capital letters, or will have other capitalization errors. In APA style, article titles should have only the first word, the first word after a colon or long dash, proper nouns, and acronyms capitalized.

Make sure page numbers are complete. In some databases, only the first page number (or no page number) appears in citation information. If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify page range.

Check font, spacing, and punctuation. Citations may not paste with the font that matches the rest of your paper (APA accepts any standard easily readable font as long as you are consistent). Spacing between words and/or line spacing may not be correct. Punctuation (commas, periods) may be missing or may not be correct.

Author(s):

  • Standard form (use initials instead of first and middle names):
    • Rita Maxwell is Maxwell, R.
    • Graham B. Souder is Souder, G. B.
    • John Keith Sanford is Sanford, J. K.
    • Dara Haier-Thomas is Haier-Thomas, D.
    • Jo-Beth McNeil is McNeil, J.-B.
    • Seymour Bevins III is Bevins, S., III
    • Travis W. Tamblin Jr. is Tamblin, T. W., Jr.
    • Susanna Erstmiller, Ph.D. is Erstmiller, S.
    • Dr. Bakari is Bakari
    • Sophocles is Sophocles
    • Malcolm X is Malcolm X
  • Two authors (use "&" instead of writing out the word "and"):
    • Maxwell, R., & Souder, G. B.
  • Three to twenty authors (list all authors; use "&" before the last):
    • Maxwell, R., Souder, G. B., Sanford, J. K., Haier-Thomas, D., McNeil, J.-B., & Tamblin, T. W., Jr. 
  • More than twenty authors (list the first nineteen and last author using an ellipsis [. . .] before the last with no "&"):
    • Maxwell, R., Souder, G. B., Sanford, J. K., Haier-Thomas, D., McNeil, J.-B., Bevins, S., III, Tamblin, T. W., Jr., Peters, A. S., Widmark, E., Ross, G., Wu, J.-P., Albright, R. T., Garcia Ramirez, S. L., Ganyana, B. D., Heins, F., Rosach, K., Alborelli, L. H., Kohlkut, D. D., James, X., . . . Inabi, H. G.

Publication Date for Journal Articles:

  • For articles that appear in a journal, use only the year of publication, even if more specific date information is available.
  • If you are not sure if your article comes from a journal, magazine, or newspaper, look at the database information supplied with the article, or do a web search using the publication title in quotes to look for clues on the publication's homepage.

Article Title:

  • Do not put in quotes. Capitalize only the first word, the first word after a colon or long dash, proper nouns, and acronyms. If you are not sure which words in your title should be capitalized, look at the text of your article for clues:
    • Facts, attitudes, and health reasoning about HIV and AIDS: Explaining the education effect on condom use among adults in sub-Saharan Africa.
    • Foot health education for people with rheumatoid arthritis—Some patient perspectives. 

Journal Name:

  • Italicize the name of your journal: African Journal of Business Ethics.
  • Use the complete name of your journal, including initial articles: The Journal of Finance.
  • Capitalize first words, major words, and all words of at least four letters: Social Work With Groups.
  • If the official name of your journal includes an ampersand [&], use the ampersand: Gender & History.

Volume/Issue Information:

  • Include the volume number for all journal articles, written in Arabic numerals: 27; 459.
  • If your journal also has an issue number, include it, in Arabic numerals inside parentheses: (4).
  • Note that the volume number is italicized, but the parenthetical issue number is not: 27(4).

Page Numbers for Journal Articles:

  • Do not use p. or pp. in front of page numbers for journal articles.
  • Use full digits for the entire page-number range (2-10; 86-89; 208-247; 1009-1033).
  • If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify correct page-number range.

Database Information:

  • If you found your article through a library database, do not include any database information (such as the name of the database or the URL assigned to the article in the database) unless your instructor directs you otherwise.

Journal Article Without DOI (Online, Not Library Database)

Baudi. (2019). The role of parents’ interests and attitudes in motivating them to homeschool their children. Journal of Social Studies Education Research, 10(1), 156-177. https://pdfs.semanticscholar.org/3c6f/
af745daa542b4a9ad0506d1bd2d8bb9ccf6a.pdf?_ga=2.223833883.1280066228.1590511618-671395924
.1590511618

Author(s) of Article. (year of publication). Complete title of article. Name of Journal, volume(issue), page range of article if available. Direct URL for article

Author(s):

  • Standard form (use initials instead of first and middle names):
    • Rita Maxwell is Maxwell, R.
    • Graham B. Souder is Souder, G. B.
    • John Keith Sanford is Sanford, J. K.
    • Dara Haier-Thomas is Haier-Thomas, D.
    • Jo-Beth McNeil is McNeil, J.-B.
    • Seymour Bevins III is Bevins, S., III
    • Travis W. Tamblin Jr. is Tamblin, T. W., Jr.
    • Susanna Erstmiller, Ph.D. is Erstmiller, S.
    • Dr. Bakari is Bakari
    • Sophocles is Sophocles
    • Malcolm X is Malcolm X
  • Two authors (use "&" instead of writing out the word "and"):
    • Maxwell, R., & Souder, G. B.
  • Three to twenty authors (list all authors; use "&" before the last):
    • Maxwell, R., Souder, G. B., Sanford, J. K., Haier-Thomas, D., McNeil, J.-B., & Tamblin, T. W., Jr. 
  • More than twenty authors (list the first nineteen and last author using an ellipsis [. . .] before the last with no "&"):
    • Maxwell, R., Souder, G. B., Sanford, J. K., Haier-Thomas, D., McNeil, J.-B., Bevins, S., III, Tamblin, T. W., Jr., Peters, A. S., Widmark, E., Ross, G., Wu, J.-P., Albright, R. T., Garcia Ramirez, S. L., Ganyana, B. D., Heins, F., Rosach, K., Alborelli, L. H., Kohlkut, D. D., James, X., . . . Inabi, H. G.

Publication Date for Journal Articles:

  • For articles that appear in a journal, use only the year of publication, even if more specific date information is available.
  • If you are not sure if your article comes from a journal, magazine, or newspaper, look at the database information supplied with the article, or do a web search using the publication title in quotes to look for clues on the publication's homepage.

Article Title:

  • Do not put in quotes. Capitalize only the first word, the first word after a colon or long dash, proper nouns, and acronyms. If you are not sure which words in your title should be capitalized, look at the text of your article for clues:
    • Facts, attitudes, and health reasoning about HIV and AIDS: Explaining the education effect on condom use among adults in sub-Saharan Africa.
    • Foot health education for people with rheumatoid arthritis—Some patient perspectives. 

Journal Name:

  • Italicize the name of your journal: African Journal of Business Ethics.
  • Use the complete name of your journal, including initial articles: The Journal of Finance.
  • Capitalize first words, major words, and all words of at least four letters: Social Work With Groups.
  • If the official name of your journal includes an ampersand [&], use the ampersand: Gender & History.

Volume/Issue Information:

  • Include the volume number for all journal articles, written in Arabic numerals: 27; 459.
  • If your journal also has an issue number, include it, in Arabic numerals inside parentheses: (4).
  • Note that the volume number is italicized, but the parenthetical issue number is not: 27(4).

Page Numbers for Journal Articles:

  • Do not use p. or pp. in front of page numbers for journal articles.
  • Use full digits for the entire page-number range (2-10; 86-89; 208-247; 1009-1033).
  • If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify correct page-number range.

URL:

  • Carefully copy the exact URL that will lead directly to your article.
  • Look to see if there is a "permalink" you can use (sometimes found under a "link" symbol to the side or at the top of the article). If no permalink is supplied, use the URL that appears in your browser address bar.
  • Do not put a period at the end of your URL.
  • It is acceptable in your References list for your URLs to look either like hyperlinks (blue and underlined) or like regular text. Check with your instructor if you are unsure of which style to use.

Website Article

Williams, V. (2020, March 20). What’s the difference between quarantine and isolation? Mayo Clinic. https://newsnetwork.mayoclinic.org/discussion/whats-the-difference-between-quarantine-and-isolation/

Author(s) of Article. (date of publication). Complete title of article. Website name unless same as author. Direct URL for article

Author(s):

  • Standard form (use initials instead of first and middle names):
    • Rita Maxwell is Maxwell, R.
    • Graham B. Souder is Souder, G. B.
    • John Keith Sanford is Sanford, J. K.
    • Dara Haier-Thomas is Haier-Thomas, D.
    • Jo-Beth McNeil is McNeil, J.-B.
    • Seymour Bevins III is Bevins, S., III
    • Travis W. Tamblin Jr. is Tamblin, T. W., Jr.
    • Susanna Erstmiller, Ph.D. is Erstmiller, S.
    • Dr. Bakari is Bakari
    • Sophocles is Sophocles
    • Malcolm X is Malcolm X
  • Two authors (use "&" instead of writing out the word "and"):
    • Maxwell, R., & Souder, G. B.
  • Three to twenty authors (list all authors; use "&" before the last):
    • Maxwell, R., Souder, G. B., Sanford, J. K., Haier-Thomas, D., McNeil, J.-B., & Tamblin, T. W., Jr. 
  • More than twenty authors (list the first nineteen and last author using an ellipsis [. . .] before the last with no "&"):
    • Maxwell, R., Souder, G. B., Sanford, J. K., Haier-Thomas, D., McNeil, J.-B., Bevins, S., III, Tamblin, T. W., Jr., Peters, A. S., Widmark, E., Ross, G., Wu, J.-P., Albright, R. T., Garcia Ramirez, S. L., Ganyana, B. D., Heins, F., Rosach, K., Alborelli, L. H., Kohlkut, D. D., James, X., . . . Inabi, H. G.

No Author:

  • If no author is listed for an article that would typically have an individual author (such as one from a news site), start with the article's title (in italics), and put the date information in parentheses after the title:
    • Coronavirus: Call for widespread testing of all key health workers. (2020, March 21). BBC News. https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-51989730

Corporate Author:

  • If no individual author is listed and your website is sponsored by an organization, give author credit to the organization itself as it can be considered responsible for general site content: 
    • World Health Organization. (2019, September 13). Hypertension. https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/hypertension

(Note that the organization does not appear again as the site name since it is already listed as author.)

Government Agency as Author:

  • If no individual author is listed and your website is sponsored by a government agency, list only the entity most directly responsible for the content as author (unless parent agencies are needed to avoid any confusion with another identically named agency in your References list, which would rarely be the case). For example, an article from the National Institute of Mental Health (which is a subdivision of the National Institutes of Health, a division of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) is cited as follows: 
    • National Institute of Mental Health. (2019, April). Suicide. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health. https://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/statistics/suicide.shtml

(Note that the parent agencies are given credit as site publishers in this case, with the largest agency listed first.)

Publication Date:

  • For web articles that do not come from an online journal, include as much publication date information (in parentheses) as is available: (2020, May 5) or (2018, December) or (2014).
  • Do not abbreviate the name of months.
  • Use the "last updated" date if that is the only date information available and it pertains to your article (not the site as a whole).
  • Do not use a "last reviewed" date if that is all you can find (see No Publication Date below).
  • Note that an article's publication date is not the same as the website's copyright date, which usually consists of a year or range of years, and is typically found at the bottom of the webpage beside a copyright "©" symbol.

No Publication Date:

  • If you cannot find a publication date for your article (or can only find a "reviewed" date, which you should not use), put "n.d." in parentheses where the date would normally go:
    • American Diabetes Association. (n.d.). Get to know carbs. https://www.diabetes.org/nutrition/understanding-carbs/get-to-know-carbs

"Retrieved" Date:

  • Supply a date for when you accessed (retrieved) your web article only for those pages that are designed to change over time (i.e., those that have a URL that will not always bring up the page as you found it):
    • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (n.d.). About flu. Retrieved May 26, 2020, from https://www.cdc.gov/flu/about/index.html

(Note that a retrieval date is not necessary for most articles, unless your instructor requires it.)

URL:

  • Carefully copy the exact URL that will lead directly to your article.
  • Look to see if there is a "permalink" you can use (sometimes found under a "link" symbol to the side or at the top of the article). If no permalink is supplied, use the URL that appears in your browser address bar.
  • Do not put a period at the end of your URL.
  • It is acceptable in your References list for your URLs to look either like hyperlinks (blue and underlined) or like regular text. Check with your instructor if you are unsure of which style to use.

Magazine Article (Print or Library Database)

Ocklenburg, S. (2020, March/April). The inner life of vegetarians. Psychology Today, 53(2), 15.

Author(s) of Article. (date of publication). Complete title of article. Name of Magazine, volume(issue) if available, page(s) of article if available.

If you find your article in a library database, you can click on the "Cite" button next to your article and choose "APA" (your database may list "APA 6th"; some databases do not yet have citation information for the new APA 7th style). For this example, you would get the following citation:

Ocklenburg, S., PhD. (2020, Mar). The inner life of vegetarians. Psychology Today, 53, 15. Retrieved from https://libpro.pittcc.edu/login?url=https://search-proquest-com.libpro.pittcc.edu/docview/2365265026?accountid=13209

There are a number of errors in this database-supplied citation (highlighted in yellow). Here is how it should look:

Ocklenburg, S. (2020, March/April). The inner life of vegetarians. Psychology Today, 53(2), 15.

Note that in APA 7th, you should not supply any database-related information unless your instructor requires it.

If you use the "Cite" feature, compare your citation carefully to the example shown and change as necessary. Look at the information provided with the article itself to verify anything that looks incorrect.

You will also need to:

Check the author names. In APA style, database-supplied citations will often confuse first names with last names, will  include the wrong part of compound names, or will add unneeded components (such as PhD). Look at the author information that appears with the article itself to help determine the correct way to cite an author's name.

Check title capitalization. Database-supplied citations will often give article titles in all capital letters, or will have other capitalization errors. In APA style, article titles should have only the first word, the first word after a colon or long dash, proper nouns, and acronyms capitalized.

Make sure page numbers are complete. In some databases, only the first page number (or no page number) appears in citation information. If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify page range.

Check font, spacing, and punctuation. Citations may not paste with the font that matches the rest of your paper (APA accepts any standard easily readable font as long as you are consistent). Spacing between words and/or line spacing may not be correct. Punctuation (commas, periods) may be missing or may not be correct.

Author(s):

  • Standard form (use initials instead of first and middle names):
    • Rita Maxwell is Maxwell, R.
    • Graham B. Souder is Souder, G. B.
    • John Keith Sanford is Sanford, J. K.
    • Dara Haier-Thomas is Haier-Thomas, D.
    • Jo-Beth McNeil is McNeil, J.-B.
    • Seymour Bevins III is Bevins, S., III
    • Travis W. Tamblin Jr. is Tamblin, T. W., Jr.
    • Susanna Erstmiller, Ph.D. is Erstmiller, S.
    • Dr. Bakari is Bakari
    • Sophocles is Sophocles
    • Malcolm X is Malcolm X
  • Two authors (use "&" instead of writing out the word "and"):
    • Maxwell, R., & Souder, G. B.
  • Three to twenty authors (list all authors; use "&" before the last):
    • Maxwell, R., Souder, G. B., Sanford, J. K., Haier-Thomas, D., McNeil, J.-B., & Tamblin, T. W., Jr. 
  • More than twenty authors (list the first nineteen and last author using an ellipsis [. . .] before the last with no "&"):
    • Maxwell, R., Souder, G. B., Sanford, J. K., Haier-Thomas, D., McNeil, J.-B., Bevins, S., III, Tamblin, T. W., Jr., Peters, A. S., Widmark, E., Ross, G., Wu, J.-P., Albright, R. T., Garcia Ramirez, S. L., Ganyana, B. D., Heins, F., Rosach, K., Alborelli, L. H., Kohlkut, D. D., James, X., . . . Inabi, H. G.

No Author:

  • If no author is listed for your article, start with the article's title, and put the date information in parentheses after the title:
    • Know your no. (2018, December/2019, January). Girls' Life, 25(3), 60-61, 74. 

Publication Date for Magazine Articles:

  • For articles that come from a magazine, include as much publication date information (in parentheses) as is available: (2020, May 5) or (2018, December) or (2016, March/April)  or (2014).
  • Do not abbreviate the name of months.
  • If you are not sure if your article comes from a journal, magazine, or newspaper, look at the database information supplied with the article, or do a web search using the publication title in quotes to look for clues on the publication's homepage.

Article Title:

  • Do not put in quotes. Capitalize only the first word, the first word after a colon or long dash, proper nouns, and acronyms. If you are not sure which words in your title should be capitalized, look at the text of your article for clues:
    • Facts, attitudes, and health reasoning about HIV and AIDS: Explaining the education effect on condom use among adults in sub-Saharan Africa.
    • Foot health education for people with rheumatoid arthritis—Some patient perspectives.

Magazine Name:

  • Italicize the name of your magazine: Men's Health.
  • Use the complete name of your magazine, including initial articles: The New Yorker.
  • Capitalize first words, major words, and all words of at least four letters: Real Living With Multiple Sclerosis.
  • If the official name of your magazine includes an ampersand [&], use the ampersand: Better Homes & Gardens.

Volume/Issue Information:

  • Include the volume number, if listed, written in Arabic numerals: 27; 459.
  • Include the issue number, if listed, in parentheses with no space beside the volume number, in Arabic numerals: (4).
  • Note that the volume number is italicized, but the parenthetical issue number is not: 27(4).
  • If you cannot find volume/issue information for your article, move on to page numbers if available, or put a  period after the magazine name.

Page Numbers for Magazine Articles:

  • Do not use p. or pp. in front of page numbers for magazine articles.
  • Use full digits for the entire page-number range (2-10; 86-89; 208-247; 1009-1033).
  • If your article continues on a non-consecutive page (or pages), list all pages, separated by commas: 8-12, 14, 29.
  • If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify correct page-number range and/or any non-consecutive pages. 
  • If you cannot find page numbers for your article, put a period after volume/issue information (or magazine name if volume/issue is also not available).

Database Information:

  • If you found your article through a library database, do not include any database information (such as the name of the database or the URL assigned to the article in the database) unless your instructor directs you otherwise.

Magazine Article (Online Magazine Site)

Friedman, Z. (2020, May 20). Are your unemployment benefits taxable? Forbes. https://www.forbes.com/sites/zackfriedman/2020/05/20/do-you-have-to-pay-taxes-on-unemployment/#1411d617243d

Author(s) of Article. (date of publication). Complete title of article. Name of Magazine. Direct URL for article

Author(s):

  • Standard form (use initials instead of first and middle names):
    • Rita Maxwell is Maxwell, R.
    • Graham B. Souder is Souder, G. B.
    • John Keith Sanford is Sanford, J. K.
    • Dara Haier-Thomas is Haier-Thomas, D.
    • Jo-Beth McNeil is McNeil, J.-B.
    • Seymour Bevins III is Bevins, S., III
    • Travis W. Tamblin Jr. is Tamblin, T. W., Jr.
    • Susanna Erstmiller, Ph.D. is Erstmiller, S.
    • Dr. Bakari is Bakari
    • Sophocles is Sophocles
    • Malcolm X is Malcolm X
  • Two authors (use "&" instead of writing out the word "and"):
    • Maxwell, R., & Souder, G. B.
  • Three to twenty authors (list all authors; use "&" before the last):
    • Maxwell, R., Souder, G. B., Sanford, J. K., Haier-Thomas, D., McNeil, J.-B., & Tamblin, T. W., Jr. 
  • More than twenty authors (list the first nineteen and last author using an ellipsis [. . .] before the last with no "&"):
    • Maxwell, R., Souder, G. B., Sanford, J. K., Haier-Thomas, D., McNeil, J.-B., Bevins, S., III, Tamblin, T. W., Jr., Peters, A. S., Widmark, E., Ross, G., Wu, J.-P., Albright, R. T., Garcia Ramirez, S. L., Ganyana, B. D., Heins, F., Rosach, K., Alborelli, L. H., Kohlkut, D. D., James, X., . . . Inabi, H. G.

No Author:

  • If no author is listed for your article, start with the article's title, and put the date information in parentheses after the title:
    • Know your no. (2018, December/2019, January). Girls' Life, 25(3), 60-61, 74. 

Publication Date for Magazine Articles:

  • For articles that come from a magazine, include as much publication date information (in parentheses) as is available: (2020, May 5) or (2018, December) or (2016, March/April)  or (2014).
  • Do not abbreviate the name of months.
  • If you are not sure if your article comes from a journal, magazine, or newspaper, look at the database information supplied with the article, or do a web search using the publication title in quotes to look for clues on the publication's homepage.

Article Title:

  • Do not put in quotes. Capitalize only the first word, the first word after a colon or long dash, proper nouns, and acronyms. If you are not sure which words in your title should be capitalized, look at the text of your article for clues:
    • Facts, attitudes, and health reasoning about HIV and AIDS: Explaining the education effect on condom use among adults in sub-Saharan Africa.
    • Foot health education for people with rheumatoid arthritis—Some patient perspectives.

Magazine Name:

  • Italicize the name of your magazine: Men's Health.
  • Use the complete name of your magazine, including initial articles: The New Yorker.
  • Capitalize first words, major words, and all words of at least four letters: Real Living With Multiple Sclerosis.
  • If the official name of your magazine includes an ampersand [&], use the ampersand: Better Homes & Gardens.

URL:

  • Carefully copy the exact URL that will lead directly to your article.
  • Look to see if there is a "permalink" you can use (sometimes found under a "link" symbol to the side or at the top of the article). If no permalink is supplied, use the URL that appears in your browser address bar.
  • Do not put a period at the end of your URL.
  • It is acceptable in your References list for your URLs to look either like hyperlinks (blue and underlined) or like regular text. Check with your instructor if you are unsure of which style to use.

Newspaper Article (Print or Library Database)

Mahoney, M. A. (2020, April 15). Tips for limiting coronavirus transmission at home. Tallahassee Democrat, C4.

Author(s) of Article. (date of publication). Complete title of article. Name of Newspaper, volume(issue) if available, page(s) of article if available.

If you find your article in a library database, you can click on the "Cite" button next to your article and choose "APA" (your database may list "APA 6th"; some databases do not yet have citation information for the new APA 7th style). For this example, you would get the following citation:

                     Tips for limiting coronavirus transmission at home. (2020, Apr 15). Tallahassee Democrat         Retrieved from https://libpro.pittcc.edu/login?url=https://search-proquest-com.libpro.pittcc.edu/docview/2389798042?accountid=13209

There are a number of errors in this database-supplied citation (highlighted in yellow). Here is how it should look:

Mahoney, M. A. (2020, April 15). Tips for limiting coronavirus transmission at home. Tallahassee Democrat, C4.

Note that in APA 7th, you should not supply any database-related information unless your instructor requires it.

If you use the "Cite" feature, compare your citation carefully to the example shown and change as necessary. Look at the information provided with the article itself to verify anything that looks incorrect.

You will also need to:

Check the author names. In APA style, database-supplied citations will often confuse first names with last names, will  include the wrong part of compound names, or will add unneeded components (such as PhD). Look at the author information that appears with the article itself to help determine the correct way to cite an author's name.

Check title capitalization. Database-supplied citations will often give article titles in all capital letters, or will have other capitalization errors. In APA style, article titles should have only the first word, the first word after a colon or long dash, proper nouns, and acronyms capitalized.

Check font, spacing, and punctuation. Citations may not paste with the font that matches the rest of your paper (APA accepts any standard easily readable font as long as you are consistent). Spacing between words and/or line spacing may not be correct. Punctuation (commas, periods) may be missing or may not be correct.

Author(s):

  • Standard form (use initials instead of first and middle names):
    • Rita Maxwell is Maxwell, R.
    • Graham B. Souder is Souder, G. B.
    • John Keith Sanford is Sanford, J. K.
    • Dara Haier-Thomas is Haier-Thomas, D.
    • Jo-Beth McNeil is McNeil, J.-B.
    • Seymour Bevins III is Bevins, S., III
    • Travis W. Tamblin Jr. is Tamblin, T. W., Jr.
    • Susanna Erstmiller, Ph.D. is Erstmiller, S.
    • Dr. Bakari is Bakari
    • Sophocles is Sophocles
    • Malcolm X is Malcolm X
  • Two authors (use "&" instead of writing out the word "and"):
    • Maxwell, R., & Souder, G. B.
  • Three to twenty authors (list all authors; use "&" before the last):
    • Maxwell, R., Souder, G. B., Sanford, J. K., Haier-Thomas, D., McNeil, J.-B., & Tamblin, T. W., Jr. 
  • More than twenty authors (list the first nineteen and last author using an ellipsis [. . .] before the last with no "&"):
    • Maxwell, R., Souder, G. B., Sanford, J. K., Haier-Thomas, D., McNeil, J.-B., Bevins, S., III, Tamblin, T. W., Jr., Peters, A. S., Widmark, E., Ross, G., Wu, J.-P., Albright, R. T., Garcia Ramirez, S. L., Ganyana, B. D., Heins, F., Rosach, K., Alborelli, L. H., Kohlkut, D. D., James, X., . . . Inabi, H. G.

No Author:

  • If no author is listed for your article, start with the article's title, and put the date information in parentheses after the title:
    • Voter education, not age, will make a difference. (2018, June 7-13). Washington Informer, 53(34), 27.

Publication Date for Newspaper Articles:

  • For articles that come from a newspaper, include full publication date information (in parentheses): (2018, January 4)
  • Do not abbreviate the name of months.
  • If you are not sure if your article comes from a journal, magazine, or newspaper, look at the database information supplied with the article, or do a web search using the publication title in quotes to look for clues on the publication's homepage.

Article Title:

  • Do not put in quotes. Capitalize only the first word, the first word after a colon or long dash, proper nouns, and acronyms. If you are not sure which words in your title should be capitalized, look at the text of your article for clues:
    • Facts, attitudes, and health reasoning about HIV and AIDS: Explaining the education effect on condom use among adults in sub-Saharan Africa.
    • Foot health education for people with rheumatoid arthritis—Some patient perspectives.

Newspaper Name:

  • Italicize the name of your newspaper: Rocky Mount Telegram.
  • Use the complete name of your newspaper, including initial articles: The New York Times.
  • Capitalize first words, major words, and all words of at least four letters: Palm Beach Daily News.
  • If the official title of your newspaper includes an ampersand [&], use the ampersand: The News & Observer.

Volume/Issue Information:

  • Include the volume number, if listed, written in Arabic numerals: 27; 459.
  • Include the issue number, if listed, in parentheses with no space beside the volume number, in Arabic numerals: (4).
  • Note that the volume number is italicized, but the parenthetical issue number is not: 27(4).
  • If you cannot find volume/issue information for your article, move on to page numbers if available, or put a  period after the newspaper name.

Page Numbers for Newspaper Articles:

  • Do not use p. or pp. in front of page numbers for newspaper articles.
  • Include any section letters that appear with the page number(s): A7; 8D.
  • If your article continues on a non-consecutive page (or pages), list all pages, separated by commas: A3-A4, A13.
  • If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify correct page-number range and/or any non-consecutive pages. 
  • If you cannot find page numbers for your article, put a period after volume/issue information (or newspaper name if volume/issue is also not available).

Database Information:

  • If you found your article through a library database, do not include any database information (such as the name of the database or the URL assigned to the article in the database) unless your instructor directs you otherwise.

Newspaper Article (Online Newspaper Site)

Roose, K. (2020, April 2). The coronavirus crisis is showing us how to live online. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2020/03/17/technology/coronavirus-how-to-live-online.html

Author(s) of Article. (date of publication). Complete title of article. Name of Newspaper. Direct URL for article

Author(s):

  • Standard form (use initials instead of first and middle names):
    • Rita Maxwell is Maxwell, R.
    • Graham B. Souder is Souder, G. B.
    • John Keith Sanford is Sanford, J. K.
    • Dara Haier-Thomas is Haier-Thomas, D.
    • Jo-Beth McNeil is McNeil, J.-B.
    • Seymour Bevins III is Bevins, S., III
    • Travis W. Tamblin Jr. is Tamblin, T. W., Jr.
    • Susanna Erstmiller, Ph.D. is Erstmiller, S.
    • Dr. Bakari is Bakari
    • Sophocles is Sophocles
    • Malcolm X is Malcolm X
  • Two authors (use "&" instead of writing out the word "and"):
    • Maxwell, R., & Souder, G. B.
  • Three to twenty authors (list all authors; use "&" before the last):
    • Maxwell, R., Souder, G. B., Sanford, J. K., Haier-Thomas, D., McNeil, J.-B., & Tamblin, T. W., Jr. 
  • More than twenty authors (list the first nineteen and last author using an ellipsis [. . .] before the last with no "&"):
    • Maxwell, R., Souder, G. B., Sanford, J. K., Haier-Thomas, D., McNeil, J.-B., Bevins, S., III, Tamblin, T. W., Jr., Peters, A. S., Widmark, E., Ross, G., Wu, J.-P., Albright, R. T., Garcia Ramirez, S. L., Ganyana, B. D., Heins, F., Rosach, K., Alborelli, L. H., Kohlkut, D. D., James, X., . . . Inabi, H. G.

No Author:

  • If no author is listed for your article, start with the article's title, and put the date information in parentheses after the title:
    • Vidant closing Wellness Center. (2020, June 15). The Daily Reflector. https://www.reflector.com/news/local/vidant-closing-wellness-center/article_206af9cb-7979-53d2-ba5f-a398a110671c.html

Publication Date for Newspaper Articles:

  • For articles that come from a newspaper, include full publication date information (in parentheses): (2018, January 4)
  • Do not abbreviate the name of months.
  • If you are not sure if your article comes from a journal, magazine, or newspaper, look at the database information supplied with the article, or do a web search using the publication title in quotes to look for clues on the publication's homepage.

Article Title:

  • Do not put in quotes. Capitalize only the first word, the first word after a colon or long dash, proper nouns, and acronyms. If you are not sure which words in your title should be capitalized, look at the text of your article for clues:
    • Facts, attitudes, and health reasoning about HIV and AIDS: Explaining the education effect on condom use among adults in sub-Saharan Africa.
    • Foot health education for people with rheumatoid arthritis—Some patient perspectives.

Newspaper Name:

  • Italicize the name of your newspaper: Rocky Mount Telegram.
  • Use the complete name of your newspaper, including initial articles: The New York Times.
  • Capitalize first words, major words, and all words of at least four letters: Palm Beach Daily News.
  • If the official title of your newspaper includes an ampersand [&], use the ampersand: The News & Observer.

URL:

  • Carefully copy the exact URL that will lead directly to your article.
  • Look to see if there is a "permalink" you can use (sometimes found under a "link" symbol to the side or at the top of the article). If no permalink is supplied, use the URL that appears in your browser address bar.
  • Do not put a period at the end of your URL.
  • It is acceptable in your References list for your URLs to look either like hyperlinks (blue and underlined) or like regular text. Check with your instructor if you are unsure of which style to use.