Skip to main content
PCC Library Logo

PCC Library Blog

Database Access Issues

by Angela Davis on 2019-10-01T08:28:00-04:00 in Faculty, Resources & Services | Comments

Two girls looking at a computer.Off-Campus Login Issues

When clicking a library database link from off campus, you will be prompted to enter your myPittCC username and password. If your login is not successful, we suggest the following:

  • Review the myPittCC login instructions provided by the campus.

  • Your username is the first part of your myPittCC email address (what is BEFORE the @ symbol).

    • Example: jmdoe765

    • Do not enter your entire myPittCC email address as the username.

  • If the database link you are using is in your Moodle course, you may want to try accessing the database via the Library’s database page instead. All of the databases are listed in alphabetical order.

  • If you are sure you are using the correct login credentials, contact the Library and let us know what is happening in case there is an issue with the database.

 

If the Library is closed and an assignment is due that requires you to access a database . . .

  • Use the online reference chat box found on either the Library homepage, or the Ask a Librarian page.
  • The chat librarian may be able to help figure out a way for you to get to the information you need.
  • If you are still not successful, please send an email to both your instructor and the Library (pittref@email.pittcc.edu) explaining what is happening. This way, there is documentation of the problem, and the Library can start working to figure out what’s going on as soon as possible. 

 

After You’ve Logged In

If you are having trouble accessing a library database after a successful off-campus login, there are a few things that you might want to try:

  • Restart your computer.

  • Try a different Internet browser. 

    • If you are using Internet Explorer, try Chrome. If you are using Chrome, try Mozilla Firefox, Safari, etc.

  • If you decide to install a new browser, do not allow it to install toolbars.

  • If you already have a browser toolbar in place, you may want to remove or disable it.

  • Empty your cache. 

    • Search the Internet for "empty cache" and the name of your browser for instructions.

    • Search example:  "empty cache" Chrome

  • Delete cookies. 

    • Search the Internet for "delete cookies" and the name of your browser for instructions.

    • Search example:  "delete cookies" Mozilla Firefox

  • The issue might be your security software. 

    • Antivirus or personal firewall software such as Norton or McAfee may require you to adjust some settings in order to access library databases.

    • You may have to uncheck pop-up blocker and web blocking or even configure custom level privacy settings and disable browser privacy in order to use or access database content.

If you continue to have problems and would like assistance, please contact the Library.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...