Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PCC Library Logo

About the Library

About Off-Campus Access

The online resources (databases) provided by the Library are paid resources that include information not typically found for free on the internet. In order to access these paid resources from off campus, it is necessary for you to log in. Throughout the Library's website, hyperlinks to resources that require a login from off campus are visually indicated by a bulldog pawprint icon with alt text stating that a username and password are required for off-campus access.Bulldog pawprint = Login required for off-campus access

PCC Staff and Students

The username and password to access databases from off campus is basically the same as what you use to access the PCC portal (myPittCC, Moodle). DO NOT include the last part of your email address (@my.pittcc.edu) in the username.

PCS ECHS

Pitt County Early College High School students who are using Chromebooks supplied by Pitt County Schools will likely be prompted to log in using their myPittCC credentials even though they are physically located on campus.

Community Library Patrons

A generic login is available to community residents with a current PCC Library account, as well as others who are enrolled in or are affiliated with PCC programs and continuing education courses.

Exceptions to Access

  • ALLDATA Repair - On campus access only
  • BOARDVITALS - Active myPittCC email account required
  • Dogwood Digital Library - Active myPittCC email account required
  • Westlaw - Current PCC Paralegal students only; login provided by course instructor

Can't log in?

Off-Campus Library Database Access Screen Username ExampleCheck Your Username

  • Your myPittCC (campus portal, Moodle) username includes your first initial, middle initial, and your entire last name followed by the last three digits of your student ID number.

  • The username for logging into the databases includes only the first half of your myPittCC email address (do not include @my.pittcc.edu).

    • Example: jdstudent001

  • NOTE: Some usernames may not follow the typical pattern. If you do not have a middle name or use a hyphenated last name for example, your username may be a little different. Questions regarding the format of your username in these circumstances should be directed to PCC Technical Support.

 

Password AutofillPassword autofill example

  • Does your password autofill on the site?

  • If so, delete the password that came up automatically and type it in yourself.

  • Why? The internet browser that you are using may have saved an old or incorrect password. To remove stored passwords, you will need to clear your browser’s cache.


Try Logging in to myPittCCMyPittCC Mobile Menu

Go to the Pitt CC homepage (opens a new window), and click the myPittCC link. 

  • Using a desktop or laptop computer?
    You should see the link in the top right corner of the campus homepage.

  • Using a mobile device or tablet?
    You may need to click the MENU icon, then scroll down until you see myPittCC.

Try logging in to myPittCC.

  • If you can log in to myPittCC, you should be able to use the same password to log in to the Library's online resources. The only difference would be that the username for logging into the databases includes only the first half of your myPittCC email address (do not include @my.pittcc.edu).

  • If your password for myPittCC autofills, and you can't remember what it is, then you will need to contact PCC Technical Support.

  • If you can't log in to myPittCC or the Library's databases after trying all these things, you will need to contact PCC Technical Support so they can help you figure out what is happening.


Contact PCC Technical Support 

  • EMAIL: helpdesk@email.pittcc.edu
  • PHONE: (252) 493-7487 (Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.)


But I need database access now!Chat with a librarian: Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week

Don't stress. You can get a temporary login.

  • If the Library is open, you can call or email us.

  • Another option is to use our chat service, which operates 24 hours a day except on holidays. This service is staffed by actual librarians who are there to help you. 

    • Go to the Library's Ask Us page (opens a new window)
    • Look for the Chat with a Librarian box. 
    • Explain the situation to the chat librarian and ask them for a temporary username and password. 
    • Finish your assignment, and then contact PCC Technical Support for help at a time when they’re available.