There are two new library tutorials for allied health students:
1. Video tutorial about PCC Library Health Sciences Resources
2. Research guide on how to create a PICO(T) Question
View more PCC Library Tutorials.
Have a suggestion for a new tutorial? Please let us know at pittref@email.pittcc.edu
PubMed is a free web-based interface for searching MEDLINE, which is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains millions of references to journal articles in life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
Check out these PubMed tutorials…
Did you know…?
You can see all of PCC library’s health resources on one page. Need help searching? Ask us!
You have access to many online practice tests and study guides to help you prepare for allied health and nursing exams.
You can access both LearningExpress Library and PrepSTEP College from the same interface.
There are study guides and practice tests for:
If you need to brush up on basic math and reading skills, basic computer skills, workplace skills, and more, PrepSTEP and LearningExpress Library have got you covered!
*Online Access: PCC students and staff should use their myPittCC login credentials. Community library card holders can get a username/password from a librarian.
Provides access to both LearningExpress and PrepSTEP. Includes practice for the TEAS test, ACT, SAT, NCLEX-RN, licensing exams, developmental math and reading skills, basic computer skills, workplace skills, and more. Getting to PrepSTEP content . . .
By setting up Library Links, you can access research articles licensed by PCC Library while using Google Scholar.
Go to Google Scholar: https://scholar.google.com
If you have a Google account, go ahead and sign in. This way, you will always have your Library Link connected no matter where you log in to Google.
Click the sandwich menu in the top left.
From the drop-down menu, choose Settings.
From the Settings menu, choose Library Links.
In the search box under Show library access links for… type Pitt Community College.
Click the Search button.
Click to check the box next to Pitt Community College - Full-Text @ My Library.
You may also see options for PITT COMMUNITY COLLEGE-ProQuest Fulltext and/or Open WorldCat. You may check all three, but it is not necessary.
Click Save.
When you log in to your Google account and search Google Scholar, you will see Full-Text @ My Library along with other links out to the sides of articles.
To access the article, click one of the links out to the side (there may be more than one way to access an article).
When you see . . .
No link out to the side - You can submit an Interlibrary Loan request and we will try to find access via another library
[PDF] URL from a school (.edu) or other website (.org, .com, etc.) - Click to open the article
ProQuest Fulltext - Available in one of PCC's ProQuest databases; Click the link, login to mypittCC, get the article
Full-Text @ My Library - Available in one of PCC Library's databases; Click the link, login to mypittCC, get the article
NOTE: When you click a link that goes to content available via a Library database, you will be prompted to login to myPittCC before you can access the article.
If you have questions, or come across an article with a Full-Text @ My Library link that doesn’t actually take you to the article, please contact Angela Davis, PCC Librarian, at asdavis688@my.pittcc.edu
Updated: 5/30/2024 ASD
The Library has print study guides for the admissions test (ATI TEAS) that is required for admission to the major Health Sciences programs at PCC. Print copies are located on the 2nd floor in the general collection and are available for check out. Just ask at the reference desk and we will help you locate them.
There are two additional copies located on the 1st floor at the Circulation Desk and are on Reserve, which means they stay inside the Library. A scanner and a photocopier are available if needed.
REMEMBER: Bring your current PCC ID card with you in order to check out Library materials!
The PrepSTEP database (which can be accessed from the Library's Database page) also includes several TEAS practice tests. Once you open the database, just type TEAS in the search box.
PrepSTEP may be accessed from off campus with your myPittCC sign-in credentials, but once in the database, you must also create your own PrepSTEP account so that you can access tests, save your progress, etc.
Visit our TEAS Test library guide.
Have questions? Ask a Librarian!
AI tools are not library databases. AI tools lack the curated precision of traditional databases but can provide quick answers and facilitate exploratory research. Some AI tools can assist in locating sources, but library databases remain the most reliable repositories of authoritative and scholarly information. A number of AI tools are paired with databases, or there are other forms of overlap, so it is important to understand the underlying mechanisms and content available through a tool or database. To ensure you are using the right tools and resources, ask a librarian.
Databases
Databases, such as library catalogs and scholarly databases provided by EBSCO, ProQuest, and Gale, are structured collections of information designed for precise retrieval and accountability. They are built with indexing, categorization, and metadata to ensure that users can locate specific resources, such as peer-reviewed articles, books, or data sets. Their reliability stems from the curation of content by experts and the use of standardized search mechanisms. Database users benefit from gaining specific knowledge of search techniques, such as Boolean logic and subject headings, which can be supported by consultations with librarians.
AI Tools
AI tools, such as natural language processing models and machine learning algorithms, are dynamic systems designed for a multitude of purposes. For the tools designed to locate sources of information, their methods for locating those materials or ensuring quality may not be readily transparent. Their strength lies in their adaptability and power to interpret natural language, making them accessible to users without specialized search expertise. However, most AI tools cannot guarantee the accuracy or source of their output.
AI Tools Integrated into Databases
Several library databases are now incorporating AI tools, which essentially act as a research companion with AI-powered suggestions and insights. They enhance the user experience by combining the precision of traditional database systems with the dynamic capabilities of artificial intelligence. Their services range and may include:
Examples include:
Learn more about AI by exploring these research guides: Artificial Intelligence and Student Guide to Generative AI
Attribution: The content used in this post is from Artificial Intelligence: AI Tools vs. Databases and has been used with permission from Mary Rubin, Lily Dubach, and Lauren Kehoe, librarians at UCF Libraries. It has been modified to incorporate information specific to Pitt Community College.