PCC Library Blog

New Collection at the Library

07/07/2025

Evan Schmoll

No Subjects

Promotional graphic for Saddleback Educational Publishing’s Illustrated Classics series. The image features bold text reading “NEW!!” at the top, followed by a description highlighting the series as ideal for English language learners and emerging re

The library is pleased to announce the addition of Saddleback Educational Publishing's Illustrated Classics! These captivating graphic novels bring timeless stories to life with vibrant illustrations and accessible storytelling. This series is perfect for English Language Learners and Emerging Readers. At just 64 pages, they are designed for quick, enjoyable reading, while still featuring key phrases and memorable quotations from the original classics. Currently, there are 25 titles to choose from, including The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Treasure Island, and The Three Musketeers. Check one out today; you can find them on the YA shelf near the Graphic Novels.

11/12/2021

Angela Davis

English (ENG), Fine Arts, Resources & Services

PCC students, faculty, and staff now have unlimited access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from more than one hundred publishers. Every title is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, on your computer, tablet, or phone. There are no limits as to how many people can access a single comic at any one time.

There are two ComicsPlus collections. One with access to everything for all age groups (including comics for adults), and another for children.

Access digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from more than one hundred publishers. Includes full access to material for all age groups: PreK - Adult. Read the Age-Appropriate Guidelines for more detailed information. You must have a myPittCC email account in order to access this resource.

Comics Plus Children's Collection

New

Includes comics and graphic reading material for the following age groups: PreK - Grade 8/Ages 3-14. The vendor provides Age-Appropriate Guidelines with more detailed information. You must have a myPittCC email account in order to access this resource.

Read all the comics!

Access

You can find the ComicsPlus links on the Library's Databases page.
Only those with an active myPittCC account can access ComicsPlus. The community patron login will not work for this database.
Open ComicsPlus in a new tab or window.
You will be prompted to sign in to myPittCC before you can access the database.

Download the ComicsPlus App

You can access and download ComicsPlus app on Google Play and at the App Store.

Learn more . . .

About ComicsPlus
List of Publishers
Library Pass & ComicsPlus Videos, Webinars, and Tutorials

Teaching and Learning with Comics

Teaching and Reading Guides [ComicsPlus / Library Pass]
Understanding Manga [ComicsPlus / Library Pass]
Raising a Reader: How Comics and Graphic Novels Can Help Your Kids Love to Read [Comic Book Legal Defense Fund]
Includes benefits for adult language learners, struggling readers, and more.

Subjects

ACA

1

Career Exploration

1

Education

1

English (ENG)

3

Events

1

Faculty

9

Fine Arts

1

History

3

Homework Help (K-12)

2

Human Services

1

See more...

Tags

Google-Scholar

1

comics

2

manga

1

graphic novels

2

AI

1

generative AI

1

new books

2

TEAS

1

nclex

1

prepstep

1

See more...

Recent Posts

New Health Sciences Tutorials

There are two new library tutorials for allied health students:1. Video tutorial about PCC Library Health Sciences Resources2. Resarch guide on how to create a PICO(T) QuestionView more PCC Library Tutorials. Have a suggestion for a new tutorial? Please let us know at pittref@email.pittcc.edu...

Introducing Michelle Myers!

The library is excited to announce our new addition, Michelle Myers. Michelle is the Reference & Instruction Librarian at PCC Library who started on August 15. We asked Michelle some questions to get to know her better.What are you looking forward to most at PCC?I'm thrilled to bring my background in education and teaching into the library setting, where I'll have the opportunity to work with adult learners from a wide range of majors and disciplines. Collaborating with PCC instructors will not only allow me to support their students more effectively but also give me the chance to grow and learn from the expertise of those instructors. I look forward to adding my own personality and creativity to the PCC library, fostering an environment where learning is both engaging and enjoyable. Teaching and learning are true passions of mine, and I'm eager to expand on that role to help make the library a vibrant hub for discovery and growth.Do you have a favorite vacation spot?My favorite place to unwind is snuggled under the covers in a cool room with a good book in my hand. More often than not, at least one - or sometimes two - of my three children are curled up beside me, with one of our dogs resting comfortably at the foot of the bed. Who could resist all that love, cuddles, and the comfort of a soft, cozy bed?If you could be a character from any book, who would you be?I wish I could pick just one favorite book, but honestly, there are so many incredible characters and stories! I'm a nostalgic Potterhead (Go Ravenclaws!) - though if I could be in that world, I'd just want to be a part of it rather than any specific character. The same goes for Shadowhunters, Vampire Academy, and anything by Tamora Pierce - I love immersing myself in those worlds and experience the adventure alongside the characters.Do you have an unusual (interesting, quirky, rare) talent or skill?I wouldn't exactly call it a skill, but I'm pretty good at tongue twisters - Peter Piper is definitely one of my favorites to recite when someone asks. I'm also conversational in American Sign Language. While, I'm a bit rusty from when I used to teach at the Eastern North Carolina School for the Deaf in Wilson, I've retained enough to hold my own in a slow, thoughtful conversation!Anything else you would like to share with us?I am very excited to start this new journey with PCC. I hope my impact on the community is positive and meaningful. If there is anything I can do to help and support, I will be thankful for the opportunity to do so!Michelle's office is located in CWE 216. Her phone number is 493-7449 and you can reach her by email at mmyers394@my.pittcc.edu. Please be sure to say hello when you see her on campus! ...

New Books and Resources for August 2025

Check our What's New page to see a list of brand new titles available in print. JoVE Core has added a lot of new content (chapters) to their video textbooks. To explore JoVE Core and learn how to add videos to your courses, head over to our JoVE About page.New Hours Alert! Along with the rest of campus, the Library will be closing at 3 p.m. on Fridays starting this fall.Let us know if you have any questions!...

New Collection at the Library

The library is pleased to announce the addition of Saddleback Educational Publishing's Illustrated Classics! These captivating graphic novels bring timeless stories to life with vibrant illustrations and accessible storytelling. This series is perfect for English Language Learners and Emerging Readers. At just 64 pages, they are designed for quick, enjoyable reading, while still featuring key phrases and memorable quotations from the original classics. Currently, there are 25 titles to choose from, including The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Treasure Island, and The Three Musketeers. Check one out today; you can find them on the YA shelf near the Graphic Novels....

Name (Optional)

Email

Comment

Placeholder for captcha question