Student Guide to Generative AI

Using any number of generative AI tools such as Copilot, Perplexity AI, ChatGPT, etc. can be really helpful when it comes to deciding what your topic should be for a research paper. 

Remember: It’s not good for doing the actual searching because it can make up or suggest sources that don't actually exist - although some tools are getting better at this.

You can use it to help you:

• Narrow down your topic ideas
• Come up with keywords for searching in library databases
• Construct a search strategy for those databases

Here's how . . .
 

Step 1: Open your preferred AI tool.

This example was created using Microsoft Copilot. Note that you may get very different topic suggestions based on which tool you use, whether you are using the free or paid version, whether you create an account, and the prompt(s) that you enter.

• NOTE: PCC provides access to Microsoft 365 Copilot. Open the Copilot homepage (https://copilot.microsoft.com). Click "Sign In" and choose the  "Work" option. Log in using your myPittCC credentials.

Step 2: Type your prompt.

Prompt example:

• Act as an expert academic librarian. I'm writing a research paper for Psychology class and I need help coming up with a topic. I am interested in topics related to mental health and stigma in different cultures. Give me a list of 10 topic ideas related to that.

Step 3

Look through the list you are given and find one topic that you're interested in. If there isn't one, ask it to give you more topics. Keep going until you find a topic you like.

Step 4

Next, tell Copilot which of those topics you want to use and ask it about sub-topics that you can explore. Here's an example of a follow-up prompt:

• I like the topic, Cultural Competence in Mental Health Services: Bridging the Gap in Diverse Populations: Assess how culturally sensitive practices can reduce stigma and improve care outcomes. What are some sub-topics that I can explore?

It should give you some sub-topics or research questions. If it doesn't, ask for some.

Step 5

Now you can tell Copilot which research question or topic you're going to use. Ask it for some keywords to use when searching library databases.

• My research topic is going to be this: Cultural Perceptions of Mental Illness: How different cultures define, interpret, and respond to mental health conditions. Suggest at least three different cultures, people groups, or ethnicities that would be good to explore for this topic. List some keywords and search phrases I can use when searching library databases.

For this example, Copilot does indeed list three cultural groups to explore: Japanese culture, Latinx Communities, and West African cultures.

Copilot goes on to give an extensive list of keywords and search phrases for library databases. Note that it also suggests databases that you could use, but Copilot does not know what databases are actually available at your library. This is where you would need to explore PCC Library's list of databases to see what is available - or ask a librarian for suggestions.

Use the keywords and phrases it gives you to search library databases, Google Scholar, Google, etc. The search suggestions an A.I. might not always be exactly what will work in a database. It's a good idea to review basic database search tips so that you will know how best to search library databases.