Skip to main content
PCC Library Logo

Human Services

Summon Search

Advanced Search Options  |  Summon Help

Search Tips and Examples:

Use the following examples as a guide for what to type in the Summon search box:

  • "human services" AND ethics
  • "substance abuse" AND poverty
  • (interracial OR transracial OR interethnic) AND adoption

Once you have a list of results, use the options in the side bar to refine your results by date, type of resource, subject, etc.

Subject Databases

Using a database that is focused on a particular subject area can make it easier to find resources.

Example 1

If you are researching how to help military families cope with deployment, you may want to search a database that is focused on the military.

Because all of the material in the database is related to the military, possible search phrases for this topic could be:

  • families AND deployment
  • (children OR spouse) AND deployment

Example 2

If you need articles about the link between body image and depression in teenagers, you can search a psychology database. 

Search example for this topic:

  • teenagers AND "body image" AND depression

Find More Databases

From the Databases page, click All Subjects

Off-Campus Access

Paw: Indicates that a password is needed to access the resource from off campus.PCC students and staff should enter their myPittCC username and password to access online databases from off campus. Generic logins are available to community residents with PCC library cards, and others who are enrolled in or are affiliated with PCC programs and continuing education courses. Call us! (252) 493-7360

Get Articles from Other Libraries

article share iconIf PCC Library does not have a full-text article that you need, we can see if another library is able to provide it through our interlibrary loan (ILL) service. Just fill out the ILL form as completely as possible. Articles are typically e-mailed directly to you. 

Keep in mind...

  • Cost: FREE in most cases. If there is a charge we will contact you before making the request.
  • Allow 5-10 business days for processing and delivery.