Research Guides: What's New at the Library: November 2025

New Books [Print]

New titles may be shelved on the "New Books" display on the 1st floor. If you need help locating a book, please ask!

Fiction

Her One Regret by Donna Freitas
Call Number: F Fre

When successful Rhode Island real estate agent Lucy Mendoza vanishes, leaving her baby behind in a grocery store parking lot, the news quickly makes national headlines . . .
The Perfect Hosts by Heather Gudenkauf
Call Number: F Gud

Madeline and Wes Drake have invited two hundred of their closest friends and family to their sprawling horse ranch for the most anticipated event of the year: a "pistols and pearls" gender reveal party so sensational it is sure to make headlines. But the party descends into chaos when the celebratory explosive misfires . . .
The Secret Astronomers: A Novel in Notes by Jessica Walker (Illustrator)
Call Number: F Wal

When a recent transfer student starts keeping her diary in the oldest textbook at the Green Bank High School library, the last thing she expects is to receive a response. Thus begins a sweeping tale of unlikely friendship and long-buried secrets between two secret pen pals at a rural West Virginia high school . . .
Cursed Daughters by Oyinkan Braithwaite
Call Number: F Bra

A young woman must shake off a family curse and the widely held belief that she is the reincarnation of her dead cousin in this wickedly funny, brilliantly perceptive novel about love, female rivalry, and superstition . . .
The Merge by Grace Walker
Call Number: F Wal

ISBN: 9780063446731

Faced with the reality of losing her mother forever, Amelia signs them up to take part in the world's first experimental merging process for Alzheimer's patients, in which Laurie's ailing mind will be transferred into Amelia's healthy body and their consciousness will be blended as one . . .

Non-Fiction

Black-Owned: The Revolutionary Life of the Black Bookstore by Char Adams
Call Number: Z 480 .B58 A33 2025

Black-Owned celebrates the history of Black bookstores and their role as centerpieces of resistance and liberation.
The Anthony Bourdain Reader by Anthony Bourdain; Patrick Radden Keefe (Introduction by)
Call Number: PS 3552 .O8328 A6 2025

The Anthony Bourdain Reader is a collection of his best and most fascinating writing, and touches on his many pursuits and passions, from restaurant life to family life to the "low life," from TV to travel through places like Vietnam, Buenos Aires, Paris, and Shanghai.
107 Days by Kamala Harris
Call Number: E 901.1 .H37 A3 2025

For the first time, and with surprising and revealing insights, former Vice President Kamala Harris tells the story of one of the wildest and most consequential presidential campaigns in American history.
The Philosopher in the Valley: Alex Karp, Palantir, and the Rise of the Surveillance State by Michael Steinberger
Call Number: QA 76.9.D343 2025

An acclaimed New York Times Magazine writer brings us into the world of the controversial technology firm Palantir and its very colorful and outspoken CEO, Alex Karp, tracing the ascent of Big Data, the rise of surveillance technology, and the shifting global balance of power in the 21st century.

Young Adult

Black History Is Your History by Taylor Cassidy; Adriana Bellet (Illustrator)
Call Number: YA E 185.96 .C19 2025

In her debut book, Taylor takes readers on a journey through the Black history she wishes she was taught in school. With sparkling wit and humor--and lots of fun pop culture references--she paints a vibrant picture of twelve figures from Black history whose groundbreaking contributions shaped America as we know it today.
The Dysfunctional Family's Guide to Murder by Kate Emery
Call Number: YA F Eme

In this hilarious, contemporary YA whodunit, a mystery-loving teen finally gets a chance to solve a real-life crime. But solving a murder is complicated when all the prime suspects are related to you . . .
Red Threads by Ila Nguyen-Hayama
Call Number: GraNov Nguy Redt 2025

In this manga-inspired YA graphic novel, Tokyo schoolgirl Hana Suzuki's life is changed forever when she is chosen to attend Japan's premier magical academy . . .

New Database: StatPearls

The NC Community College System Office is now providing access to the StatPearls. A link to StatPearls has been added to PCC Library's A-Z Databases list. You must use your myPittCC email address to create an account in order to access this resource.

StatPearls
Includes access to radiography, sonography, and nurse aide/CNA question banks. Each question links to 4 teaching points and a corresponding evidence-based peer-reviewed article for further review/learning. Watch the User Walkthrough video for more details. Instructors can request an admin account in order to assign quizzes, questions, etc. View the tutorials on the User and Admin LMS Help page.

Flipster Magazines

Check out the November / December issues in Flipster!

Flipster
View digitized versions and flip through the pages of select magazines. The current list includes: Atlantic Monthly, TIME Magazine, Newsweek Global, How It Works, Information Today, Wired, National Geographic, Entrepreneur, Consumer Reports, and Computers in Libraries.
iOS App
To download the free Flipster app, search the iTunes app store for Flipster - Digital Magazines. The Flipster App requires iOS 10.0+.
- iOS Device Guide [PDF]
Android App
To download the free Flipster app, search the Google Play store for Flipster - Digital Magazines.
- Android Device Guide [PDF]
Learn more at the Library's About Flipster page.

Audio & E-books Just Added

Community college libraries all over N.C. are constantly adding new titles to Dogwood Digital. Check back often to see what's new.

A Fine Line Between Stupid and Clever [Audiobook] by Rob Reiner
Director Rob Reiner and cocreators Christopher Guest, Michael McKean, and Harry Shearer provide the full behind-the-scenes story of the making of the groundbreaking mockumentary This Is Spinal Tap and its upcoming sequel.
Erasing History: How Fascists Rewrite the Past to Control the Future [Audiobook] by Jason Stanley
From the bestselling author of How Fascism Works, a global call to action that tells us "why the past is a frontline in the struggle for a future free of fascism" (Jeff Sharlet, New York Times bestselling author) as it reveals the far right's efforts to rewrite history and undo a century of progress on race, gender, sexuality, and class.
Flesh [Audiobook] by David Szalay
A collection of intimate moments over the course of decades, Flesh chronicles a man at odds with himself--estranged from and by the circumstances and demands of a life not entirely under his control and the roles that he is asked to play. Shadowed by the specter of past tragedy and the apathy of modernity, the tension between István and all that alienates him hurtles forward until sudden tragedy again throws life as he knows it in jeopardy.
Good Game, No Rematch [E-book] by Mike Drucker
A hilarious and nostalgic memoir about the video games that entertain and inspire us, and even hold the power to transform our lives, from an Emmy®-nominated television writer, stand-up comedian and former writer for Nintendo.
How to Stand up to a Dictator [E-book] by Maria Ressa
From the recipient of the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize comes an impassioned and inspiring memoir that chronicles her career fighting fascism, filled with insights and advice for standing against authoritarian bullies and confronting disinformation and lies.
Hole in the Sky [Audiobook] by Daniel H. Wilson
A Native American first contact story and gripping thriller where indigenous knowledge collides with science fiction.
King Sorrow [E-book and Audiobook] by Joe Hill
A chilling tale of modern-world dangers, dark academia, and the unexpected consequences of revenge as six friends dabble in the occult and are tragically, horrifyingly successful...
Rememberings [Audiobook] by Sinéad O'Connor
In Rememberings, O'Connor recounts her painful tale of growing up in Dublin in a dysfunctional, abusive household. Inspired by a brother's Bob Dylan records, she escaped into music.
Ruth [Audiobook] by Kate Riley
Ruth is raised in a snow globe of Christian communism, a world without private property, television, or tolerance for idle questions. Every morning she braids her hair and wears the same costume, sings the same breakfast song in a family room identical to every other family room in the community; every one of these moments is meant to be a prayer, but to Ruth they remain puzzles. Her life is seen in glimpses through childhood, marriage, and motherhood, as she tries to manage her own perilous curiosity in a community built on holy mystery. Is she happy? Might this in fact be happiness? Ruth immerses us in an experience that challenges our most fervent beliefs.

See what else is new in Dogwood Digital!

Dogwood Digital Library
Borrow a mix of popular fiction and non-fiction e-books and audiobooks, comics, and graphic novels. This is a shared collection of items from many North Carolina community college libraries and may be downloaded to most computers and mobile devices. A myPittCC email account is required for access. The Leisure Reading page includes detailed instructions on how to set up Dogwood Digital and use the Libby app. to access e-books and audiobooks.