Research Guides: What's New at the Library: January 2025

New Books

These are new PRINT books located at PCC Library. If you need help finding something, please ask! If we don't have the book you need, you can request it through interlibrary loan (ILL).

NonFiction

Mastering AI by Jeremy Kahn
Call Number: Q335 .K34 2024
A Fortune magazine journalist draws on his expertise and extensive contacts among the companies and scientists at the forefront of artificial intelligence to offer dramatic predictions of AI's impact over the next decade, from reshaping our economy and the way we work, learn, and create to unknitting our social fabric, jeopardizing our democracy, and fundamentally altering the way we think.
Genesis: Artificial Intelligence, Hope, and the Human Spirit by Henry A. Kissinger; Eric Schmidt; Craig Mundie
Call Number: Q335 .K5652 2024
In his final book, the late Henry Kissinger joins forces with two leading technologists to mount "a profound exploration" (Walter Isaacson) of the epochal challenges and opportunities presented by the revolution in Artificial Intelligence: a breakthrough that dramatically empowers people in all walks of life while also raising urgent questions about the future of humanity.

Graphic Novels

Hungry Ghost by Victoria Ying
Call Number: GraNov Ying Hung 2023
A beautiful and heart-wrenching young adult graphic novel takes a look at eating disorders, family dynamics, and ultimately, a journey to self-love. Valerie Chu is quiet, studious, and above all, thin. No one, not even her best friend Jordan, knows that she has been binging and purging for years. But when tragedy strikes, Val finds herself taking a good, hard look at her priorities, her choices, and her own body. The path to happiness may lead her away from her hometown and her mother's toxic projections--but first she will have to find the strength to seek help.
Project Nought by Chelsey Furedi (Illustrator)
Call Number: GraNov Fure Proj 2023
Ren Mittal's last memory in the year 1996 is getting on a bus to visit his mystery pen pal Georgia. When he wakes up in 2122, he thinks he might be hallucinating...he's not! Tech conglomerate Chronotech sponsors a time-travel program to help students in 2122 learn what history was really like...from real-life subjects who've been transported into the future...and Ren is one of them. In 2122, Ren's life in the 1990s is practically ancient history--and Ren's not sure how to feel about that. On top of it all, he learns that his memory will be wiped of all things 2122 before he's sent back to the '90s. Adding to Ren's complicated feels, he's forming a crush on his student guide, Mars. And when he crosses paths with the absolute last person he expected to see in the future, he has a bigger problem on his hands: What if Chronotech isn't the benevolent organization they claim to be, and he and his fellow subjects are in great danger.

YA Fiction

Tangleroot by Kalela Williams
Call Number: YA F Wil
Noni Reid has grown up in the shadow of her mother, Dr. Radiance Castine, renowned scholar of Black literature, who is alarmingly perfect at just about everything. When Dr. Castine takes a job as the president of the prestigious Stonepost College in rural Virginia, Noni is forced to leave her New England home and, most importantly, a prime internship and her friends. She and her mother move into the "big house" on Tangleroot Plantation. Tangleroot was built by one of Noni's ancestors, an enslaved man named Cuffee Fortune--who Dr. Castine believes was also the original founder of Stonepost College, and that the school was originally formed for Black students. Dr. Castine spends much of her time trying to piece together enough undeniable truth in order to change the name of the school in Cuffee's honor--and to force the university to reckon with its own racist past. Meanwhile, Noni hates everything about her new home, but finds herself morbidly fascinated by the white, slaveholding family who once lived in it. Slowly, she begins to unpeel the layers of sinister history that envelop her Virginia town, her mother's workplace, her ancestry--and her life story as she knew it. Through it all, she must navigate the ancient prejudices of the citizens in her small town, and ultimately, she finds herself both affirming her mother's position and her own--but also discovering a secret that changes everything.
My Fairy God Somebody by Charlene Allen
Call Number: YA F All
The way Clae's mom tells it, her dad took off when Clae was a baby, end of story. Ever since, it's just been the two of them, living in the coastal city of Gloucester, where Clae is one of the only few Black girls. But when Clae discovers clues about a mysterious person she calls her fairy god somebody, she's determined to know more. Her chance comes when she's accepted into a summer journalism program in New York City, where her parents lived before she was born. With a couple of leads and a steel resolve, Clae leaves home for the first time to find out about her history.
Dust by Alison Stine
Call Number: YA F Sti
After her father has a premonition, Thea and her family move to the Bloodless Valley of southern Colorado, hoping to make a fresh start. But the rivers are dry, the crops are dying, and the black blizzards of Colorado have returned. Much like the barren land, Thea feels her life has stopped growing. She is barely homeschooled, forbidden from going to the library, and has no way to contact her old friends--all due to her parents' fear of the outside world's dangerous influence. But to make ends meet, Thea is allowed to work at the café in town. There, she meets Ray, who is deaf. Thea, who was born hard of hearing, has always been pushed by her parents to pass as someone who can hear. Now, with Ray secretly teaching Thea how to sign, she begins to learn what she's been missing--not just a new language but a whole community and maybe even a chance at love.

Dogwood Digital

Don't forget...

Titles both new and old are constantly being added to Dogwood Digital Library from the various community colleges around N.C. Open Dogwood Digital and scroll down to view the Just Added category.

Dogwood Digital Library
Borrow a mix of popular fiction and non-fiction e-books and audiobooks, comics, and graphic novels. This is a shared collection of items from many North Carolina community college libraries and may be downloaded to most computers and mobile devices. A myPittCC email account is required for access.
Our Leisure Reading page includes detailed instructions on how to set up Dogwood Digital and use the Libby app. to access e-books and audiobooks.

ComicsPlus

ComicsPlus is always adding new content! Look for "Just Added" on the homepage. In addition, they provide links to collections for different age groups, interests, topics, and more.

Comics Plus
ECHS & CCP Students: Students have reported not being able to access this database using Pitt County Schools (PCS) issued Chromebooks. We've submitted a ticket, but a resolution has not yet been found. The only option at this point would be to use a device not associated with PCS (such as a personal smartphone, laptop, or the computers available at PCC Library). Updated: 9/19/2024
Access digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from more than one hundred publishers. Includes full access to material for all age groups: PreK - Adult. Read the Age-Appropriate Guidelines for more detailed information. You must have a myPittCC email account in order to access this resource.

Use the ComicsPlus App to access content on your mobile device. It is available in the App Store as well as Google Play.
Learn more on the Library's ComicsPlus About page.
Comics Plus Children's Collection
Includes comics and graphic reading material for the following age groups: PreK - Grade 8/Ages 3-14. The vendor provides Age-Appropriate Guidelines with more detailed information. You must have a myPittCC email account in order to access this resource.
Use the ComicsPlus App to access content on your mobile device. It is available in the App Store as well as Google Play.
Learn more on the Library's ComicsPlus About page.

Flipster

New Issues in Flipster

Flipster
View digitized versions of select magazines: Atlantic Monthly, National Geographic, Entrepreneur, Popular Mechanics, and Consumer Reports.
iOS App
To download the free Flipster app, search the iTunes app store for Flipster - Digital Magazines. The Flipster App requires iOS 10.0+.
- iOS Device Guide [PDF]
Android App
To download the free Flipster app, search the Google Play store for Flipster - Digital Magazines.
- Android Device Guide [PDF]
Learn more at the Library's About Flipster page.

New Database: Indigenous Peoples of North America

Indigenous Peoples of North America
Cultural, political, and social history of indigenous peoples from the seventeenth to the twentieth century.

New Large Study Room

Study Room Updates

Room 214 is now available for booking as a large study room.

The VR (virtual reality) room has been relocated to 219, which is still available for booking.