Research Guides: What's New at the Library: January 2024

Image: Kirkjufell, Iceland; Cropped photo by Landon Arnold on Unsplash.

New Hours for Spring 2024

The Library will no longer open on Saturdays.

Monday -Thursday: 7:45 a.m. - 7 p.m.

Friday: 7:45 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Saturday and Sunday: CLOSED

Please visit the hours page for exceptions to the regular hours.

New Issues in Flipster

Learn more about Flipster

New Fiction on Display

Absolution by Alice McDermott
Call Number: F McD
A riveting account of women's lives on the margins of the Vietnam War. You have no idea what it was like. For us. The women, I mean. The wives. . .
America Fantastica by Tim O'Brien
Call Number: F O'B
"I'm sorry about this," he said, "but I'll have to ask you to take a ride with me." So begins the adventure of Boyd Halverson--star journalist turned notorious online disinformation troll turned JCPenney manager--and his irrepressible hostage, Angie Bing . . .
Bright Young Women by Jessica Knoll
Call Number: F Kno
Masterfully blending elements of psychological suspense and true crime, Jessica Knoll delivers a new and exhilarating thriller in Bright Young Women . . .
The Caretaker by Ron Rash
Call Number: F Ras
It's 1951 in Blowing Rock, North Carolina. Blackburn Gant, his life irrevocably altered by a childhood case of polio, seems condemned to spend his life among the dead . . .
Family Lore by Elizabeth Acevedo
Call Number: F Ace
Flor has a gift: she can predict, to the day, when someone will die . . .
Happiness Falls by Angie Kim
Call Number: F Kim
"We didn't call the police right away." Those are the electric first words of this extraordinary novel about a biracial Korean American family in Virginia whose lives are upended when their beloved father and husband goes missing . . .
Holly by Stephen King
Call Number: F Kin
Holly is on her own, and up against a pair of unimaginably depraved and brilliantly disguised adversaries . . .
Julia by Sandra Newman
Call Number: F New
Julia Worthing is a mechanic, working in the Fiction Department at the Ministry of Truth. It's 1984, and Britain has long been absorbed into the larger trans-Atlantic nation of Oceania . . .
The Leftover Woman by Jean Kwok
Call Number: F Kwo
Jasmine Yang arrives in New York City from her rural Chinese village without money or family support, fleeing a controlling husband, on a desperate search for the daughter who was taken from her at birth . . .
My Name Is Iris by Brando Skyhorse
Call Number: F Sky
Iris Prince is starting over. Then, one beautiful morning, she looks outside her kitchen window--and sees that a wall has appeared in her front yard overnight . . .
Shoot the Moon by Isa Arsén
Call Number: F Ars
An evocative debut novel about one ambitious NASA secretary's relentless drive to live and love big life in a world that would keep her small . . .
Starling House by Alix E. Harrow
Call Number: F Har
Opal is a lot of things--orphan, high school dropout, full-time cynic and part-time cashier--but above all, she's determined to find a better life for her younger brother Jasper . . .
Touched by Walter Mosley
Call Number: F Mos
Intergalactic visions, deadly threats, and explosive standoffs between mostly good and completely evil converge in a dystopian fantasy . . .
The Unmaking of June Farrow by Adrienne Young
Call Number: F You
In the small mountain town of Jasper, North Carolina, June Farrow is waiting for fate to find her . . .
The Unsettled by Ayana Mathis
Call Number: F Mat
From the moment Ava Carson and her ten-year-old son, Toussaint, arrive at the Glenn Avenue family shelter in Philadelphia 1985, Ava is already plotting a way out . . .
The Vaster Wilds by Lauren Groff
Call Number: F Gro
A taut and electrifying novel from celebrated bestselling author Lauren Groff, about one spirited girl alone in the wilderness, trying to survive . . .
The Year of Second Chances by Lara Avery
Call Number: F Ave
Robin's world is turned upside down when she receives an email informing her that her late husband has enrolled in something called "Bubbl"--a dating service. "The app subscription lasts 12 months; use it!," Gabe's message-from-the-grave reads . . .

New Catalog

We have a new library catalog!

Use the catalog to search for print books and other materials that are physically located at PCC Library.

From the Library homepage, click Find Books. There, you can use the embedded search box.

Click the Catalog Direct Link to open the catalog homepage, which provides more search options (Advanced Search and Browse the Catalog).

The catalog homepage allows you to log in to your library account where you can see what you have checked out and renew items as needed.

You can place holds on items within the catalog, just as before.

To log in, you will need to already have set up a library account. The username is your PCC student ID number and the PIN is the last four digits of the phone number you used when setting up your library account.

Please let us know if you have any questions. Happy searching!

Database Updates

Online Access

Everyone will be prompted to enter their myPittCC login credentials any time they are needing to access the Library's online resources whether they are on campus or not. You will now use your ENTIRE myPittCC email address, including @my.pittcc.edu, when logging in.
As usual, if you do not know your myPittCC password, you will need to contact the PCC Helpdesk if you are not able to update it on your own.

Canceled Databases

PCC Library did not renew access to many Gale databases. However, we still have access to Opposing Viewpoints and Gale Literature.
NC LIVE did not renew access to Gale in Context: Biography and Cypress Resume.

New Databases

PCC Library provides access to four digital magazines through Flipster, which allows you to view the entire magazine online as if you were viewing the print version.
NC LIVE now provides access to Social Explorer, which allows you to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports, and downloads. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.

A-Z List of Library Databases
View the complete list of PCC Library's databases.

About Flipster

PCC faculty, students, and staff can access select digital magazines using Flipster. Flipster is a next-generation digital newsstand that allows people to browse digital versions of the latest issues of popular magazines. Magazines can be downloaded to mobile devices for offline reading anytime, anywhere.

Flipster
View digitized versions of select magazines: National Geographic, Entrepreneur, Popular Mechanics, and Consumer Reports.

System Requirements for using Flipster [PDF]

About Social Explorer

Social Explorer
Visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports, and downloads. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.