Skip to main content

Find Articles: Find Articles on a Topic

A guide to finding articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.

A library database is a searchable, organized collection of electronic information. A database can contain any type of information, but for the most part, you will use a library database to search for articles and other research materials. Databases can cover a variety of topics or be subject specific (e.g., business, health). Library databases can be accessed off campus by logging in with your myPittCC username and password.

Search for Articles

Summon Search

Summon searches many library databases all at once. With one search, you can find articles, e-books, videos, and more.

Advanced Search

How to Use Summon

  • Type search terms into the search box and click Go.
  • Refine the results list by full-text availability, date, subject, type of resource, etc.
  • View, print, e-mail, or save the results.

General Topic Databases

If Summon gives you too many choices, it may be easier to search an individual database. The databases listed below include articles on many different topics

Subject Databases

Some databases focus on a specific subject area such as business, criminal justice, science, nursing, etc.

  • To see a complete list of the databases that are available, click the Online Databases (A-Z List) link below.
  • Once you have the Online Databases page open, click All Subjects button to see a drop-down list of subjects.
  • Click a subject area to view a list of databases.

Basic Database Search Tips

Create search phrases:

Do not use complete sentences when searching a library database.


Connect keywords with AND, OR, or NOT:

censorship AND internet

"death penalty" OR "capital punishment"

elephants NOT African


Use quotation marks to search for complete phrases:

"code of ethics"

"story of an hour"

"stamp act"


Try more than one search: 

swine flu, swine influenza, H1N1, etc.


Search for varying forms of a word:

teen* will find: teen, teens, teenager, teenagers, etc.


Check your spelling.

 

Try more than one database.

 

Ask a librarian for help!

Off-Campus Access to Online Databases

Paw: Indicates that a password is needed to access the resource from off campus.PCC students and staff should enter their myPittCC username and password to access online databases from off campus. Generic logins are available to community residents with PCC library cards, and others who are enrolled in or are affiliated with PCC programs and continuing education courses. Call us! (252) 493-7360