Skip to main content

Find Books: E-books in Library Databases

A guide to finding books in print and online.

A library database is a searchable, organized collection of electronic information. A database can contain any type of information, but you are probably most familiar with databases that include articles from journals and magazines. However, there are databases that include full-text e-books that you can read online or download to a device. Library databases can be accessed off campus by logging in with your myPittCC username and password.

Search for E-books

Summon Search

Summon searches many library databases all at once. With one search, you can find articles, e-books, videos, and more.

Advanced Search

How to Use Summon

  • Type search terms into the search box and click Go.
  • Refine the results list by full-text availability, date, subject, type of resource, etc.
  • View, print, e-mail, or save the results.

E-book Databases

Search these databases to find full-text e-books. These are general databases that cover many different topics.

Reference Books

Reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other types of books that you wouldn't really read from cover to cover. The following databases include all sorts of reference books and are great places to start your research. Essays in these databases will typically provide you with background information, or basic facts, about a topic.

Fiction & Audiobooks

Fiction e-books and audiobooks can be found in the databases listed.

More E-book Databases

Ebook Central Video Tutorial

Credo Reference Video Tutorial

Off-Campus Access to Online Databases

Paw: Indicates that a password is needed to access the resource from off campus.PCC students and staff should enter their myPittCC username and password to access online databases from off campus. Generic logins are available to community residents with PCC library cards, and others who are enrolled in or are affiliated with PCC programs and continuing education courses. Call us! (252) 493-7360