Research Guides: ACA 111 &amp; 122: College Success: College Life

Academics

PCC Library Research Guides
PCC librarians create webpages that go along with research assignments in various classes. These guides will help you find articles, books, websites, and more.
Learning Strategies [Dartmouth]
Presents a variety of suggestions and resources for maximizing your academic experience.
Tips on Reading for College [COM Library]
Tips on reading articles or books for college.
Writing Center Tips & Tools [UNC Chapel Hill]
Includes many videos, handouts, and tutorials to help answer your questions about writing.
OWL - The Purdue Online Writing Lab
This well-respected site from Purdue University gives examples of how to cite sources in various formats (MLA, APA), explains how to avoid plagiarism, includes information on grammar, and much more.

Vaccines by Age [CDC]
Information from the CDC about the various vaccines and immunizations available.
Stress [MedlinePlus]
Collection of trusted medical sites with information on how to deal with stress.

All the Difference: Young African American Men and Their College Experiences
Stories of two tough, yet promising young black men as they navigate broken homes and low-income, high-risk communities in Chicago. Although statistics predict they will drop out of high school and succumb to life on the streets both graduate and go on to college in spite of all the odds. After they graduate, the film follows them for another 6 months as they both find meaningful work in community service.
College Life: Perspectives from Students and Instructors
Topics include diversity, the proliferation of digital tools and distractions, the rise of prescription medication abuse, gaining or lacking a clear sense of purpose in college, and the likelihood—or lack thereof—of finding fulfilling work after graduation.
Sleep and the College Student
Produced by the Academic Skills Center at Dartmouth College, this concise video helps students realize the importance of sleep in staying healthy, alert, and involved.
Price of Admission: America's College Debt Crisis
This CNBC Original documentary goes inside America’s student loan industry.

Search for more videos in these library databases.

Films on Demand
This collection provides high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Linking/Embedding Issues with MS PPT
Kanopy
Streaming video service that includes documentaries and films on a variety of topics.

PrepSTEP
Provides access to both LearningExpress and PrepSTEP. Includes practice for the TEAS test, ACT, SAT, NCLEX-RN, licensing exams, developmental math and reading skills, basic computer skills, workplace skills, and more.