Read through the Basic Database Search Tips section of this page first and model your search phrases after the examples listed. If you need help with your research at any point, ask a librarian.
General article database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals, and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
General topic database that includes articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
The following steps walk you through the process of searching an article database.
Click the ProQuest Central link. It will open in a new tab.
Type the following search phrase in the database search box: internment AND Canada AND "world war II"
Click the search button.
Limit your results by source type (scholarly, magazines, or newspapers) and full text.
When you see an article you want to read, click the article title or the full text link.
Go through the list of results. Use the Preview link to see a summary and view subject terms. In this case, the subject terms listed include Japanese Canadians. It would be a good idea to write that phrase down, and then go back and search the database again later using a different search phrase that uses the phrase "Japanese Canadians."
Library databases typically provide citations for the resources they contain. Once you click to open or view an article, look around the outside borders of the article for database tools that will allow you to cite, print, e-mail, or save the article. The important thing to remember is that database citations are usually not perfect and you will need to closely inspect the citations provided. Use the Citations page on this research guide to see examples of how to cite your sources.
Look for the Cite link.
Look for the Cite link.
Look for the Citation Tools link.
