Research Guides: ENG 112: WWII Internment Camps (Clark): Start Here

What is in this guide?

Use the resources in this guide to find information about various Allied internment campus during World War II. If you need help, ask a librarian!

IMPORTANT!
Make sure that the sources you use in your projects are about internment during the Second World War (World War II).
The dates for World War II are 1939-1945.

Background Information

Read Encyclopedia Articles

Allies (World War II)
Database: Credo Reference
Internment Camps, Japanese American
Database: Credo Reference
Confinement of Enemy Aliens during Times of Domestic Crisis
Database: Credo Reference
Canada, Germans in (during World Wars I and II)
Database: Credo Reference

Search for More

Credo Reference
Collection of over 600 full-text reference books that cover thousands of topics including art, business, medicine, sociology, technology, and much more.

Search for Articles, E-books, and More

Summon Search Examples:

You can copy and paste any of these searches into the Summon search box to get started. If you need help, ask a librarian!

Japanese American internment AND relocation AND "World War II"
Japanese Canadian internment AND "World War II"
German AND civilian AND internment
"World War II" AND internment
"World War II" AND internment AND civilian AND prisoners
"World War II" AND "enemy aliens"
(Britain OR "United Kingdom") AND "enemy aliens" AND "World War II"
("World War II" OR "World War, 1939-1945") AND internment
("World War II" OR "World War, 1939-1945") AND (internment OR detainees OR "enemy aliens")

Search Tips:

Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase:

"enemy aliens"
"World War II"

Use AND to search for sources that include ALL of the terms or phrases in the search:

"Word War II" AND internment

Use OR to search for synonyms. Results will include either term or phrase, but not necessarily both:

"World War II" OR "World War, 1939-1945"

Use a combination of the above search tips. Put OR phrases in parentheses to set them apart:

("World War II" OR "World War, 1939-1945") AND "enemy aliens"

Online Access

The username and password to access databases is the same as what you use to log in to myPittCC and Moodle. The username is your entire myPittCC email address (jdstudent000@my.pittcc.edu).

Community logins are available to Pitt County residents with PCC library cards and others who are enrolled in or are affiliated with PCC programs and continuing education courses. Scroll down and look for the "Community Login" section.