MLA 9th

Author(s) of Article. “Complete Title of Article.” Complete Name of Journal, Volume Number, Issue Number, Complete Date of Publication, Page(s) Where Article Appears. Name of Database, DOI.

Click the "Cite" button next to your article information and choose "MLA 9th" to get the database-supplied citation. For this example, the following citation would come up:

Wood, Carla L., Christopher Schatschneider, and Allyssa Veldink. "The Relation Between Academic Word Use and Reading Comprehension for Students From Diverse Backgrounds." Language, Speech & Hearing Services in Schools (Online), vol. 52, no. 1, 2021, pp. 273-287. ProQuest, https://login.proxy138.nclive.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/scholarly-journals/relation-between-academic-word-use-reading/docview/2492712806/se-2, doi:https://doi.org/10.1044/2020_LSHSS-19-00099.

There are a number of errors in this database citation (highlighted in yellow). These errors appear because database-supplied citations are automatically generated and are often incorrect. Here is how it should look:

Wood, Carla L., et al. “The Relation between Academic Word Use and Reading Comprehension for Students from Diverse Backgrounds.” Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools, vol. 52, no. 1, Jan. 2021, pp. 273-87. ProQuest Central, https://doi.org/10.1044/2020_LSHSS-19-00099.

Note that either ProQuest (the database company) or ProQuest Central (the specific database name) is correct in this case.

If you use the "Cite" feature, compare your citation carefully to the example shown and change as necessary. Look at the information provided with the article itself to find anything that is missing or incorrect.

Make sure to:

Check spacing and font. Citations may not paste with the correct font. Spacing between words and/or line spacing may not be correct.

Delete and retype quote marks to match font. Even if you change your font, quote marks may not change automatically. In Times New Roman, they should not be straight.

Check page numbers. In some databases, only the first page is included in citation information. If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify complete page range.

Author(s):

• If one author: Sanford, Jason. (Last Name, First Name.)

• If two authors: Sanford, Jason, and Rita T. Maxwell. (Only first author is Last Name, First Name.)

• If three or more authors: Sanford, Jason, et al. (List first author only; et al. means "and others.")

Source Title:

• Use the complete name of your journal, magazine, or newspaper, including initial articles (e.g., The Wall Street Journal; The Journal of Finance).

• If your title includes an ampersand (&), change it to the word "and" (e.g., Better Homes & Gardens becomes Better Homes and Gardens).

Publication Date:

• Use the complete date of publication for your journal article, including the month(s) or season(s) if given (e.g., Mar.-Apr. 2015; fall 2010). Do not capitalize the name of seasons.

Page Numbering:

• If the page information for your journal, magazine, or newspaper article indicates that the article continues onto a page or pages not immediately following the first page, list only the first page and a plus sign, for example 36+ or B1+.

• If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify correct page-number range.

Database Name:

• If you found your article using a multiple-database search and are unsure of the exact database from which you got your article, you may use the database company (host) name (e.g., EBSCOhost; ProQuest).

• If you know the specific database name, you may use that instead (either choice is equally correct).

DOI:

• If a DOI is listed for your journal article, always use that instead of a URL.

• No matter how the DOI appears in your source, change it to this format: https://doi.org/10.xxxxxxxx

• Put a period after your DOI.

Supplemental Access Date:

• Note that the inclusion of an access date for articles stored in a database is not necessary, as these articles are unlikely to change. However, some instructors may prefer that you include a date of access for all your online sources. Check with your instructor if you are unsure.

Author(s) of Article. “Complete Title of Article.” Complete Name of Journal, Volume Number, Issue Number, Complete Date of Publication, Page(s) Where Article Appears. Name of Database, URL.

Click the "Cite" button next to your article and choose "MLA 9th edition" to get the database-supplied citation. For this example, the following citation would come up:

Johnson, Greg. “Gilman’s Gothic Allegory: Rage and Redemption in ‘The Yellow Wallpaper.’” Studies in Short Fiction, vol. 26, no. 4, Fall 1989, pp. 521–30. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=lkh&AN=7135846&site=ehost-live.

Note that database-supplied citations are automatically generated and are often not completely correct. Errors in this example are highlighted in yellow (the MLA 9th edition requires seasons to be in lowercase). Here is how it should look:

Johnson, Greg. “Gilman’s Gothic Allegory: Rage and Redemption in ‘The Yellow Wallpaper.’” Studies in Short Fiction, vol. 26, no. 4, fall 1989, pp. 521–30. Literary Reference Plus, login.proxy138.nclive.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=lkh&AN=7135846&site=ehost-live.

Either EBSCOhost (the database company) or Literary Reference Plus (the specific database name) is correct in this case.

Note the difference in the URL between this citation example and the one supplied by the database above. If it is important that your URL takes you back to your article, change your URL to the "permalink" (look for a link symbol beside your article information) instead of using the URL that comes up with the database citation.

If you use the "Cite" feature, compare your citation carefully to the example shown and change as necessary. Look at the information provided with the article itself to find anything that is missing or incorrect.

Make sure to:

Check spacing and font. Citations may not paste with the correct font. Spacing between words and/or line spacing may not be correct.

Delete and retype quote marks to match font. Even if you change your font, quote marks may not change automatically. In Times New Roman, they should not be straight.

Check page numbers. In some databases, only the first page is included in citation information. If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify complete page range.

Author(s):

• If one author: Sanford, Jason. (Last Name, First Name.)

• If two authors: Sanford, Jason, and Rita T. Maxwell. (Only first author is Last Name, First Name.)

• If three or more authors: Sanford, Jason, et al. (List first author only; et al. means "and others.")

Source Title:

• Use the complete name of your journal, magazine, or newspaper, including initial articles (e.g., The Wall Street Journal; The Journal of Finance).

• If your title includes an ampersand (&), change it to the word "and" (e.g., Better Homes & Gardens becomes Better Homes and Gardens).

Publication Date:

• Use the complete date of publication for your journal article, including the month(s) or season if given (e.g., Mar.-Apr. 2015; fall 2010). Do not capitalize the name of seasons.

Page Numbering:

• If the page information for your journal, magazine, or newspaper article indicates that the article continues onto a page or pages not immediately following the first page, list only the first page and a plus sign, for example 36+ or B1+.

• If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify correct page-number range.

Database Name:

• If you found your article using a multiple-database search and are unsure of the exact database from which you got your article, you may use the database company (host) name (e.g., EBSCOhost; ProQuest).

• If you know the specific database name, you may use that instead (either choice is equally correct).

URL:

• If a DOI is listed for your journal article, always use that instead of the URL.

• If no DOI is available, look for the "permalink" when copying the URL for your journal article. This is often found under a "link" symbol to the side of the article, or on the "Abstract/Details" page that comes with the article.

• You do not have to include the initial "https://" (or "http://") unless you need it to make a clickable hyperlink (test to see if it works without it).

• If your instructor does not require clickable hyperlinks, any URL that is longer than three lines (or longer than the rest of the citation) may be shortened to end after the host (database company) name (e.g., "www.proquest.com"). MLA discourages the use of URL shortening services such as bitly.com.

• Put a period at the end of your URL.

• The exact format of your database article URL depends on your instructor's preferences. Make sure you know how your instructor prefers these database-supplied URLs to appear in your Works Cited list, or whether you should include them at all.

Supplemental Access Date:

• Note that the inclusion of an access date for articles stored in a database is not necessary, as these articles are unlikely to change. However, some instructors may prefer that you include a date of access for all your online sources. Check with your instructor if you are unsure.

Author(s) of Article (if listed). “Complete Title of Article.” Complete Name of Magazine, Volume Number (if listed), Issue Number (if listed), Date of Publication, Page(s) Where Article Appears. Name of Database, URL.

Click the "Cite" button next to your article and choose "MLA 9th" to get the database-supplied citation. For this example, the following citation would come up:

Airey, Tommy. "Thirsty in Detroit." The Christian Century, vol. 133, no. 11, May 25, 2016, pp. 22-23,25-27. ProQuest, https://login.proxy138.nclive.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/magazines/thirsty-detroit/docview/1791023481/se-2.

There are a number of errors in this database citation (highlighted in yellow). These errors appear because database-supplied citations are automatically generated and are often incorrect. Here is how it should look:

Airey, Tommy. “Thirsty in Detroit.” The Christian Century, vol. 133, no. 11, 25 May 2016, pp. 22+. Research Library, login.proxy138.nclive.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/magazines/thirsty-detroit/docview/1791023481/se-2.

Note that either ProQuest (the database company) or Research Library (the specific database name) is correct in this case.

If you use the "Cite" feature, compare your citation carefully to the example shown and change as necessary. Look at the information provided with the article itself to find anything that is missing.

You will also need to:

Check spacing and font. Citations may not paste with the correct font. Spacing between words and/or line spacing may not be correct.

Delete and retype quote marks to match font. Even if you change your font, quote marks may not change automatically. In Times New Roman, they should not be straight.

Make sure page numbers are correct. All non-consecutive pages should not be listed; only the first page and a plus sign (+) should be included if pages do not directly follow each other. If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify page numbers.

Author(s):

• If one author: Sanford, Jason. (Last Name, First Name.)

• If two authors: Sanford, Jason, and Rita T. Maxwell. (Only first author is Last Name, First Name.)

• If three or more authors: Sanford, Jason, et al. (List first author only; et al. means "and others.")

No Author:

• If no author is listed for your article, start your citation with the article title.

Source Title:

• Use the complete name of your journal, magazine, or newspaper, including initial articles (e.g. The Wall Street Journal; The Journal of Finance).

• If your title includes an ampersand (&), change it to the word "and" (e.g., Better Homes & Gardens becomes Better Homes and Gardens).

Volume and Issue Number:

• If you see a volume and issue number included with your source information you may add these; if you do not see a volume and issue number listed just move on to the publication date.

Page Numbering:

• If the page information for your journal, magazine, or newspaper article indicates that the article continues onto a page or pages not immediately following the first page, list only the first page and a plus sign, for example 36+ or B1+.

• If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify correct page-number range.

Database Name:

• If you found your article using a multiple-database search and are unsure of the exact database from which you got your article, you may use only the database company name (e.g., EBSCOhost; ProQuest).

• If you know the specific database name, you may use that instead (either choice is equally correct).

URL:

• Look for the "permalink" when copying the URL for your magazine or newspaper article. This is often found under a "link" symbol to the side of the article, or on the "Abstract/Details" page that comes with the article.

• You do not have to include the initial "https://" (or "http://") unless you need it to make a clickable hyperlink (test to see if it works without it).

• If your instructor does not require clickable hyperlinks, any URL that is longer than three lines (or longer than the rest of the citation) may be shortened to end after the host (database company) name (e.g., "www.proquest.com"). MLA discourages the use of URL shortening services such as bitly.com.

• Put a period at the end of your URL.

• The exact format of your database article URL depends on your instructor's preferences. Make sure you know how your instructor prefers these database-supplied URLs to appear in your Works Cited list, or whether you should include them at all.

Supplemental Access Date:

• Note that the inclusion of an access date for articles stored in a database is not necessary, as these articles are unlikely to change. However, some instructors may prefer that you include a date of access for all your online sources. Check with your instructor if you are unsure.

Author(s) of Article (if listed). “Complete Title of Article.” Complete Name of Newspaper, Date of Publication, Page(s) Where Article Appears. Name of Database, URL.

Click the "Cite" button next to your article and choose "MLA 9th edition" to get the database-supplied citation. For this example, the following citation would come up:

Stuart, Reginald. “President Emeritus of Famed Tennessee State University. (Cover Story).” Tennessee Tribune, vol. 26, no. 36, 3 Sept. 2015, p. 1A–10A. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=n5h&AN=109381237&site=ehost-live.

Note that database-supplied citations are automatically generated and are often not completely correct. Errors in this example are highlighted in yellow. Here is how it should look:

Stuart, Reginald. “President Emeritus of Famed Tennessee State University.” The Tennessee Tribune, 3 Sept. 2015, pp. 1A+. Newspaper Source Plus, login.proxy138.nclive.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=n5h&AN=109381237&site=ehost-live.

It is not incorrect to include the volume and issue number for a newspaper source (but is uncommon). In this case, either EBSCOhost (the database company) or Newspaper Source Plus (the specific database name) is correct for the database name.

Note the difference in the URL between this citation example and the one supplied by the database above. If it is important that your URL takes you back to your article, change your URL to the "permalink" (look for a link symbol beside your article information) instead of using the URL that comes up with the database citation

If you use the "Cite" feature, compare your citation carefully to the example shown and change as necessary. Look at the information provided with the article itself to find anything that is missing.

You will also need to:

Check spacing and font. Citations may not paste with the correct font. Spacing between words and/or line spacing may not be correct.

Delete and retype quote marks to match font. Even if you change your font, quote marks may not change automatically. In Times New Roman, they should not be straight.

Make sure page numbers are correct. All non-consecutive pages should not be listed; only the first page and a plus sign (+) should be included if pages do not directly follow each other. If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify page numbers.

Author(s):

• If one author: Sanford, Jason. (Last Name, First Name.)

• If two authors: Sanford, Jason, and Rita T. Maxwell. (Only first author is Last Name, First Name.)

• If three or more authors: Sanford, Jason, et al. (List first author only; et al. means "and others.")

No Author:

• If no author is listed for your article, start your citation with the article title.

Source Title:

• Use the complete name of your journal, magazine, or newspaper, including initial articles (e.g. The Wall Street Journal; The Journal of Finance).

• If your title includes an ampersand (&), change it to the word "and" (e.g., Better Homes & Gardens becomes Better Homes and Gardens).

Volume and Issue Number:

• It is not incorrect to add a volume and issue number for a newspaper source if these are listed, but it is uncommon for this to appear in a newspaper article citation.

Page Numbering:

• If the page information for your journal, magazine, or newspaper article indicates that the article continues onto a page or pages not immediately following the first page, list only the first page and a plus sign, for example 36+ or B1+.

• If a PDF (page image) version of the article is available, use that to verify correct page-number range.

Database Name:

• If you found your article using a multiple-database search and are unsure of the exact database from which you got your article, you may use only the database company name (e.g., EBSCOhost; ProQuest).

• If you know the specific database name, you may use that instead (either choice is equally correct).

URL:

• Look for the "permalink" when copying the URL for your magazine or newspaper article. This is often found under a "link" symbol to the side of the article, or on the "Abstract/Details" page that comes with the article.

• You do not have to include the initial "https://" (or "http://") unless you need it to make a clickable hyperlink (test to see if it works without it).

• If your instructor does not require clickable hyperlinks, any URL that is longer than three lines (or longer than the rest of the citation) may be shortened to end after the host (database company) name (e.g., "www.proquest.com"). MLA discourages the use of URL shortening services such as bitly.com.

• Put a period at the end of your URL.

• The exact format of your database article URL depends on your instructor's preferences. Make sure you know how your instructor prefers these database-supplied URLs to appear in your Works Cited list, or whether you should include them at all.

Supplemental Access Date:

• Note that the inclusion of an access date for articles stored in a database is not necessary, as these articles are unlikely to change. However, some instructors may prefer that you include a date of access for all your online sources. Check with your instructor if you are unsure.

Author(s) of Article (if listed). “Complete Title of Article.” Name of Website, Publisher(s) of Website (unless same as website name), Date of Publication (if listed), URL of Article.

Author(s):

• If one author: Sanford, Jason. (Last Name, First Name.)

• If two authors: Sanford, Jason, and Rita T. Maxwell. (Only first author is Last Name, First Name.)

• If three or more authors: Sanford, Jason, et al. (List first author only; et al. means "and others.")

No Author:

• If no author of any kind is listed for your article, start your citation with the article title.

Group Author:

• If no individual author is listed, and your website is sponsored by an organization/group that is not also the site's publisher, give author credit to the organization/group: 

  • American Library Association's Office for Intellectual Freedom. "Top 100 Most Banned and Challenged Books: 2010-2019." Banned and Challenged Books, American Library Association, 9 Sept. 2020, www.ala.org/advocacy/bbooks/frequentlychallengedbooks/decade2019.

• When a non-government organization/group is both the author and the publisher, start with the article title (as you do when there is no author), and list the organization/group as publisher only:

  • "How Do I Access a Source That Requires a Paid Subscription?" MLA Style Center, Modern Language Association of America, 10 Nov. 2021, style.mla.org/sources-that-require-paid-subscriptions.

(For those publishers that are also the same as the website name, see Publisher below.)

• If your group name includes an initial article (a, an, the), do not include it in your citation.

Government Agency as Author:

• If no individual author is listed and your website is sponsored by a government agency, list as author the agency that looks to be responsible for the site content, just as it appears on the site:  

  • U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. "Photographers." Occupational Outlook Handbook, U.S. Department of Labor, 8 Sept. 2021, www.bls.gov/ooh/media-and-communication/photographers.htm.

(Note that the parent agency is given credit as the site publisher in this case.)

Publisher:

• Look for the publisher(s) at the bottom of the webpage (often beside a copyright symbol), or on the “About Us” page on the site.

• If the publisher of your website is essentially the same as the name of the website, you do not need to include it (e.g., the Fox News site is published by Fox News Network, so no need to include this publisher).

• If you cannot find a publisher listed on the site, it is likely the same as the website name, so skip it and move on to the date of publication.

• If more than one publisher appears to share equal responsibility for the site, include all publisher names separated by a forward slash: U of Nebraska / AGBIOS.

No Publication Date:

• You may use the "updated," "modified," revised," or "reviewed" date if one is listed.

• If you cannot find any kind of publication date for your article, skip it and move on to the URL (do not use the site copyright date that is often found at the bottom of the page).

• In the case of no publication date, the addition of an access date is recommended (see below).

URL:

• Look for a "permalink" when copying the URL for your web article. This might be found by clicking on "Share" or sometimes "Cite" if you see any of these options. If you cannot find a permalink, copy the URL from your web browser at the top of your screen.
• Omit the initial "http://" when inserting your URL (unless you need it to make a clickable hyperlink; test to see if it works without it).

• Omit the final slash ("/"), unless you need it to make a clickable hyperlink.

• Put a period at the end of your URL.

Supplemental Access Date:

• As web publications can change or disappear, you should add your date of access after the URL if you feel your site might be altered or may be removed, and when no publication date is listed for your article:

  • Trottier, Lisa. “Moms Speak Up on How They Save." BabyCenter, www.babycenter.com/family/money/moms-speak-up-on-how-they-save_10357056. Accessed 22 July 2021.

Author(s) of Article. “Complete Title of Article.” Complete Name of Journal, Volume Number, Issue Number, Complete Date of Publication, Page(s) Where Article Appears.

Author(s):

• If one author: Sanford, Jason. (Last Name, First Name.)

• If two authors: Sanford, Jason, and Rita T. Maxwell. (Only first author is Last Name, First Name.)

• If three or more authors: Sanford, Jason, et al. (List first author only; et al. means "and others.")

Source Title:

• Use the complete name of your journal, magazine, or newspaper, including initial articles (e.g., The Wall Street Journal; The Journal of Finance).

• If your title includes an ampersand (&), change it to the word "and" (e.g., Better Homes & Gardens becomes Better Homes and Gardens).

Publication Date:

• Use the complete date of publication for your journal article, including the month(s) or season if given (e.g., Mar.-Apr. 2015; fall 2010). Do not capitalize the name of seasons.

Page Numbering:

• If your journal, magazine, or newspaper article continues onto a page or pages not immediately following the first page, list only the first page and a plus sign, for example 36+ or B1+.

Author(s) of Article (if listed). “Complete Title of Article.” Complete Name of Magazine, Volume Number (if listed), Issue Number (if listed), Date of Publication, Page(s) Where Article Appears.

Author(s):

• If one author: Sanford, Jason. (Last Name, First Name.)

• If two authors: Sanford, Jason, and Rita T. Maxwell. (Only first author is Last Name, First Name.)

• If three or more authors: Sanford, Jason, et al. (List first author only; et al. means "and others.")

No Author:

• If no author is listed for your article, start your citation with the article title.

Source Title:

• Use the complete name of your journal, magazine, or newspaper, including initial articles (e.g., The Wall Street Journal; The Journal of Finance).

• If your title includes an ampersand (&), change it to the word "and" (e.g., Better Homes & Gardens becomes Better Homes and Gardens).

Volume and Issue Number:

• If you see a volume and issue number included with your source information you may add these; if you do not see a volume and issue number listed just move on to the publication date.

Page Numbering:

• If your journal, magazine, or newspaper article continues onto a page or pages not immediately following the first page, list only the first page and a plus sign, for example 36+ or B1+.

Author(s) of Article (if listed). “Complete Title of Article.” Complete Name of Newspaper, Date of  Publication, Page(s) Where Article Appears.

Author(s):

• If one author: Sanford, Jason. (Last Name, First Name.)

• If two authors: Sanford, Jason, and Rita T. Maxwell. (Only first author is Last Name, First Name.)

• If three or more authors: Sanford, Jason, et al. (List first author only; et al. means "and others.")

No Author:

• If no author is listed for your article, start your citation with the article title.

Source Title:

• Use the complete name of your journal, magazine, or newspaper, including initial articles (e.g. The Wall Street Journal; The Journal of Finance).

• If your title includes an ampersand (&), change it to the word "and" (e.g., Better Homes & Gardens becomes Better Homes and Gardens).

Volume and Issue Number:

• It is not incorrect to add a volume and issue number for a newspaper source if these are listed, but it is uncommon for this to appear in a newspaper article citation.

Page Numbering:

• If your journal, magazine, or newspaper article continues onto a page or pages not immediately following the first page, list only the first page and a plus sign, for example 36+ or B1+.