Research Guides: World Cultures: Find Sources

Start Searching

Summon doesn't have everything! Check out the tabs below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.

Find Sources

Article Icon

Also known as scholarly, refereed, peer reviewed, or academic articles.

Why use journal articles?

Current: include current information and have a frequent publication cycle
Written by Scholars - based on research and expertise
Focused - detailed and focused on a narrow topic
Peer-Reviewed - reviewed and approved by subject area experts before publication

Search for Journal Articles

Below are examples of two subject databases that include journal articles, as well as other types of resources. If you only need journal articles, look for links that narrow your results list to only include academic or scholarly articles.

India Database
Search example: arts AND culture
Since this database is titled India you may opt to leave the country name out of your search phrase.

ProQuest Search Results

Search for More

Article Databases (Global & Cultural Studies)
View a list of databases that cover global topics. Look for databases that focus on the country or region you are researching.

Books Icon In general, be sure to use books written for an academic or scholarly audience instead of those written for a popular audience.

Why use books?

Depth - provide in-depth analysis of a topic
Broad Coverage - provide broad coverage over one or more topics
Comprehension - can help you understand a complex topic; books are easier to read than journal articles

Remember!

You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book.
Books contain less recent information due to the lengthy publication process.

Featured Books:

Art in the Eurasian Iron Age by Courtney Nimura (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020
Database: Ebook Central
This volume explores Iron Age art at different scales and specifically considers the long-distance connections, mutual influences and shared 'ways of seeing' that link Celtic Art to other art traditions across northern Eurasia. It brings together 13 papers on varied subjects such as animal and human imagery, technologies of production and the design theory behind Iron Age art, balancing pan-Eurasian scale commentary with regional and site scale studies and detailed analyses of individual objects, as well as introductory and summary papers.
Living Ethnomusicology by Margaret Sarkissian; Ted Solis
Publication Date: 2019
Database: eBook Community College Collection
Ethnomusicologists have journeyed from Bali to Morocco to the depths of Amazonia to chronicle humanity's relationship with music. Margaret Sarkissian and Ted Solís guide us into the field's last great undiscovered country: ethnomusicology itself. Drawing on fieldwork based on person-to-person interaction, the authors provide a first-ever ethnography of the discipline. The unique collaborations produce an ambitious exploration of ethnomusicology's formation, evolution, practice, and unique identity.
The Trendmakers by Jenny Lantz
Publication Date: 2016
Database: eBook Community College Collection
Numerous tastemakers exist in and between fashion production and consumption, from designers and stylists to trend forecasters, buyers, and journalists. How and why are each of these players bound up in the creation and dispersion of trends? In what ways are consumers' relations to trends constructed by these individuals and organizations? This book explores the social significance of trends in the global fashion industry through interviews with these 'fashion intermediaries', offering new insights into their influential roles in the setting and shaping of trends.

Search for Books:

Search for Library Books
Use the Library Catalog to search for print books located at PCC Library.
Search for E-books
View the options for finding full-text e-books that you can read online.

Video icon Videos from reputable publishers are great resources for learning more about a topic. The library provides several databases that include streaming videos, animations, and tutorials.

Why use videos?

Visualize scientific concepts
Get first-person accounts from scientists and researchers
Download and search transcripts
Skip to video segments that are related to your topic

Search for Videos

Films on Demand
This collection provides high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Linking/Embedding Issues with MS PPT
Kanopy
Streaming video service that includes documentaries and films on a variety of topics.

Online Access

The username and password to access databases is the same as what you use to log in to myPittCC and Moodle. The username is your entire myPittCC email address (jdstudent000@my.pittcc.edu).

Community logins are available to Pitt County residents with PCC library cards and others who are enrolled in or are affiliated with PCC programs and continuing education courses. Scroll down and look for the "Community Login" section.