There are two new library tutorials for allied health students:
1. Video tutorial about PCC Library Health Sciences Resources
2. Resarch guide on how to create a PICO(T) Question
View more PCC Library Tutorials.
Have a suggestion for a new tutorial? Please let us know at pittref@email.pittcc.edu
Evan Schmoll
The library is excited to announce our new addition, Michelle Myers. Michelle is the Reference & Instruction Librarian at PCC Library who started on August 15. We asked Michelle some questions to get to know her better.
What are you looking forward to most at PCC?
I'm thrilled to bring my background in education and teaching into the library setting, where I'll have the opportunity to work with adult learners from a wide range of majors and disciplines. Collaborating with PCC instructors will not only allow me to support their students more effectively but also give me the chance to grow and learn from the expertise of those instructors. I look forward to adding my own personality and creativity to the PCC library, fostering an environment where learning is both engaging and enjoyable. Teaching and learning are true passions of mine, and I'm eager to expand on that role to help make the library a vibrant hub for discovery and growth.
Do you have a favorite vacation spot?
My favorite place to unwind is snuggled under the covers in a cool room with a good book in my hand. More often than not, at least one - or sometimes two - of my three children are curled up beside me, with one of our dogs resting comfortably at the foot of the bed. Who could resist all that love, cuddles, and the comfort of a soft, cozy bed?
If you could be a character from any book, who would you be?
I wish I could pick just one favorite book, but honestly, there are so many incredible characters and stories! I'm a nostalgic Potterhead (Go Ravenclaws!) - though if I could be in that world, I'd just want to be a part of it rather than any specific character. The same goes for Shadowhunters, Vampire Academy, and anything by Tamora Pierce - I love immersing myself in those worlds and experience the adventure alongside the characters.
Do you have an unusual (interesting, quirky, rare) talent or skill?
I wouldn't exactly call it a skill, but I'm pretty good at tongue twisters - Peter Piper is definitely one of my favorites to recite when someone asks. I'm also conversational in American Sign Language. While, I'm a bit rusty from when I used to teach at the Eastern North Carolina School for the Deaf in Wilson, I've retained enough to hold my own in a slow, thoughtful conversation!
Anything else you would like to share with us?
I am very excited to start this new journey with PCC. I hope my impact on the community is positive and meaningful. If there is anything I can do to help and support, I will be thankful for the opportunity to do so!
Michelle's office is located in CWE 216. Her phone number is 493-7449 and you can reach her by email at mmyers394@my.pittcc.edu. Please be sure to say hello when you see her on campus!
Angela Davis
Let us know if you have any questions!
Evan Schmoll
The library is pleased to announce the addition of Saddleback Educational Publishing's Illustrated Classics! These captivating graphic novels bring timeless stories to life with vibrant illustrations and accessible storytelling. This series is perfect for English Language Learners and Emerging Readers. At just 64 pages, they are designed for quick, enjoyable reading, while still featuring key phrases and memorable quotations from the original classics. Currently, there are 25 titles to choose from, including The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Treasure Island, and The Three Musketeers. Check one out today; you can find them on the YA shelf near the Graphic Novels.
Angela Davis
Twice a year, Films on Demand (library database) removes titles that have been discontinued. Titles are removed because producers have lost rights to distribute a title or have found the material to be out of date.
ATTENTION INSTRUCTORS! If you have links to any Films on Demand content in your Moodle course(s), please check the list below to see if your film has been discontinued. Titles will be removed from the collection on or about June 30, 2025. The library has no way of knowing who has linked to films, so it is up to you to check its status.
If you have any questions, or you find that a video you use has been discontinued, but you still want to use it, please contact Leigh Russell, Library Director (lmrussell086@my.pittcc.edu) or Angela Davis, Librarian (asdavis688@my.pittcc.edu). We will help you figure out if the film is available from an altnerate source or help you find a possible replacement.
NOTE: The Films on Demand database is provided by NC LIVE. It is not a product purchased by PCC Library.
Angela Davis
There are so many new books and magazines to choose from right now! We have a fresh batch of print books that have just hit the shelves along with several new additions to Flipster (TIME, Newsweek, Reader's Digest, etc.). Not to mention that Dogwood Digital is constantly growing with new fiction, non-fiction, comics, graphic novels, and even test prep and study guides.
The only problem is that there aren't but so many hours in a day. Head on over to our What's New guide to get all the details.
Happy Reading!
To our Star Wars fans, we wish you a happy Star Wars day (May 4th). The ComicsPlus database includes many Star Wars stories both new and old.
Speaking of things that are new… see What's New at the library for May!
The Pitt County Schools Early College High School Battle of the Books (HBOB) team is building quite the legacy. Each year, these very busy students somehow find the time to read multiple books in order to compete against the the other high schools across Pitt County. It's like trivia, but all the questions come from a list of 16 books! Students must be familiar with the books and have the titles and authors memorized. This year's team came in third place. This was no easy task, and we are very proud of their hard work and dedication! Reading for the next competition (that takes place each spring) begins as soon as the previous competition is done. You can visit our HBOB page for the current reading list. Keep up the good work! Go Wolves!
The ECHS 2024-2025 HBOB team placed 3rd in competition on March 31st, 2025, at South Central HS. Pictured are Brianna Barnes, Austin Ju, Phoenyx Leaks, Gabriela Washington, Anna Cauthon, Celia Bansah, Jamaria Barrow, Victoria Wright, and Amanda Diaz. Coaches (not pictured) were Evan Schmoll (PCC Library), Natasha Martin (ECHS), and Angela Davis (PCC Library).
PubMed is a free web-based interface for searching MEDLINE, which is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains millions of references to journal articles in life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
Check out these PubMed tutorials…
Did you know…?
You can see all of PCC library’s health resources on one page. Need help searching? Ask us!
AI tools are not library databases. AI tools lack the curated precision of traditional databases but can provide quick answers and facilitate exploratory research. Some AI tools can assist in locating sources, but library databases remain the most reliable repositories of authoritative and scholarly information. A number of AI tools are paired with databases, or there are other forms of overlap, so it is important to understand the underlying mechanisms and content available through a tool or database. To ensure you are using the right tools and resources, ask a librarian.
Databases
Databases, such as library catalogs and scholarly databases provided by EBSCO, ProQuest, and Gale, are structured collections of information designed for precise retrieval and accountability. They are built with indexing, categorization, and metadata to ensure that users can locate specific resources, such as peer-reviewed articles, books, or data sets. Their reliability stems from the curation of content by experts and the use of standardized search mechanisms. Database users benefit from gaining specific knowledge of search techniques, such as Boolean logic and subject headings, which can be supported by consultations with librarians.
AI Tools
AI tools, such as natural language processing models and machine learning algorithms, are dynamic systems designed for a multitude of purposes. For the tools designed to locate sources of information, their methods for locating those materials or ensuring quality may not be readily transparent. Their strength lies in their adaptability and power to interpret natural language, making them accessible to users without specialized search expertise. However, most AI tools cannot guarantee the accuracy or source of their output.
AI Tools Integrated into Databases
Several library databases are now incorporating AI tools, which essentially act as a research companion with AI-powered suggestions and insights. They enhance the user experience by combining the precision of traditional database systems with the dynamic capabilities of artificial intelligence. Their services range and may include:
Examples include:
Learn more about AI by exploring these research guides: Artificial Intelligence and Student Guide to Generative AI
Attribution: The content used in this post is from Artificial Intelligence: AI Tools vs. Databases and has been used with permission from Mary Rubin, Lily Dubach, and Lauren Kehoe, librarians at UCF Libraries. It has been modified to incorporate information specific to Pitt Community College.