Research Guides: Fieldwork Educator Resources (OTA): Patient Education

Internet Resources

MedlinePlus
Authoritative medical information for professionals and consumers in English and Spanish.
Health Information (NIH)
Health information from the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Health & Education (NIMH)
Mental health information from the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH).

DailyMed
DailyMed provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.
GoodRx
GoodRx gathers current prices and discounts to help you find the lowest cost pharmacy for your prescriptions.

Eat Right
Nutrition education resource from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

MedlinePlus: Health Information in Multiple Languages
Health education materials in various languages and formats (brochures, handouts, audio recordings, and videos).

National Cancer Institute
Includes patient education resources covering topics such as types of cancer, cancer basics, diagnosis, treatment, etc.
NORD for Patients and Families
NORD (National Organization for Rare Disorders) includes rare disease information, resources, and FAQs.

Health Source - Consumer Edition
Collection of consumer health information providing access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.
Consumer Health Database
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.
STAT!Ref (via TDS Health)
Includes AAFP Conditions, which is a patient education resource.