Summon doesn't have everything! Check out the tabs below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.
Also known as scholarly, refereed, peer reviewed, or academic articles.
There are databases dedicated to whole subject areas, and often include major academic journals from those disciplines. Use the filters to limit your results fro scholaraly or peer reviewed journals.
Article database that covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
General or multdisciplinary databases are usually very large databases that include journals from many disciplines (subject areas).
General topic database that includes articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
General article database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals, and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
In general, be sure to use books written for an academic or scholarly audience instead of those written for a popular audience.
Literary Criticism refers to the act of interpreting and studying literature.
Using library resources, you will put the literary work in its context, meaning you need to say something about the author, his or her life, and why he or she wrote that particular literary work.
Comprehensive coverage of critical essays from the Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Poetry Criticism series.
In this database, enter the title of your text and "search."
To the left, you will see "Explore," and "Literary Criticisms" listed below.
Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews.
Enter your title, and hit "search." On the left, under "Content Type," click "Criticism."
Then, apply filters.
There are pro and con sources that present facts along with expert commentary and analysis. There are also sources that have a specific bias and are trying to persuade the reader (you) of a specific point of view.
The databases and web sites below specialize in presenting sources for understanding issues from different sides of an argument or issue.
Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and more on various controversial topics.
Contains more than 380 core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
SIRS Issues Researcher provides authoritative insight into the most-studied social issues by delivering the pros and cons from relevant, credible documents, and graphics selected by trained editors and curated from over 2,000 global sources.
The username and password to access databases from off campus is the same as what you use to access the PCC portal (myPittCC) and Moodle. DO NOT include the last part of your email address (@my.pittcc.edu) in the username. Generic logins are available to community residents with PCC library cards, and others who are enrolled in or are affiliated with PCC programs and continuing education courses. Have questions? Ask us!
