Also known as scholarly, refereed, peer reviewed, or academic articles.
Journal of Folklore Research
Journal of American Folklore
Features hundreds of titles covering art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre and cultural studies.
Provides access to a smaller collection of full-text JSTOR e-books, journal articles, and primary sources. This is not the complete JSTOR online collection. Citations are included for items we may be able to borrow through our interlibrary loan service.
General topic database that includes articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
In general, be sure to use books written for an academic or scholarly audience instead of those written for a popular audience.
The Witch Must Die: The Hidden Meanings of Fairy Tales by 
The Great Fairy Tale Tradition by 
The Annotated Brothers Grimm by 
Videos from reputable publishers are great resources for learning more about a topic. The library provides several databases that include streaming videos, animations, and tutorials.
This collection provides high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Linking/Embedding Issues with MS PPT
Make sure that you carefully evaluate information that you find on the internet. If you are not sure about a source, ask a librarian for help!
Look for college or university websites that recommend sources for research. Add site:.edu to your internet search.
Search for government sites (museums, archives, etc.) by adding site:.gov to your internet search.
Learn more about how to search the internet.
Summon search many (but not all) of the Library's online databases. It's a good way to get started, but sometimes the results can be a bit overwhelming. It's a good idea to review the Search Tips page to search more efficiently.
Interlibrary loan (ILL) is a service that allows a user from one library to borrow materials from another library. Materials are physically mailed to the requesting library where the user can then view or check out the materials.
Allow at least 5-10 business days for delivery of items. You will be contacted by phone or e-mail once the items have arrived.
