Leisure Reading

This is a rotating collection of newer popular fiction and nonfiction titles from recent "best of" reading lists. They are easy to spot, because they have green labels on the spine.

Browse the Leased Books

You will find leased books in a few different places:

• 1st floor display - includes brand new arrivals
• 2nd floor - fiction is on the last two shelves after the General Collection (mixed in with non-leased fiction books); nonfiction is mixed in with books in the General Collection (just ask!)

Fiction: 

Look for the green labels.

• Shelved alphabetically by author's last name
• Example call number: F Kin

  F = Fiction
  Kin = First three letters of the author's last name

Nonfiction (including biographies and autobiographies):

 Look for the green labels.

• Shelved in the General Collection along with non-leased books
• These have "regular" (LC) call numbers--example:
  • Title: The Light We Carry: Overcoming in Uncertain Times
  • Author: Michelle Obama
  • Call number: E 909 .O24 A3 2022
• Ask if you need help locating these books

Search the Catalog

Search for a specific book or author:

1. In the Library Catalog search box on this page, type the title or the author's name.
2. Click Search.
3. If you do not see the book listed, you can ask a librarian for help locating the book in another format (e-book or audiobook), or borrowing it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Literary fiction can be described as "serious" fiction or fiction that does not easily fit into a genre such as romance or science fiction.

Browse for Literary Fiction

• Shelved in the General Collection and will typically have call numbers that start with the letters PN, PQ, PR, or PS
• Author biographies and commentaries are often shelved alongside the novels
• Example: ​​​​​​
  • Title: And the Mountains Echoed 
  • Author: Khaled Hosseini
  • Call number: PS 3608 .O832 A53 2013

Search the Catalog

See a list of fiction titles shelved in the General Collection:

1. In the Library Catalog Search box on this page, click Catalog Direct Link.
2. Click Power Search.
3. Beside Subject, type the word fiction.
4. Beside location, choose General Collection from the drop-down menu.
5. Click Search.

The fiction collection consists of "reading for fun" fiction from all genres.

Browse Fiction

The Fiction section is located on the last two shelves after the General Collection. 

• Shelved in alphabetical order by author's last name
• Example call number: F Kin
  F = Fiction
  Kin = first three letters of the author's last name

Search the Catalog

You can search by title or author using the Library Catalog Search box at the top of this page. To find a list of titles in the Fiction section, follow these steps:

1. In the Library Catalog Search box on this page, click Catalog Direct Link.
2. Click Power Search.
3. Beside location, choose Fiction books from the drop-down menu.
4. Click Search.