Research Guides: What's New at the Library: October 2025

Modified photo by Danil Зakhvatkin on Unsplash

New Books

New titles may be shelved on the "New Books" display on the 1st floor. If you need help locating a book, please ask!

Fiction

One of Us by Dan Chaon
Call Number: F Cha

A chilling and imaginative historical thriller about thirteen-year-old psychic twins, Bolt and Eleanor, who escape their violent uncle and find shelter in a traveling carnival full of eccentric performers. As they journey across 1915 America, they discover a new kind of family—but danger follows close behind. A celebration of outsiders and the strange beauty of belonging, this novel is perfect for fans of literary horror and dark adventure.
What We Can Know by Ian McEwan
Call Number: F McE

A sweeping literary mystery that spans centuries. In 2014, a poet’s tribute to his wife—an enigmatic poem called A Corona for Vivien—vanishes, sparking decades of speculation. By 2119, a scholar in a flooded, post-apocalyptic England becomes obsessed with finding the lost poem. His search uncovers a tangled story of love, betrayal, and a long-buried crime. This haunting novel explores memory, language, and the enduring power of art in a world transformed.
The Academy by Elin Hilderbrand; Shelby Cunningham
Call Number: F Hil

A sharp, entertaining look at elite boarding school life. When Tiffin Academy unexpectedly ranks #2 in the nation, its students and staff are stunned—and soon scandal erupts. A mysterious app begins leaking secrets, exposing influencers, teachers, and administrators alike. As friendships shift and reputations crumble, everyone at Tiffin must confront what they’re hiding. A witty, drama-filled novel perfect for fans of campus intrigue and contemporary fiction.

Nonfiction

Articulate: A Dear Memoir of Voice by Rachel Kolb
Call Number: HV 2534 .K65 A3 2025

A deaf writer's exploration of language, communication, and what it means to be articulate--and her journey to reclaim her voice Rachel Kolb was born profoundly deaf the same year that the Americans with Disabilities Act was passed, and she grew up as part of the first generation of deaf people with legal rights to accessibility services. Still, from a young age, she contorted herself to expectations set by a world that prioritizes hearing people. So even while she found clarity and meaning in American Sign Language (ASL) and written literature, she learned to speak through speech therapy and to piece together missing sounds through lipreading and an eventual cochlear implant. Now, in Articulate, Kolb blends personal narrative with commentary to explore the different layers of deafness, language, and voice.
We the People: A History of the U.S. Constitution by Jill Lepore
Call Number: KF 4541 .L47 2025

The U.S. Constitution is among the oldest constitutions in the world but also one of the most difficult to amend. Jill Lepore, Harvard professor of history and law, explains why in We the People, the most original history of the Constitution in decades--and an essential companion to her landmark history of the United States, These Truths. Published on the occasion of the 250th anniversary of the nation's founding--the anniversary, too, of the first state constitutions--We the People offers a wholly new history of the Constitution.
Listening to the Law: Reflections on the Court and Constitution by Amy Coney Barrett
Call Number: KF 8745.B39 A3 2025

Since her confirmation hearing, Americans have peppered Justice Amy Coney Barrett with questions. How has she adjusted to the Court? What is it like to be a Supreme Court justice with school-age children? Do the justices get along? What does her normal day look like? How does the Court get its cases? How does it decide them? How does she decide? In Listening to the Law, Justice Barrett answers these questions and more. She lays out her role (and daily life) as a justice, touching on everything from her deliberation process to dealing with media scrutiny.

Young Adult

The Golden Boy's Guide to Bipolar by Sonora Reyes
Call Number: YA F Rey

Seventeen-year-old Cesar Flores is finally ready to win back his ex-boyfriend. Since breaking up with Jamal in a last-ditch effort to stay in the closet, he's come out to Mami, his sister, Yami, and their friends, taken his meds faithfully, and gotten his therapist's blessing to reunite with Jamal. Everything would be perfect if it weren't for The Thoughts--the ones that won't let all his Catholic guilt and internalizations stay buried where he wants them.
The Scammer by Tiffany D. Jackson
Call Number: YA F Jac

A stunning, ripped-from-the-headlines thriller, following a freshman girl whose college life is turned upside down when her roommate's ex-convict brother moves into their dorm and starts controlling their every move.
The Story of My Anger by Jasminne Mendez
Call Number: YA F Men

Yulieta Lopez is angry. Angry at her racist drama teacher who refuses to cast Black students in lead roles. Angry at the school board threatening her favorite teacher for teaching works of literature that they deem "controversial." Angry that she has to keep quiet until she can head to college and leave Texas forever. Determined to find a way to fight back, Yuli and her friends start a guerilla theatre club which stirs things up and gets people talking, and finally, Yuli steps into the role she was always meant to play.

Graphic Novels

Silenced Voices: Reclaiming Memories from the Guatemalan Genocide by Pablo Leon (Illustrator)
Call Number: GraNov Leon Sile 2025

Pablo Leon combines historical research of the Guatemalan Civil War with his own experiences as a Guatemalan immigrant to depict a powerful story of family, sacrifice, survival, and hope.
Flip by Ngozi Ukazu
Call Number: GraNov Ukaz Flip 2025

Chi-Chi Ekeh has one huge problem: She keeps having crushes on rich white boys who have no idea she exists. Enter Flip Henderson, the most popular boy at school, who receives Chi-Chi's private video proposal to go to senior prom. But when Flip rejects Chi-Chi in front of their entire class, what happens next is completely unexpected: Chi-Chi--shy nerd and scholarship student--switches bodies with Flip.

Flipster Magazine Database

"Flip" through new magazines online!

Flipster
View digitized versions and flip through the pages of select magazines. The current list includes: Atlantic Monthly, TIME Magazine, Newsweek Global, How It Works, Information Today, Wired, National Geographic, Entrepreneur, Consumer Reports, and Computers in Libraries.
iOS App
To download the free Flipster app, search the iTunes app store for Flipster - Digital Magazines. The Flipster App requires iOS 10.0+.
- iOS Device Guide [PDF]
Android App
To download the free Flipster app, search the Google Play store for Flipster - Digital Magazines.
- Android Device Guide [PDF]
Learn more at the Library's About Flipster page.

ComicsPlus Database

New Comics and Manga

Just a few of the new additions to ComicsPlus include: The World of Black Hammer Omnibus v. 5; Captain Planet #6; Bungo Stray Dogs: Dazai, Chuuya, Age Fifteen, v. 4; Elden Ring: Distant Tales Between, Chapter 9.3; Flash Gordon Vol. 2 Killer of Worlds; Stranger Things Omnibus v. 2; Mob Psycho 100 v. 15 and more.

Comics Plus
Access digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from more than one hundred publishers. Includes full access to material for all age groups: PreK - Adult (Age-Appropriate Guidelines). You must have a myPittCC email account in order to access this resource. Learn more on the Comics Plus About page.

Dogwood Digital Library Database

New E-books and Audiobooks

New ebook and audiobook titles are constantly being added to Dogwood Digital. Don't forget, this database also includes comics, manga, graphic novels, and nonfiction!

Dogwood Digital Library
Borrow a mix of popular fiction and non-fiction e-books and audiobooks, comics, and graphic novels. This is a shared collection of items from many North Carolina community college libraries and may be downloaded to most computers and mobile devices. A myPittCC email account is required for access. The Leisure Reading page includes detailed instructions on how to set up Dogwood Digital and use the Libby app. to access e-books and audiobooks.

YA Nonfiction

Did you know? Dogwood Digital Library also includes many young adult nonfiction titles.

Kanopy Database

Just Added to Kanopy

Documentaries and films that you can watch online.

Kanopy
Streaming video service that includes documentaries and films on a variety of topics.