Research Guides: Nursing: Articles

PubMed

Search PubMed for Articles

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

How to Search PubMed

PubMed for Nurses
Short videos that demonstrate how to search PubMed.

Library Databases

Article Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL), is a large collection of nursing and allied health journals that provides some full text access. Additional materials include evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Includes full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
Full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications.

More Options

View a List of Medical Databases
If you have any questions about which database to use or how to search it, please contact a librarian.

Summon Search
Use Summon to search many of PCC Library's databases all at once. You can find a variety of resources such as e-books, articles, and more.

Basic Search Tips

Search Tips & Examples

Break your research question down into the main concepts and connect the terms using AND, or OR.

(adolescent OR "young adult") AND depression AND "vitamin D"
sex workers AND HIV AND interventions
adults AND ("heart attack" OR "myocardial infarction") AND aspirin

Change the words to focus your search if needed.

Check the publication date of each source you find. Try to use resources published within the past 5 years.

Contact a librarian to get help searching!

Citation vs. Full Text

Citation:

Includes just the basic information about a specific source of information
A citation for a journal article will typically include:
- title of the journal
- title of the article
- author(s)
- volume and/or issue number
- page numbers
- publication date

Full text:

The complete work (book, article, etc.) in either print or electronic format

Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Request print books and full-text articles from other libraries.

Scholarly vs. Peer Reviewed

Scholarly Articles:

Written by credentialed experts
Use complex language and terminology
May have charts, graphs or tables
Begin with an abstract that gives a summary of the article
Always cite sources
Have a bibliography at the end

Peer Reviewed or Refereed Articles:

Scholarly articles that have been reviewed by a panel of respected experts in the field and deemed to be of high quality

Journal Article Basics
by Angela Davis Last Updated Aug 23, 2024 3665 views this year

Get Articles from Other Libraries

If PCC Library does not have a full-text article that you need, we can see if another library is able to provide it through our interlibrary loan (ILL) service. Just fill out the ILL form as completely as possible. Articles are typically e-mailed directly to you.

Keep in mind...

Cost: FREE in most cases. If there is a charge we will contact you before making the request.
Allow 5-10 business days for processing and delivery.

ILL Form