Research Guides: The Paranormal: Ebooks

Find Sources

E-Books

Books Icon In general, be sure to use books written for an academic or scholarly audience instead of those written for a popular audience.

Why use books?

Depth - provide in-depth analysis of a topic
Broad Coverage - provide broad coverage over one or more topics
Comprehension - can help you understand a complex topic; books are easier to read than journal articles

Remember!

You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book.
Books contain less recent information due to the lengthy publication process.

More Ways to Find Books:

Find Books
https://libguides.pittcc.edu/books

Featured Ebooks

Believing in Magic by Stuart A. Vyse
Publication Date: 2013
Database: eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
While we live in a technologically and scientifically advanced age, superstition is as widespread as ever. In this fully updated edition of Believing in Magic, renowned superstition expert Stuart Vyse investigates our tendency towards these irrational beliefs.
Psychoanalysis and the Paranormal by Nick Totton
Publication Date: 2003
Database: Ebook Central (ProQuest)
This book demonstrates, in different ways, that paranormal phenomena are of direct relevance to psychoanalysis, and that they frequently impinge directly on its clinical practice--most obviously in the forms of telepathy and synchronicity.
Supernatural by Michael S. Heiser
Publication Date: 2015
Database: Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Dr. Michael S. Heiser, a Scholar-in-Residence at Faithlife Corporation, presents fifteen years of research on what the Bible really says about the unseen world of the supernatural-unfiltered by tradition or by theological presuppositions.
The X-Files and Philosophy by Robert Arp (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Database: eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
In The X-Files and Philosophy, thirty-six fearless philosophers seek for the truth, which is out there, in here, at least somewhere, or (as the postmodernists claim) nowhere.

Off-Campus Access

The username and password to access databases from off campus is similar to what you use to access the PCC campus portal (myPittCC) and Moodle. For the username, use the first part of your myPittCC email address only. DO NOT include @my.pittcc.edu. The password is exactly the same as what you use to log in to the campus portal. Generic logins are available to community residents with PCC library cards, and others who are enrolled in or are affiliated with PCC programs and continuing education courses.