Summon doesn't have everything! Check out the tabs below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.
Also known as scholarly, refereed, peer reviewed, or academic articles.
General topic database that includes articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
In general, be sure to use books written for an academic or scholarly audience instead of those written for a popular audience.
E-books provided by library databases can be read online and provide options for searching the entire content of the book so that you can skip directly to the sections of the book focused on your topic.
NOTE: This does not search all of PCC Library's e-book databases.
Videos from reputable publishers are great resources for learning more about a topic. The library provides several databases that include streaming videos, animations, and tutorials.
This collection provides high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Linking/Embedding Issues with MS PPT
Online streaming service that provides instant access to films and documentaries that have been assigned in various courses. Works with Chrome or Firefox.
The Internet offers a wide variety of information. Carefully choosing and using Internet resources can be very beneficial to your research.
Be aware that information on the internet is not regulated for quality or accuracy, so it is important for you to evaluate the source. Try the evaluation criteria under Evaluating Information to decide when you can use information.
APA is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States, with more than 122,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants and students as its members.
CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.
Mental Health America (MHA)'s work is driven by its commitment to promote mental health as a critical part of overall wellness, including prevention services for all; early identification and intervention for those at risk; integrated care, services, and supports for those who need them; with recovery as the goal.
NARMH is a membership organization focused on raising awareness of and responding to a variety of rural mental health and social service concerns. Through your NARMH membership, your voice is linked with others to promote rural mental health issues at the federal, state and county levels.
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental illnesses. NIMH is one of the 27 Institutes and Centers that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the largest biomedical research agency in the world. The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure.
