Faculty & Staff Library Tools

Update Your Database Links

You will need to replace the OLD proxy URL portion of the link with the NEW proxy URL.

• OLD proxy URL: https://libpro.pittcc.edu/login?url=
• NEW proxy URL: https://login.proxy138.nclive.org/login?url=

Examples

Link with OLD proxy URL prefix: 

https://libpro.pittcc.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=164314518&site=ehost-live

Updated link with NEW proxy URL prefix:

https://login.proxy138.nclive.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=164314518&site=ehost-live

Make sure that . . .

1. you have completely removed the OLD link and have replaced it with the entire NEW one.
2. if you display the long links to your students, you have updated both the visible text of the link and the actual hyperlink behind it.
3. there are no spaces between the proxy URL and the start of the article URL.

What will be different?

You will now enter your entire myPittCC e-mail address as your username when accessing library resources and you will be prompted to login no matter if you are on or off campus. We think our login page is pretty clear, but students who are used to only using the front part of their e-mail address may be confused. Please read the Online Access page (link below) for more details regarding the new server and how it will work. 

You can add links to databases in your Moodle course.

1. From the Online Databases page, right-click the database link.
2. Click Copy link address from the pop-up box.
3. The link provided is a friendly URL that is configured to access the proxy server. There is no need to add the proxy URL to these links.
4. DO NOT copy the URL that appears in the browser address bar once you click the link. It will not be the link that will work from off-campus once you get to that point. 

REMEMBER! Let your students know that a link is a "database" link that will require them to enter their myPittCC username and password if they are not already logged into the campus portal.

You can provide a link to a specific article, video, etc., that resides within a database. In order for students to be able to access these resources from off campus, you must use permalinks that include the Library's proxy URL. If you need help or want a librarian to check your links, please let us know. We will be glad to help you.

What are permalinks?

Permalinks are static or permanent web addresses (URLs) which point to a specific item such as an article or e-book.

Why can't I just copy the link in the address bar?

If you copy an article or database URL directly from the browser's address bar, it will typically no longer work once the browser is closed. Instead, look for a share icon or permalink provided on the page where the item is being displayed.

Example:

Do not copy the address bar URL. Instead, use the link provided once you click the share icon.

How do I find permalinks?

Databases may provide icons or hyperlinks that will take you to a permalink. Look for words or phrases such as bookmarks, document URL, share, etc. We've provided a few examples from some of our more popular databases below. If you can't find a permalink, please ask!

Do permalinks automatically work from off campus?

Sometimes! Many databases already include information in the URL that will prompt users to log in when trying to access database materials from off campus. If that information (called the proxy URL) is not included, you can easily add it. If you're not comfortable with that, we can help!

What is the library's proxy URL? 

https://login.proxy138.nclive.org/login?url=

All you have to do is copy the proxy URL and paste it at the beginning of the permalink. There should not be a space between the proxy URL and the permalink. Again, some databases will already include the proxy URL at the beginning of the permalink, but if not, just copy and paste it to the beginning and you should be good to go.

Example of a link that includes the proxy URL at the beginning:

https://login.proxy138.nclive.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=451870&site=ehost-live

Example of a link with the proxy info included later in the link:

https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.proxy138.nclive.org/lib/pittcc-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1630583

ComicsPlus is a bit different in that you must have a myPittCC email address in order to create an account, and you must create an account before you can access the content.

If you want to assign readings from ComicsPlus, provide students with the link to the database and have students create their own account. If they get a message stating that they must be "inside the Library" in order to create an account, have them email the Library's reference desk at pittref@email.pittcc.edu and we will create an account for them. 

There is no limit on how many people can access a comic at any given time, so this does accommodate for entire classrooms using ComicsPlus to access the same story, issue, etc.

Proxy info is already included in Credo Reference links even though you will not see the proxy prefix in the links. 

How does this work?

With the "aid=" account number link style, the links will redirect unauthenticated users to the preferred remote access method, in this case the proxy.

Example: https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6NDU2MDYyNA==?q=Encryption&aid=14630

1. Click the Share icon and choose Copy Link, or click Copy Link in the top-right corner.
2. Use the link as is. Do not add the proxy URL.

1. From the results list, click the title of the book.
2. Click Share Link to Book.
3. A new window will open with the permalink.
4. Permalink provided by database:
   • https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.proxy138.nclive.org/lib/pittcc-ebooks/detail.action?docID=6226958
5. This database creates links that include the proxy info within the link - not at the beginning of the link like others do.
6. You do not need to add the proxy prefix in this case. 

EBSCOhost provides many of our databases such as Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, and more.

1. From the results list, click the title of the article.
2. Click Permalink.
3. Copy the permalink that appears at the top.
4. Make sure you copy the entire link.
5. The proxy URL should already be included at the beginning of the URL.
6. Example: https://login.proxy138.nclive.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=173885835&site=ehost-live

1. Click Share, then choose Embed/Link.
2. If you just want to paste a link into your course so that students are taken to the database to watch the video, copy the Record URL.
3. If you want to embed the video into your course page, copy the Embed Code.
4. The proxy URL is already included at the beginning of the URL.
5. Example: https://login.proxy138.nclive.org/login?url=https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=14630&xtid=239836

Moodle LTI Plugin for JoVE

You can import JoVE content directly into your course by using the Moodle plugin. This is an easy way for your students to be able to click and play videos without having to log in again in order to view via the JoVE library database.

1. In your course, click Create Learning Activity.
2. Under Activities, choose External tool.
3. Under Preconfigured tool, use the drop-down menu to choose Jove LTI Tool.
4. Click Select Content. 
   • NOTE: When selecting from Videos, you will see either a green or grey dot at the end of the title. A green dot indicates that the video is part of PCC's JoVE subscription; a grey dot indicates it is not.
5. You can choose between Videos, Quiz, or Playlist.
6. Use the search box or click to view items by category. To select a video from the list, click the plus (+) sign.
7. Click Submit.
8. You can use the supplied activity name or create your own.
9. Click Save and Display. 
10. Your video should now be embedded.

Links for Moodle

• Link to the JoVE database: https://libguides.pittcc.edu/jove
• Link to an individual film:
  Open the page to the video you wish to share. Copy the link in the browser address bar. The links in this database are static and will work after the browser session has ended. Embed code is also available. 
• If you have questions about adding JoVE content to your Moodle courses, please contact the Library. 

Services for Instructors

• JoVE offers many services for instructors including curriculum mapping (send them your syllabus and they will map videos to your course sections), test questions, and more.
• To create test questions, you will need to register with JoVE. Go to the page of the video for which you want to create a test, click Create Test, and click Register or Login. There is a screening process for new registrations in order to make sure you are an instructor.

Links for Moodle

• Link to the Kanopy database: https://pittcc.kanopy.com
• Link to an individual film: Find the film in the database, click Share, copy the Share Link. Embed code is also available. 
• If you have questions about adding Kanopy content to your Moodle courses, please contact the Library.

Can't find something?

Some films in Kanopy are only available via special order. We also have access to SWANK Digital Campus and Films on Demand. A librarian can help you figure out if the Library can provide the video you need.

DO NOT use the URL found at the top of the page in the browser address bar.

1. Open the article. Click Get Link.
2. Copy the entire link provided in the pop-up window.
   • https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/EJ3010324205/OVIC?u=pittcc&sid=bookmark-OVIC&xid=26b31490
3. Add our proxy URL to the beginning of the link: https://login.proxy138.nclive.org/login?url=
4. Make sure there is no space between the proxy URL and the database link.
5. Copy the text of the entire new link so that when you click to add the hyperlink, you have the entire text of the new URL.
6. The new link should look like . . .
   • https://login.proxy138.nclive.org/login?url=https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/EJ3010324205/OVIC?u=pittcc&sid=bookmark-OVIC&xid=26b31490

ProQuest includes the proxy URL automatically. You do not need to do anything except copy the URL they provide on the article page.

1. Open the article, then look for the Copy URL icon in the top right.
2. The permalink will be automatically copied to your computer's clipboard.

Another way . . .

1. If you want to view the URL before copying it, click All Options.
2. In the pop-up window, the permalink will appear at the very top. 
3. Highlight the link, then copy.

STAT!Ref (TDS Health) includes the proxy URL info within the link.

1. From a content page within STAT!Ref, click the permalink, or static link icon.
2. Copy the link provided in the pop-up box.
3. You do not need to do anything to the link. The proxy info is already included.
4. Example: https://online-statref-com.proxy138.nclive.org/Home/Resolve?id=22996&grpalias=NCCS

Direct Links for Moodle

• You must use the direct link provided by SWANK in order for the films to work from off campus.
• Open the SWANK Digital Campus database and click to open the film you want to assign.
• Click the "Copy Direct Link" button.
• You can then add the URL as a resource in your course. There is no need to add anything to this link for it to work from off campus.

Licensing

• These films can be linked in your online classes or shown in the classroom.
• PCC Library is paying for the licensing for each film through SWANK Digital Library.

Request Programs

Find something?

Let us know what program(s) you are interested in by sending an email to:

• Angela Davis at adavis@email.pittcc.edu
• Leigh Russell at lrussell@email.pittcc.edu